We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and very nice stay in Ankara- best adress !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Divan Cukurhan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divan Cukurhan
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and very nice stay in Ankara- best adress !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Divan Cukurhan is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. The personnel was very friendly and helpful, excellent room- and restaurant service. Perfectly equipped rooms, very comfortable and quiet. Great food ! The fitness-center is well equipped and everything was working at up to date standard.
Perfect stay !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melek792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    35
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
88
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time i have stayed at divan hotel and i must say its been a great experience.. The rooms are good size and the facilities are perfect for a business visit.. The location is also very central and you can get anywhere in Ankara by a short taxi journey. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others. Make sure you go for the breakfast too. Freshly prepared food served by very friendly staff

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Id1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We were given Room 205, a lovely corner room with views over Ankara and the museum building site next door. The noise from the construction did not greatly trouble us as it started after we awoke. The double glazing helped too.

The room was a good size with a sofa seating area, large and well appointed bathroom, coffee and tea making facilities. There isn't a fridge with mini bar but there is room service if required. The bed was comfortable with excellent linen and pillows.

Although we did see one other guest at breakfast on our second morning, it did feel like we had the hotel to ourselves most of the time. This is a shame as it is a really lovely hotel in a good location for sight seeing. We walked down to the wonderful Museum of Anatolian Civilisation and then took a taxi to the Ataturk Mausoleum. The taxi ride cost a reasonable 15 YTL.

The Ankara Citadel is opposite the hotel and like many ruins in Turkey, needs some love and attention. Some of the houses within the castle walls are being restored but the ruins themselves need some sign posts so you understand what you're looking at.

We would certainly recommend the hotel if you are visiting Ankara for sightseeing or business. The breakfast was excellent, the public areas beautifully done and the service excellent. The staff do speak some English but perhaps not as proficient as staff we have encountered at large hotels in Istanbul. We will have to practice our Turkish!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Ankara should be quieter than on the Citadel side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchellingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the speciality hotel. Love the suite that we given during our stay there. My friend enjoy her first time sleeping on a four poster bed. The bathroom is to dream for. Enjoy my stay there and manage to visit the museum adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenphoenix990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is in the restored building of the caravanserais, the public areas are huge pleasant spaces. Each room has a different theme, all are big, some are giant and the bathrooms are spectacular. The beds, bed linen and pillows are gorgeous, really excellent. There was coffee, Nespresso machine and a kettle. It was a pity to leave the room.
It was located just below the citadel and 100m from the Ankara Museum. Down the hill there are several streets of authentic craftsmen and shops selling rather old fashioned things which were interesting. The area round the hotel is in the process of being done up and I have a feeling that it will all become super touristy but for now it was a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room to the rear of the hotel over looking the view of Ankara and also away from the market s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The Divan is an amazing hotel in Ankara, seated right across from the Citadel (which is mostly disappointing). What a hotel! Granted everything is a bit pricey, but the lobby, bar and library are all amazing. The rooms are all unique as well, and it has the best bathroom I've seen in Istanbul. The only issue was the helluva steep drive we took during rush hour. That was a bit exciting.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank graffka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is one of the most lovely hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel building is very historic, approximately 400 years old but completely refurbished, respecting the history but sparing no modern convenience. The rooms are all individually, elegantly furnished; they are comfortable, tasteful and charming. The hotel is on the same hill as the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations, and our room, with two large (queen-size?) double beds, had a great view of the city, with Ataturk's brightly lit tomb in the center of the panorama. Added comfort benefit -- you can turn on the TV audio when you are in the spacious bathroom -- I quite like that for listening to the morning news. Common areas are well-appointed, comfortable, and charming. The cozy side library is an added plus for relaxing. Food -- The breakfasts were great, and tailored to your personal needs. The evening restaurant/museum is delightful. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. The Divan Cukurhan is a very special place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUD-Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
2.5 mi away
Ankara Hilton SA
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 174 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Ankara
2.4 mi away
Divan Ankara
Divan Ankara
#19 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cukurhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cukurhan

Property: Divan Cukurhan
Address: Tarihi Ankara Kalesi Necati Bey, Ankara, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Cukurhan 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Divan Çukurhan is an exclusive historic setting that features 19 individually designed rooms whose wide-ranging aesthetic perfectly complements the lovingly restored caravanserai that houses the hotel. The Çukurhan is located opposite to the main entrance of the Ankara Citadel, close to the site which was formerly known as the Horse Market, and on the west side of the present Çengelhan Rahmi M. Koç Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Cukurhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing