We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good modern hotel but in the wrong place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Ankara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Ankara
Ranked #5 of 173 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A good modern hotel but in the wrong place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Look, this is a typical JW. Classy, bright, clean, big rooms, lots of public areas, good restaurants etc, but generally lacking any character. Rooms are huge and very well appointed, but this is in a new area of Ankara and it is a cab ride to anywhere. There is no neighbourhood as such to go walking in. It might be fine for business, but as a tourist you really want a neighbourhood and this hotel just does not have one.

The staff are excellent and well trained.

On the downside:
1. we were heading out with some very threatening skies so I asked for an umbrella. They searched around and appeared not have any for general guest use. Instead they offered me a new JW umbrella for which I would have to pay a deposit of $75!!!! In a country where you can get a reasonable brolly for around $5, I just had to decline the offer.
2. the windows of our room were filthy. Ankara is a dusty place and the dust can come down with the rain, but these windows looked like they had never been cleaned on the outside.
3. Breakfast was very expensive, particularly when there is no option outside the hotel. Nearly all hotels in Turkey include breakfast in the room price. Here I had to pay $25 for bowl of cereal and a coffee
4. I asked for them to call up a taxi to take us to the airport. They suggested a transfer in a hotel car for 100TL to which I agreed. When the car turned up and we were loaded and ready to go they explained that this was a VIP car and we would have to pay 200TL. We called a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTHELMS, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear BeachSwaggie,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to place a comment after your recent stay at the JW Marriott Ankara Hotel .

In regards to your umbrella comment, I do sincerely apologize if our procedure was not communicated to you correctly. When our guests request for an umbrella, we are more than happy to lend our guests our hotel umbrellas complimentary, there is no actual charge to your account, we only place a deposit.

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the window cleaning, our exterior windows are cleaned at least twice a year as you can appreciate Ankara is a very dusty place and we put the best foot forward to keep it clean.

We absolutely understand your frustration about the cost of breakfast, while you only wanted to have bowl of cereal and coffee, the cost could seem excessive but I would like to kindly inform you we have an A la Cart Menu where guests can select what they choose to eat. We are very sorry this was not communicated to you well.

Last but not least, as you mentioned we do have two types of service, standard and luxury transfers. You can be assured we will investigate this further to find out what might have caused this issue.

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Ankara.

Sincerely ,

ALBERT HELMS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    52
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
39
13
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent Marriott. English spoken by all the staff that interact with guests. Martin, Food and Beverage manager, is fantastic. Friendly to chat with and eager to learn how he can improve things. If going to the restaurant for breakfast or lunch, get a table by Ali. He's an excellent waiter.
Friendly accommodating valet service. Front door security needs to assist people carrying lots of items, before the detector rather than after. Spa at the Swissotel is much better. Poor spa experience at the JW. You are paraded in front of just about every other room in the gym/pool area to get the massage room; no privacy. Also, the person attending in the locker room, providing robes and instructions on how to use the locker combos, showed up late; so we had to figure these things out on our own. Hotel location is OK and getting better. They just opened a subway entrance near the hotel. The Armada mall is a 10 min walk away. Tepe Prime restaurant mall is a 5 min taxi ride away. The new US embassy will be built a 5 min walk away and that will spur more local business growth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C130driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTHELMS, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear C130driver ,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel . I am pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and thank you for the nice comments you made about our associates and please note that your ratings and comments are shared with our associates for improvement and to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

I appreciate your feedback about the inconvenience that you had experienced in our spa. Please accept my sincere apologies I will personally share your experience with the Director of Spa . Your comments are very valuable to us and will be considered on the highest level by related departments’ leaders.

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Ankara.

Sincerely ,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden; Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is perfect, rooms are spacious and absolutely clean. The breakfast is tremendous and offers all international standard food and additionally turkish food. The gym is equipped with all necessary amenities. The bar in 22nd floor is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERT H, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear KatiHarti ,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a wonderful review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. Your comments are gratefully appreciated as they assist us in striving for excellence.

We are very much honored and touched with your nice comments about our room , gym , bar and food and look forward to welcoming you back to the J.W. Marriott in the not too distant future and assure you of the best attention at all times.

Sincerely ,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is new and has everything you might expect from a 5-star hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The spa includes a nice hamam, jacucci, sauna, relax area, an indoor pool, and a gym. I received the best classic massage I've ever had, and for a very nice price. The hotel is located in an area with a lot of construction work, and there was nothing to see or do in the neighbourhood. Luckily the cab fare is cheap... I was in Ankara on business and didn't see much of the city except a visit to the Kemal Ataturk museum, absolutely worth a visit. The Turkish modern history is dramatic and interesting. I also went to a mosque during prayer. The bazaar area I was recommended was unfortunately closed when I arrived there after 6 PM.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERT H, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Swedoc ,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this great review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor .

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to use our Karma Spa and thank you very much for your great comments .

If business brings you back to Ankara; we would love to be of a service again and hopefully you will have longer stay that will allow you to enjoy our facilities and Ankara more .

Sincerely,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
352 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

It is not in downtown Ankara and there's not much around in walking distance, but otherwise, it's a great hotel. Staff is efficient, polite and friendly. The rooms are large with big comfortable bed. The bathrooms are spacious. The property is very clean. This is my third stay here and is probably the only property in Ankara I would return to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERT H, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear TheMulv ,

I am very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations .

The J.W. Marriott is located in a new fast developing part of the city. The large amount of construction going on in the area is clear evidence of the confidence that this part of the city is the new hub! Within a five minute walk from the hotel you have two large modern shopping malls as well as numerous local restaurants.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the J.W. Marriott in the not too distant future and assure you of the best attention at all times.


Sincerely ,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

High standard, great beds, large rooms. Gym and indoor & outdoor swimming pool. I always stay at Marriot when I am in Ankara at work. The hotel staff and restaurant staff are all willing to help. 15 min taxi drive to centre of Ankara. Large Shopping mall in 4 min walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERT H, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Stokseth ,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Comments and ratings such as yours are very important for us, and are shared with all of our team members for improvement .

We are looking forward to your next visit and many thanks again.

Sincerely ,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.João do Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for business . Excellent service , amazing food and great meeting rooms. Don't loose the sky bar with a magnificent view over Ankara and the Velocity Bar to dance.Congratulations to Albert the GM and all the team. For sure I will recommend this JW Marriott .

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERT H, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Ankara, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Maria E ,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for the great comments. I also thank you for the excellent rating you gave us.

I am glad to read that you have liked the hotel facilities and we have lived up to your expectations.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you again to the JW Marriott Ankara soon.

Sincerely ,

Albert Helms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 173 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 173 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Çankaya
Swissotel Ankara
Swissotel Ankara
#2 of 173 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Ankara
#6 of 173 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Çankaya
Holiday Inn Ankara - Cukurambar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Ankara

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Ankara
Address: Kizilirmak Mah. Muhsin Yazicioglu Cad. No: 1 Sogutozu, Ankara 06520, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 173 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing