We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Divan Ankara(Ankara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
34
7
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent staybusiness tripturkeymelissheratondiscreetelevatorconciergefitnessairportjacuzzitaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A very special hotel well located. Its annex to Sheraton and has access from there in addition to its own. Very nice hall and cosy. Rooms are nice and well furbished. Personnel well trained and smiling. You really feel at home. Its a real luxury hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Er K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Er K,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about Lugal.
We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed our Luxury Hotel brand.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Ankara.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

They are connected to Sheraton. You can access Sheraton lobby directly from the elevator. from thier you can go to the mall after going down the stairs. Hotel is nice with well trained and professional staff. In the breakfast I didnt find much selection and I was the only person in the resturant during my 3 day stay. May be it was off season.

Room Tip: I didnt notice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Nasir I,

Thank you very much for choosing Lugal for your stay and also taking your time to express your experiences with us.

We appreciated to see that you enjoyed the hotel, services and the surroundings. As you guessed, your stay was right before a Turkish National Holiday and within the off season of Ankara.

I am sure during your next visit there will be more guests with you at the restaurant. Our Aruni restaurant & Bar located at Lugat, reopened freshly with a brand new concept of Anatolian experiences. We are expecting to welcome you again to taste the food in a not so far away future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

First a little background. We arrived at the hotel during the time of the recent demonstrations and learned that our reservations had apparently been cancelled. Our travel agency in New York was closed because of the time difference. The hotel staff calmly and repeatedly reassured us that everything would be taken care of and, in an act of generosity, gave us a room upgrade. They urged us to forget about it and to enjoy our day. After returning to the hotel later that evening, they informed us they had spoken with New York and restored all the reservations for our entire trip which had been cancelled by accident. This could have been a nightmare but the hotel staff completely defused it and turned it instead into an amusing anecdote. Now to the hotel.

It is elegant with very stylish public areas, and very spacious guest rooms. Our suite had two bathrooms, each of was was large and nicely appointed. Given the number of guests on our floor it was surprisingly quiet. We only ate breakfasts at the hotel and the service was very good and the food was quite good, though the fresh fruit could have been slightly riper.

The staff made excellent recommendations for our daily activities and for some outstanding restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Whenever we encountered a staff member, they were solicitous, friendly and professional. I put them on a par with Ritz-Carlton and The Four Seasons.

The hotel itself is not terribly close to the airport but is in a very nice area and right next door to an upscale shopping mall, should you need anything.

We had a few problems with the wi-fi in the rooms because the hotel was transitioning to a new system. Presumably it will be fixed by now.

One tip: when returning to the hotel by taxi, ask the driver to take you to the Sheraton which is better known and adjoins the Lugal.

Bottom line: couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ_Mike_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoergUweLimper, Complex General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear NJ_Mike_2009,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experiences with us.
We were delighted to hear that the team looked after you well and you also enjoyed our facilities.

Our new internet system transition period is now completed and the next time when you stay with us you will have no problems with it.

Hope to see you soon at Lugal again...

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

The Lugal is part of the Ankara Sheraton. There is a seperated entrance, but still you can easily use Sheratons entry and even the check-in desk. The rooms are good, but getting a bit old now. Bathroom and Shower are better than average. The amenities for SPG Ambassadors are great, even my favorite drink was prepared and waiting for me in my room.
But - and that's a tragedy - the breakfast killed everything. They offer a la carte breakfast, but neither the selection nor the service is ok for a "luxury collection" hotel.
I really felt not welcomed at all, it was as if it was a burden for them to serve me and my colleagues the breakfast. No individual attendendance, not any awareness of customer expectations. The breakfast was a disaster and I would always go to Sheratons breakfast if I would have to stay at the Lugal again. In my opinion it's better not to pay extra for the Lugal - it is simply not worth it as long as you don't use the room for more than sleeping.
It wa obvious that they executed the given procedures but did not live them by heart.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runsroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear runsaroundtheworld,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, so that we can improve ourselves.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our facility but we are sorry for letting you down during the breakfast. Upon your comment, we will look closer to the service and the breakfast selection.

Hope to see you soon at Lugal and give you the service you expected. Please do not hesite to contact me for all your questions and comments.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Really they deliver excellent service with a personal touch. Breakfast is excellent. The rooms are quiet and with nice view. Their only problem is that the card key has to be re-programmed almost daily! Good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Lugal A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Damian O,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your pleasant experiences with us.

Unfortunately we might experience this trouble with the key cards as sometimes when they are placed together with other magnetic cards or close to laptops, they may lose their functions.

I am glad that you enjoyed the premises and had good experiences with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Ankara.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews