We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business-oriented hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Altinel Ankara
Ranked #60 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at this very nice hotel towards the end of our 3 week vacation in Turkey. Having been traveling to more rustic locations, the room seemed very spacious to us, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom/shower excellent. Others have commented on the location but for us it was fine as we could walk to the places we wanted to visit including the Ataturk Mausoleum and the Anatolian Civilizations Museum. The front desk staff were not particularly helpful and discouraged us from walking to the museum saying we would get lost but fortunately one of the porters gave us good advice and showed us on the map a very good way to get there. Our room rate did not include breakfast and the breakfast buffet was quite expensive so we chose to eat at one of the nearby restaurants and had wonderful breakfasts for a fraction of the cost. There were lots of good and inexpensive restaurants quite close to the hotel and we ate very well during our 2 days there. All in all, a pleasant and comfortable stay at the Barcelo Ankara Altinel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was there for 2 nights. I'm 62 and my son 36. For us the most important issue was the location. This hotel is a little bite far from the center. You must use taxi every time. The second issue was the AC. Ac was not working, so at this time of the year it's very difficult to get rest after a long day. The staff are not very helpful, specially in the spa area. No towels no AC in the fitness, no water too. It's nice to put a lot of services on the ads but we must provide it.

I will not return at this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo six nights in June. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We had a flat TV but BBC World was the only English channel, and there was no film channel, despite the promise in the hotel's brochure. There was a safety box in the room and an a kettle for making tea and coffee. WiFi worked well throughout our stay. The AC worked perfectly.
We had a shower in the bathroom but no bathtub. The bathroom was nice but a bit worn-out. You get basic toiletries every day, especially if used up, but I got the razor only twice during the stay, and some other things were scarce.
Cleaning is good but you must understand what to do to get fresh towels and sheets. There was some filthy, brown dirt in the corner of the shower cabinet, close to the floor.
There is a business center in the hotel where you can use PCs, with Windows in Turkish, and a printer. I had to connect the printer to my notebook to get it work, when I needed it, because it wouldn't start from the hotel's PC.
The hotel has a pool but it was closed for maintenance.
We had no meals at the hotel but there is a plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance.
The location is not exactly in the center, but we considered it good. If you have time and like walking, you can reach all the attractions on foot. The underground is only a few steps away. There is a plenty of bus lines just in front of the hotel but using buses in Ankara is tricky for a stranger.

Room Tip: Try restaurant Hanedan Kebab at Dögol Cd, a couple of hundred meters from the hotel, for a turkish m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist_from_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Rooms a little cramped but two large beds with a generous selection of pillows. Turkish bath is free, but we did not expect that the roommitself was like a Turkish bath, so impossibly hot that we felt as if we were running a temperature. Complained twice but we were told that the hotel was full so airconditioning could not cope. Even if that were true, it is hardly an excuse in a luxury hotel. The number in the dining room, which was also impossibly hot, did not suggest full occupancy. There are nice tables in the garden which were at least cooler. Unfortunately the airconditioning spoiled the whole visit.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank oracleDehradun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a nice hotel but it does have some issues. While the rooms are modern and tastefully decorated, they are on a centrally controlled HVAC. This means if you have a particularly warm day in April (as we did) there is no AC relief. A solution would be to open your windows, but be warned that your neighbors probably had the same idea and you can hear everything they are doing and saying. The other issue with this hotel is that is in a part of the city where there are no great places to dine. The university is nearby and there are some (smoky!) cafes and quick food restaurants. There is a nice market across this street. Overall, it isn't bad for one night but I would look for something more centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blumagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. From start to finish our one night stay was, in a word, “Creepy.”

When we arrived at 3pm the lobby was empty (not a good sign), and the whole hotel had the look and feel of a spooky, abandoned hotel (we traveled at the start of summer, every other hotel we stayed at was nearly full). From there it got weirder. The “spa” was in the back room of a basement-level parking garage and was generally unclean and not a place you would want to spend time, let alone relax in. The Gym was in the same parking garage complex, all the lights were turned off, the machines were broken and it smelled faintly of death.

The pool was closed and along with it, the roof-deck level where you (apparently) get good views over Ankara. Our room stunk of smoke despite claims it was non-smoking and that (in a seemingly empty hotel) we couldn’t be moved to another clean room. To that point, We didn’t see a single maid or housekeeper (at one point the bartender, and only employee we ever saw picked up a vacuum cleaner and slowly vacuumed a random hallway nowhere near the bar.. creepy again)… speaking of the bartender, the bar (looks nice aesthetically, and is) had an extensive and overpriced cocktail list, but when we ordered one from the bar I’m convinced the bartender went out the back to google how to make it, and then got everyone’s order very wrong… and served them all in very small glasses for the price.

The restaurant (buffet style) had only one dish at dinner that was appetizing at all (a vegetable stew) everything else was over-salted and basically inedible. And breakfast the next morning was absolutely no better.

The location is 25 minutes from anywhere you’d want to be in Ankara and there really is not a single redeeming feature of this hotel whatsoever. (nb. I hate people who give bad reviews for no reason… I am not one of those people, see my other reviews for comparison… this is just a horrible hotel in every way possible).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbsolutelyNoBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel before and again yesterday. Its friendly staff give the hotel a very nice atmosphere, the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and improved from my previous stay. It is a great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enriqueycarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.3 mi away
Maltepe 2000
Maltepe 2000
#15 of 177 in Ankara
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ickale Hotel
Ickale Hotel
#115 of 177 in Ankara
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ankara Hotel
The Ankara Hotel
#45 of 177 in Ankara
27 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Ankara
Ramada Ankara
#33 of 177 in Ankara
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altinel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altinel Ankara

Address: Gazi Mustafa Kemal Bulvari 151, Tandogan, Ankara 06570, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Ankara Altinel)
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Ankara
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Altinel Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Altinel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ankara Altinel Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing