We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I Could Rate it 3.5” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gurkent Hotel
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Ankara
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Rate it 3.5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

How I rate hotels. Star ratings for hotels are based upon facilities and services. It is easy to find the star rating for any hotel. I rate hotel based upon the experience. For example, a 2 star hotel may provide a 4 circle experience.

I found the experience at this hotel to be more than a 3 but less than a four. It is located in downtown Ankara in a very busy section. This can be good or bad depending upon your needs. For me, it was good as I needed to buy luggage to replace the one I had which was deteriorating. Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour.

Room size was O.K. AC worked well. No view, sporadic WiFi. Average buffet breakfast.

If you walk out of the hotel and take a right you will encounter many tourist restaurants with prices to reflect.
However, if you walk to the left and around the pink building, cross the street and then take a left on the street under the pedestrian walkway, you will be in a shopping area which is frequented by the locals and prices are much cheaper and food is more authentic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
5
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oman
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a 1 day stay in this hotel as a part of our Group tour of Turkey. We were lodged in a smallish room which had a terrible view of the backyard of some other building and therefore had to keep the curtains closed all the time.

The hotel is located in a busy street close to supermarkets and ATMs. Travel to other parts of the city was easy either by metro/bus or taxi. The hotel staff were co-operative in giving directions.

The breakfast/dinner were about average but did not have much vegetarian options. Wifi in the hotel was free but was erratic. The hotel had thankfully provided complimentary coffee/tea in the room which was not present in most of the 4 star hotels in Turkey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was OK, - more western than Turkish. I was unlucky ... as part of the group I got the short straw - wifi not working and few facilities in my room. However the hotel was clean and well cared for. Staff were good in general. Breakfast was reasonable. We had a good discount for the group.

Room Tip: for wifi avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Most probably used to be a nice hotel, but very much outdated right now. Size of the room okay, but desk too close to bed, so almost impossible to sit at it. Bathroom old and very small. Internet connection was very slow and unstable, impossible to use Skype. Breakfast buffet too limited for a four star hotel. On a positive note, the location is nice right in the busy centre of Ankara with all shops, restaurants and bars on walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wereldreiziger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is definitely one of the best hotel I have stayed in so far. It is situated off the main road and does not look as glamorous as other hotels from the outside. But once you walked to the main street (~2minutes), there are lots of shops and malls around. The lobby isn't grand and impressive (is still nice enough though), but we had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at our rooms.
The room is spacious, new and comfortable. There is a reading corner/ coffee area in the room which is appreciated, and the armchair is comfortable. The bathroom even has a rain shower! Luckily, it dripped on me when I stepped or I might not have realized it. Wifi is available in all rooms, but they had technical problem with it when we arrived. However, it was fixed in 20 minutes or so, and the staff was nice enough to inform me that. We had dinner in the hotel and the restaurant was well-presented. I enjoyed the food served (although it's a set meal ordered for tour). The only thing is Turkish dessert is too sweet but that's not the hotel's fault. Breakfast the next morning was very good too, they served a wide variety of choices.
It is a pity we were only in Ankara for 1 night. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I visit Ankara again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Heating system was not working, had to use aircondition heater which was not functional on the first day, room was out of date, looked old and requires major upgrading, good breakfast and location. Rooms looking street are very loud, unable to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ankara hotels

New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

I visited Ankara at a busy time when most of the usual hotels were full up, so had to settle for the Kent. The location is quite good, right in the center of the town and walking distance from most of the shopping and markets, however this is also a disadvantage because it is right on a busy road. If you are a light sleeper and you get a room on the street side of the hotel, it could mean trouble. The rooms are otherwise quite clean. The bathroom is tiny and as the title says, the shower has a mind of its own when it comes to maintaining water temperature. My room was very big- you can imagine that the remote did not work from the bed, i had to get up and approach the TV for it to function. Curiously the telephone was located at the maximum possible distance from the bed. Breakfast was well above average. Free internet!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Kayra Hotel
#56 of 172 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Altındağ
Grand Sera Hotel
Grand Sera Hotel
#78 of 172 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Doga Residence
#93 of 172 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asrin Business Hotel
#101 of 172 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Capital Hotel Ankara
#81 of 172 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Hotel Mithat
#99 of 172 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurkent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurkent Hotel

Property: Gurkent Hotel
Address: Mithat Pasa Cad. No:4 Sihhiye, Ankara 06410, Turkey (Formerly Kent Hotel Ankara)
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Çankaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurkent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gurkent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing