We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of a makeover”
Review of Hotel Akyuz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akyuz
Ranked #119 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a 15 day Turkish guided tour. Easily the worst of the 11 hotels we used and not one I would return to in a hurry. The in room fridge was broken and the inside rusty. Bedding and decor is 70s style and probably original.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Akyuz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent there 3 nights and it was really good. Good location and helpful staff. Breakfast is also good. We had a double room and it was small but the bathroom was so good. If you need to stay in Ankara just stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mceyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

As I approached the Hotel Akyuz on foot, I questionned my sanity in making the booking because: the hotel is about 3 long blocks from the
train station and the last block barely has a sidewalk due either to ongoing repairs or exhaustion of road repair funds. So it is somewhat
treacherous to get to the hotel on foot. In Ankara, pedestrians take their lives in their own hands anyway. The hotel is on a street with wallpaper stores,
fixture stores, electrical supply stores, etc. There is ample, nearby street food (a must for me). A Post Office (cash only) is located next door to the hotel.
I mailed some of my gazillion souveniers back to myself to lighten my travel bag but, sad to say, my package has not yet arrived.
The Ankara Sports Arena is a couple of blocks away, as is a large park.

I arrived very early in the day. Approaching the registration desk with passport in hand, I stated in my native language that I had a reservation
and then stated my name. The clerk looked at me as though I was the last person in the world he expected to see. The confusion evaporated as soon
as he checked the records, but neither of us gained a single word of the other's language, I being ignorant of Turkish and he being fluent only in his own tongue.

Here, PAI (point-at-it), the universal travel language, came in handy. Once we were in sync, the hotel clerk allowed me to immediately check in and go to the room.
Very welcome treatment, I must say, in spite of the 'charade-like' aspect of the check-in process.

The room: good sized, no-frills accommodations (lacking in-room tea/coffee maker) but containing a small fridge, big old tv, and free internet.
Nothing fancy about the bed, bedding, etc., and there was a prominent cigarette burn on the carpet (but no cigarette smell in the room).

The breakfast buffet - typical Turkish breakfast (cheeses, bread, olives, tomatoes, etc., plus a delicious soup). While one may expect these items, it should be noted
that Turkish tomatoe is unbelievably delicious, as is the bread. What may sound like a boring meal is actually fresh and full of flavor and variety.

The Akyuz Hotel guests' services include many admirable features: a reminder call that the breakfast buffet is ending soon,
maid service after you leave your room (no matter what time), and friendly and non-intrusive staff. The hotel itself has a somewhat faded beauty quality,
which might put some travelers off. In the end, I really enjoyed my stay.

For the price, the amenities and the location, I would recommend it.
Of course, this recommendation would apply to the traveler who wants to experience being in Turkey (as opposed to the traveler who wants to find the USA in Turkey).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank probate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Onur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.2 mi away
Asal Hotel Ankara
Asal Hotel Ankara
#48 of 177 in Ankara
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capital Hotel Ankara
Capital Hotel Ankara
#84 of 177 in Ankara
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mithat
Hotel Mithat
#85 of 177 in Ankara
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rest Hotel
Rest Hotel
#81 of 177 in Ankara
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Verda Hotel
#90 of 177 in Ankara
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eyna Hotel
Eyna Hotel
#67 of 177 in Ankara
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akyuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akyuz

Address: Ruzgarli Sok. No:22 Ulus/Ismetpasa, Altindag, Ankara 06000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range: £25 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akyuz 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Akyuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing