We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second home”
Review of Swissotel Ankara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Ankara
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have now stayed here over a dozen times and it is like having a second home. It starts by being met outside by "Lady" the hotel cat and then continues. It really makes a difference in a business hotel when you are greeted by name. The housekeeping team are fantastic, attention to detail and the fact they fold clothes I have left on the back of the arm chair and put them into a neat pile. The bar team are excellent, again, greeted by name and have my Efes poured by the time I get from the doorway to the bar!!.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hotel -- This is a Tripadvisor report for the hotel and not the spa. Large room and fantastic bathroom - great sheets and pillows. Restaurant has fantastic international cuisine throughout week (Italian night, Mexican food night, etc), and a great breakfast buffet. Hotel caters to international clientele but staff didn’t speak English well, and room service didn’t speak English at all. This is not a good business hotel (no computer rooms, printer/fax room, slow internet, Wi-Fi cost not included in room price). Great snacks/food upstairs every weeknight. Worst part of this hotel -- getting the room cooled was a continuous problem during 3 week stay. Each time I asked for them to fix it, the engineer team came by the room and told me through a translator, it was working fine. Wild dogs outside kept barking, which keeps you awake if you open the window to cool the room. I recommend requesting a room with an individually controlled air conditioner (if they have them). Pool and gym are fantastic. Wi-Fi in rooms is slow and not included in room price. No ATM in local area. Non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Not a high-rise hotel, so no view from any room. Not near city center but taxis are very inexpensive, so getting around wasn’t a problem. Over-priced min-bar.

Room Tip: Higher floor means less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C130driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Swissotel Ankara,the staff was very good,the receptionist called us with our names next day, we were impressed.The breakfast was very satisfying, with lots of variety of food with high quality. We

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Tolga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

good quality hotel but in a location which is a bit out of the city center. yet easy to get by. should improve on the wireless but up to good standards in rest of expectations. has good breakfast variety.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Selim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

SPA is reserved for women only for certain times and days. Reception desk or reservation staff fail to provide information on this matter. Ask specifically if you don't want any disappointments. I do not recommend this hotel to couples or newly married.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Selim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Swissotel in Ankara is located on a quiet street just a couple of blocks from a busy shopping area (the area is called Oran, or Or-An). Like other hotels in this chain it is not as large as some competing upper-end hotels but has many of the same amenities, though perhaps fewer, i.e. one restaurant instead of several. The breakfast is first class - excellent cold and hot choices, freshly made yoghurt, a nice variety of fruit, and an amazing array of Turkish olives which will take several days to sample. My only complaint was the coffee which had little flavor but was bitter enough to need the hot milk - definitely not what one expects from a Swiss hotel.

The front desk is friendly and efficient, and in fact all of the staff were notably friendly and quick to respond to any request. Any time I sat down in the restaurant or in the outdoor patio area, I was immediately brought an English-language newspaper, and overall the staff were extremely attentive and helpful.

My main issue was the Internet access, which was off-and-on during my entire stay. The technical staff did everything possible, including coming to my room at 1:00am to help diagnose the problems and then changing my room (imagine that happening in the US?) but the bottom line seemed to be a weak wifi network that can't keep up; my laptop and phone often found ten or more external networks that were much stronger than the hotel's, even inside my room. Switching to an Ethernet cable helped to some extent, though the connection still dropped without warning. For work reasons i needed ready Internet access, and this might give me second thoughts about returning for work, though not necessarily for a non-working visit.

The instant coffee in the room is predictably Nescafe (boring) but free. A Nespresso machine sitting on top of the minibar is very inviting, but check the fine print on the minibar price list: each Nespresso capsule will set you back 5 Turkish Lira (about US$2.80). After the breakfast coffee, you may decide the Nespresso is worth the price. Bring your own capsules if you can!

The beds are on the firm side but comfortable, and the room was quiet and well furnished. The bathroom had a full bath as well as a walk-in shower and plenty of towels. The TV carries a large variety of channels, including several German channels, and Turkish CNN (though not CNN Int'l).

There is no ATM in the hotel, and changing US Dollars or Euros at the front desk entails a lop-sided exchange rate; also I was offered no receipt to document the conversion that was used.
A couple of blocks away there is a supermarket (Makro Market) where you can buy the necessities, including excellent crusty baguettes fresh from the oven. (I was told there is an ATM in the shopping area nearby but didn't try to find it.) There are also numerous cafes and restaurants nearby, though not on the same street as the hotel (at first glance you may think you have been dropped in a residential neighborhood by mistake).

Overall I enjoyed the stay in spite of the Internet troubles, mostly because of the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Wonderful hotel..stayed there for one night on a tour through Turkey...the rooms were beautiful, the food in the restaurant was great, it was within walking distance of several restaurants and the area was very nice. I was not familiar with this chain before, but would definitely recommend it and try another Swissotel in other cities. Everything about it was top notch in my opinion. Wish that we could have stayed longer. Try it, I don't think you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 178 in Ankara
733 reviews
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 178 in Ankara
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Holiday Inn Ankara - Cukurambar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Ankara

Address: Yildizevler Mahallesi | Jose Marti Caddesi No: 2, Ankara 06550, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ankara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ankara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Swissotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Ankara Hotel Ankara
Swissotel Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing