We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atalay Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$88
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Ikibin-2000(Ankara)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ankara Plaza Hotel(Ankara)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Class Hotel(Ankara)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
16
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
13
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I can recommend the Atalay Hotel if you are looking for very good service and good value for money. It is clean and centrally located. Very good choice for exploring Ankara.

Reasons to choose the Hotel Atalay:
- great and service minded staff; from the front desk crew to the bell captains, restaurant staff, gym manager and housekeeping crew. They were all very polite, professional, helpful and they contributed to make my stay an enjoyble one
- great value for money
- clean hotel
- complementary wifi and bottled water
- centrally located for exploring the old town
- possible to reach the hotel with bus 442 from and to the airport. Stops 300-500 meters away from the Atalay hotel
- good amenities


Reasons not to:
- heavily trafficked street right outside the hotel which means more or less continuously noise
- pollution from the traffic, road dust etc
- hotelareas which smelled strongly of old smoke


Service:
The staff at the Atalay hotel is great. They are very service minded and helpful. Not all of them speak English. This can create some challenges when it comes to communication, but I did not find this problematic for the service provided. The whole staff were very friendly and caring. I felt very welcomed.

Rooms:
The room was adequate, but not the most modern one. The important thing for me was that the room was clean. As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are not that big, but the bed was comfortable with nice linen. The hotel provides nice amenities. The challenge was that it was not possible to keep the window open at night because of the noise and pollution from the traffic. The room is equipped with air condition so this might be a substitute for lack of open window.

The gym was good and sufficient with nice dressing rooms and sauna. It lacked some weightlifting equipment, but has okay cardio equipment. Based on the room and general standard my evaluation is that this is a very good three star hotel, but not really a four star. Anyway, three star or four star - the Atalay hotel provides great value for money.

Breakfast:
Breakfast is served on 10 th floor with very nice view of the city. The selection is good with both hot and cold dishes.

Location:
There are so many buses going to Ulus, so there is plenty of public communication if you want to explore the city beyond range of walking. In addition the bell captain easily provides taxis. There are bus stops 50-150 meters from the hotel.

From the airport you can catch the Havas buses which takes you more or less directly to the Havas busstation close to Ulus (10 lire). It might be to fare to walk to the hotel, but a taxi is not expensive and brings you to the hotel. The other super alternative to get to Atalay hotel is to catch bus 442 which runs about every 20 minutes from and to the airport. The bus stop is about 300-500 meters from the Atalay hotel. Smooth and cheap. The price for the bus is about 5,25 lire and you can buy ticket as you board the bus. From the city the 442 bus has 4-5 stops after the stop close to the hotel and the trip takes about 30 minutes (no traffic).

Other comments:
Tourist information is located in the Ulus Park. It is open from Monday to Friday 0830-1600.

If you are sensitive for noise or/and pollution I recommend you not staying at the Atalay hotel. If not, this is very good alternative if you are visiting Ankara!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor - as much away from trafficsound and nightclub sound as possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devrim a, Owner at Atalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Reisse Kurre,Thank you very much for comments. Your comment are very important to our hotel. Atalay Hotel is 4 star hotel. Thanks to you to complete our deficiencies. Will be happy to choose our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very good hotel... I spent here amazing time.. I stayed here for 6 nights with my friends from work and all we were surprized by a friendy, helping staff, professional service and amazing athmosphere. I loved the breakfast because of deliciouse food and kindly service. Rooms are clean always and people working here respected of our privacy, what is very important for me. In my opinion the location of this hotel is very good ... close to the metro, to the centre and old part of Ankara and the most important, from the restaurant we had the best view of the city ... Greetings from Poland

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MonikaCetnarowska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devrim a, Owner at Atalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Monika, thank you for your kind words, we are looking forward to see here in Atalay Hotel again, best wishes from Turkiye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Room smelt so strongly of cigarettes and cigars it was nauseating. Could not open the window because loud music from the bar played until 2 a.m. Room was newly renovated and very clean. Beds were comfortable but there was no sleep to be. And as the night progressed, the room grew very warm. Could not open the windows now because pigeons perched right at the sill and cooed and flapped all night. Did not have much contact with staff, but they were friendly and helpful at the desk and in the dining room.
If the smell of tobacco is not offensive to you, I would say the hotel was more than adequate. Request a room away from the bar music and it should be fine. We were there only one night and one breakfast but if we had to stay longer it would have greatly interfered with the enjoyment of my trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: ASk to be away from the bar or wherever the music was eminating from. Perhaps bring room deodorizer with you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJGaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devrim a, Guest Relations Manager at Atalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear NjGaGA,Thank you very much for comments. Your comment are very important to our hotel.We will consider and assess comments.Thanks to you to complete our deficiencies and increase service quality .We will be happy to choose our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Only stayed one night.
Pros: Comfortable queen size bed, bathroom amenities, robe, slippers and nice room size. Best coffee I had in Turkey, nice breakfast buffet in dining room on the 10th floor with a beautiful view. Extremley friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Lobby is a bit small, when we arrived there was another group checking out and there was luggage everywhere, elevator was a bit slow, so we took the stairs. Neighborhood is a bit sketchy, went for stroll after dinner and the sidewalk was filled with "cards" of girls half naked.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devrim a, Director of Sales at Atalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Cmarshy, Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your comment are very important for we.Looking forward to host you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We recently stayed in the Atalay Hotel, Ankara, Turkey (2 nights in February 2013) and I would say that, overall, the hotel is in serious need of an update (hence my 3 with reservations). While the room was non-smoking, as we requested, the hallways and a number of the common areas were pretty foul smelling with old cigarette smoke.

We knew we were booking a cheaper hotel so we were not disappointed by some aspects of the hotel, including its decor and age. The room was clean but one had the feeling that it was more cosmetic than real and hence we experienced a certain level of uncomfortableness with same, ie I never walked on the carpet without some kind of footwear! The air condition never worked and we had to keep the window open for much of the time in order to keep the heat under control.

I do not want to position this review as unduly negative, however. The staff were friendly and tried their best to assist. Assistance in English was almost non-existent but enough was spoken so that we could manage (BTW: The lack of English in my opinion adds to the experience rather than detracting from same. I note it here because many people factor this in when considering where to stay). The breakfast buffet was passable although not particularly engaging. The fitness centre was abysmal except that one could do their laundry while working out since it was the same room. The wireless worked fine.

The BEST thing about this hotel is its location in the Old City of Ankara. My wife and I found it to be very close to everything we wanted to see including the Ankara Citadel, ruins of old Roman baths, historic mosques (one of which is literally around the corner) and the "neighbourhood" was very authentic. We had a great experience at one of the "cafeterias" where we were greeted like family and I was provided a traditional Turkish hello/goodbye with kisses on both cheeks by the male workers. Very real!

Bottom line: With some minor touch-ups, like getting rid of the 70's era carpets, this hotel could be a true 3 or 3.5 but, overall, it was acceptable and pretty much what we were expecting.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front face a very busy street. If street noise causes you sleep problems, then find another room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devrim a, Director of Sales at Atalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Bymeron,Thank you very much for comments. Your comment are very important to our hotel.We will consider and assess comments.Thanks to you to complete our deficiencies. will be happy to choose our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews