We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel, Ankara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esenboga Airport Hotel
Ranked #132 of 178 Hotels in Ankara
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Don't expect five stars.....
Old hotel with a very dated design.

Wifi is not working very well, only in the lobby it is ok.

If this hotel would be advertised as three stars it would be ok.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank dueber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

When we travel to Europe, we try to spend our final night at a hotel near the airport. This reduces any traffic worries on the day of our flight. While in Turkey, the only hotel we could locate close to the Esenboga airport outside of Ankara was the Esenboga Airport Hotel. All others were in Ankara, which is too far away.

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews for the hotel, however, I was worried. I should not have been. Our stay was nearly perfect. The hotel is very attractive and surprisingly upscale. Everything was spotless and spacious. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was also spacious and clean. The only problem with the room was the air conditioner didn't seem to cool the room much. As others have mentioned, the internet connection was spotty, but worked just fine in the numerous open lounging areas.

We did eat both lunch and dinner at the hotel as there are no other restaurants within walking distance. We ordered off the menu for lunch, while dinner was a buffet. There was a very large spread of food for dinner, most of which was good, but not great. The desserts, however, were fabulous.

Our flight was very early, so we had to depart the hotel at 4:30AM. When making the reservation I was told breakfast would not be available at that early hour. However, when we arrived, we were informed that breakfast would be brought to our room prior to our departure. VERY nice touch!

I am sorry others had a poor experience at the hotel. Ours was the opposite. If I ever fly out of Ankara again, I'll be happy to spend the night here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gschloesser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

As far as I could see this is the most convenient stay near the airport. As has been mentioned in earlier reviews the decor is "interesting" and maybe not to everyone's taste but quirky can be fun. The room was clean and functional. Had the evening buffet which had a large selection and was surprisingly good as was the breakfast. This is a perfectly acceptable stopover before or after a flight and good value for the price

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I had worried after reading some of the negative reviews but decided that this was the only choice near enough to the airport. The hotel appeared deserted apart from the front desk staff but I was quickly shown to a large clean room where everything except the aircon seemed to work, the bed was excellent as was the hot shower. Did not get to try the restaurant but after a little language difficulty Room Service was polite, swift, good value and the best cheeseburger I had eaten in days. With night time tempeartures down to -9 DegC the noisy aircon pumping out only heat was not a problem, though room was warm even with this off. Internet access was sporadic, but I am glad I do not have to face the decor for too long. Will go back next trip.

Room Tip: Note: for parents my fourth floor window opened fully with no child safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJJ_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

If you can: avoid this hotel, unless you are a lover of cheap imitation neo ottoman style. The only reason this hotel exists must be its vicinity to the airport. The inside is a study in fake architecture. The rooms are not too bad, unless you arrive on a cold day: most of the time you are worried if there is heating available in this season, but in this hotel you should worry about not being able to turn of the heating. The result is a a room temperature well above anything that is agreeable, the heating simply can't be turned off. With the vicinity of the airport opening your window is not an option either. The room itself was more than ugly, however it was clean.
The hotel has a restaurant. When we went to eat there a buffet dinner was available. A pity that no one had worked out how to keep the food warm.... the food itself being mediocre.
Glad to leave there early in the morning!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is not the classiest of hotels but it does what it says on the tin!
Staff friendly & helpful - rooms big but basic - bed and shower excellent - tv from the 90's - aircon could be a problem in the warm weather - good minibar.
Restaurant & menu extensive and value for money.
Nothing at all to do in the area and during my stay, major roadworks around the site.
If all you want is somewhere to stay for a night after getting a flight or before an early star it is perfect.
I had a 3am taxi to the airport (20TL) which arrived bang on time and enjoyed a fress coffee in the lobby after checking out.
Free Turkish bath, pool and sauna facilities I didnt use - WiFi fine.
All for 55Euro - cant go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The hotel is 5 km's to Ankara Esenboga Airport. Nothing much around the hotel . Neither a restaurant nor a market around. The rooms were old , needs re-furnishing. TV was not properly working as well. Cleanliness was fair , bed linens ,floors were clean enough . Breakfast was good too. You should choose the hotel if you're looking for an hotel close to airport, but you should not expect a modern and prestigious hotel. Value for service was good.No internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babaroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Ibis Ankara Airport
#43 of 178 in Ankara
124 reviews
Maltepe 2000
#17 of 178 in Ankara
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Ankara Plaza Hotel
Ankara Plaza Hotel
#28 of 178 in Ankara
123 reviews
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 178 in Ankara
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esenboga Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esenboga Airport Hotel

Address: Esenboga HavalimanI Yolu 16. km | Saraykoy, Ankara 06150, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 178 Hotels in Ankara
Hotel Class:5 star — Esenboga Airport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esenboga Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing