We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect hotel...exactly what I imagine a luxury hotel to be like!”
Review of Hotel Mithat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mithat
Ranked #90 of 175 Hotels in Ankara
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect hotel...exactly what I imagine a luxury hotel to be like!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Hotel Mithat is by far the best hotel in Ankara! They are flexible with their prices - it only cost us 33 euros to stay here for a double room and they even threw in a cot for our son and he absolutely loved sleeping in it. The decor was so stylish and was newly revamped when we stayed here, ther staff even carried our luggage to our room, the lobby was breathtaking and it was a much needed respite having just travelled from Goreme to Istanbul overnight to collect a visa and then from Istanbul to Ankara all in the space of 24 hours as we prepared for the marathon train trip on the Trans Asia Express to Iran! The hotel was conveniently located in the old part of Ankara which was close to the Ulus metro station and also to the main railway station too. The view was great and it was above and beyond what we're used to staying on our budget. I can't get better satisfaction from staying in a 5 star hotel as we don't need that much luxury when we're there for a short time and are hardly in the room. The staff communicated with us via email in advance so we felt assured that our room was reserved without payment weeks before we arrived. They advised us on how to get to the hotel and even gave us a favourable exchange rate when converting the euros into liars when we requested to pay in the local currency. A little heaven in the centre if Ankara. Will be back for more someday if we're ever in Ankara! I know other dormitory places in Ankara that charge the same price and can't even offer you breakfast. This place was like a 3 star hotel offering dorm prices! The place is straight out of the Wallpaper magazine interior design manual. Thanks Hotel Mithat!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arshad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
29
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is very central, the staff is very friendly and helpful and prices are more than reasonable.
Not a luxurious hotel for sure, but if all you need is a good base to explore the town, this one will be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The only advantage of this place was a Turkish version of Only Fools and Horses' 'Hooky Street' across the road - a market that proved a handy place to get a new phone charger. Riddled with drawbacks, perhaps the worst is the one foot gap between shower and toilet, necessitating a good dousing of the whole miniscule room every time one washed. A cellophane covered breakfast came replete with a bread roll of dubious provenance although the olives were edible. When the lift failed to work, the receptionist merely grunted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoehmBawerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ankara hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked hotel via agoda.com as wanted somewhere central and cheap. When I arrived the check-in was pretty smooth and it looked quite alright for a solo traveler.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, as was the bathroom. Hot water and a/c provided and both functioned pretty well.
The downside is there is an ongoing construction in front of hotel that goes on till late so you may want to request for rooms at the back.

It was noisy but I was so tired from the journey I slept right through.

Location wise, it is approximately 15-min away from the railway and a 10min walk to the anatolian museum.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delphinus2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tong Fuk, Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place was fantastic.The room and en suite were spacious and very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was much better than most other places I had stayed at on my trip. The hotel was easy to get to by train, and was in a very good location. Ankara is a really great place to visit, with a lot of attractions, nice people and a more relaxed pace that Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would give this hotel 3.5 stars.

Based on the reviews I read, I was starting to dread my options in Ankara. We were staying one night and catching a train. This hotel, which is maybe 5 minutes walk from Genclik Park and 15-20 to the train station, was a good choice for us.

PROS:

1. Breakfast included - it comes pre-packaged but it was decent.
2. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
3. Cost was reasonable - we were only staying one night.
4. Our room, on the 4th floor, was quiet and very clean. Amenities were provided (soap, shampoo, etc.)
5. Location was good- close to the park, the subway, and you can walk through the park to the train station.
6. Wifi included.

CONS
1. Other than its proximity to the train station, the location wasn't particularly great, but there was a grocery store nearby and a few restaurants.


The place has an old feel to it, but it wasn't drabby or dreary as others had said.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our taxi had some problems to find the hotel, but it should be easy to find since it is close to the Genclik Park and the Opera.

Friendly staff - large room - OK bathroom - very clean room on 4th floor - window view towards the park. OK priced.

Location excellent - walking distance to the Ethno-museum and the Citadel with the museum of Anatolian Civilisations.
5 mins walk to Genciler Park with restaurants, lake and light & music fountains show every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Capital Hotel Ankara
#87 of 175 in Ankara
25 reviews
Altındağ
Grand Sera Hotel
Grand Sera Hotel
#93 of 175 in Ankara
11 reviews
Kayra Hotel
#66 of 175 in Ankara
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Gurkent Hotel
Gurkent Hotel
#43 of 175 in Ankara
53 reviews
Buldum Hotel
#97 of 175 in Ankara
10 reviews
Çankaya
Hotel2017
Hotel2017
#67 of 175 in Ankara
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mithat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mithat

Property: Hotel Mithat
Address: Opera Meydani Tavus Sok. No:2 Ulus, Altindag, Ankara 06050, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 175 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mithat 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mithat offers comfort and secure accommodation opportunity at the Ankara city center with super budget prices. Customers with their families are mostly welcomed since they do not need to spend time for searching a better place. At the walking distance there is a lot of restaurants and recreational areas like Turkish bath, Museums, Castle of Ankara and modern shopping malls. Hotel Mithat is supplying high quality services by reasonable prices to her customers with her well-educated stuff. All the rooms have nice sight seeing of Ankara. All rooms have bath, direct phone, TV. Breakfast and room services are available for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mithat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing