We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel but poor Internet”
Review of Ankara Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ankara Plaza Hotel
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Reviewed 3 December 2012

PROS:
Everything was clean and modern and the staff were really polite and helpful,specially the reception staff could talk good English (which is rare in Ankara) and were willing to help.The breakfast was included and was really great, probably the best I've seen in 4-star hotels. Another good point for tourists, there is only a 10 min walk to Kizlay which is considered the heart of the city with loads of restaurants ,cafes and shops.
CONS:
Though the wireless internet connection is supposed to work in the rooms, it was soooo poor and during the 6 night stay I could use it just once for a few minutes! However, since I really needed to connect, I asked the reception and they told me there is another wifi available in the lobby which worked. So if you are in a need to connect to the internet, you can ask the staff for the other wifi in the lobby. As one of the other members stated, the hotel was not really "alive" and rooms were a bit small.

Overall, if I want to travel to Ankara again, I would choose to stay in Ankara Plaza :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Far A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

I was invited to speak at a conference jointly organized by the European Commission and the Turkish Police Academy, which was held in the Ankara Plaza Hotel in Kavaklidere, Ankara.
The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are a bit small, but up to the standard one might expect from a four star business hotel.
Meeting room facilities were quite superb. But once the meetings finished in the evening, the hotel was not very 'alive'. Both the hotel restaurant and bar were quite desolate and lonely places, even though the restaurant served quite good food at decent prices.
Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, but their command of English left something to be desired.
For business travelers, having a well functioning wifi system to hook up to the internet, process e-mails etc., is an absolute essential requirement. The system in the Plaza Hotel left a lot to be desired. It was a somewhat erratic adventure to try and hook op to the guest WiFi, especially in the rooms. It sometimes functioned, but most of the time it did not. When it functioned it was good, but when it did not function it was pretty frustrating.
However, overall this is certainly a decent and comfortable hotel. Not one that I will rush to go back to as soon as possible, but I would not mind going back there if my business requires me to stay in Ankara again.
An ironic anecdote: The conference I participated in as an expert speaker was about the work of Turkish law enforcement agencies to combat human trafficking. Most of the audience were fairly high level Turkish police leaders. Right down the street from the hotel, at just about 30-40 meters there were 2 nightclubs that feature women to 'animate' the customers. I dare to bet that most of them were from Russia, Ukraine, Moldova and other former Soviet states and a fair number of them are probably victims of human trafficking. It made me wonder why the conference organizers did not plan a 'field trip' to see up close what we were talking about for two days :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the front (street) side of the building. The view from there is less d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariusWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I was there at the mid of June. Everything was great. A very good 4 stars hotel. I' had a little problem and manager solved it and show us the warm Turkish hospitality during our staying. We have a very good time in Ankara plaza hotel. If I have another trip to Ankara, I'll stay at this hotel again surely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for one night and couldn't wait to check out from this hotel. The first room had a bad odor and everything in the room looked dirty. Upon our disappointment they offered another room on a higher floor which looked better but the sheets had holes in them and the safe didn't work even after they replaced the battery. Don't bother with the nrestaurant. There are plenty of places to eat in the neighborhood. We now know, although a bit late, that Ankara has several new hotels not yet reviewed on TripAdvisor, e.g. Moevenpick. The staff at Ankara Plaza is nice and trying to be helpful but the condition of the rooms and the clientel makes this hotel undesirable given the other alternatives such as the Marriott and Movenpick.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel, then pick a room on a hiigher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We chose the Ankara Plaza as our place to stay in Ankara based primarily on Tripadvisor reviews. They were absolutely spot on; this place is terrific! From the moment that the bellman took our luggage and told us not to worry about the car, we were surrounded by an extremely helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. They were even able to get a load of clothes laundered and returned in under 4 hours! Amazing! We elected a deluxe double, and had a huge corner room to ourselves -- one large room, but including a comfortable sofa, two chairs and a coffee table. There was plenty of room to spread out as well as windows that actually opened. The bed was comfy; the lighting good. Their Terrace Restaurant on the top floor includes both an interesting and tasty buffet lunch and dinner as well as a la carte dining. We were very pleased with the meals we had here. We will definitely return to the Ankara Plaza on our next trip to Turkey; it is one hotel that should not be missed!

Room Tip: Our room, 207, was a "deluxe double" -- huge corner room with plenty of space. We will re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Everything was ok. Near shopping center, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, and friendly atmosphere. I'll be back to this hotel 3 weeks later surely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HossYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Good atmosphere, clean, friendly staff, good food, everything well organised. Location not central but near Government offices, etc. English spoken, international atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the hotel is away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.1 mi away
Demonti Otel Ankara
Demonti Otel Ankara
#123 of 177 in Ankara
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Ankara
Ramada Ankara
#32 of 177 in Ankara
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ikibin-2000
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Class Hotel
Class Hotel
#45 of 177 in Ankara
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
0.6 mi away
Houston Hotel
Houston Hotel
#44 of 177 in Ankara
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Plaza Hotel

Address: Bestekar Sok. No: 5 | Cankaya, Kavaklidere, Ankara 6680, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Çankaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ankara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ankara Plaza Hotel will pleased to entertain you with 92 modern and comfortable decorated rooms and also provides 7 banquet and meeting rooms and 1 ballroom with all technical equipments for your wedding ceremonies, meetings, evnets, educational and presentational organizations. Our hotel located in Kavaklıdere which is the hearth of business and financial centers. Also it is very closed to TBMM ( Grand Natioanl Assembly of Turkey ) Ministries, Embassies and business centers as walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ankara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing