We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pension with beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zeybek 2 Apart & Pension
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you want to get away from the tourists, this pension is well located. It has an amazing view from the terrace where you take the breakfast. The hosts are very nice and friendly :-). Only drawback is the Mosquitos in the city. Fortunately there is a mosquito net in the room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolas-Frédéri... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

"Welcomed" by the family's son that did not say a word to us except to show the room, we have not been able to see the father or any english speaking member of the family during a 24 hour stay.
So do not expect any advice/information about the city, transports, breakfast hours...

The room is very simple, the bed has no sheets. The bathroom is not finished and there is no toilet paper.

The air conditioning was not working while it was quite hot in the room.

While no one was available to speak to, these problems have subsisted during the whole stay.

In the morning the Internet connection was not working.
Also there was no swimming pool while the website of the pension features one.

Some good points though : the nice panoramic view on the village ; filter coffee for breakfast ; one of the cheapest pension in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvain0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Zeybek 2 is a multi-story accommodation with a patio on top that sits on the hill overlooking the town of Gelemis and the swampy valley between Gelemis and the Patara beach and ruins. It is owned and operated by a middle-aged gentleman named Soner along with his family who reside on the premises. We originally booked for two nights but extended our stay twice because we liked the place so much.

The Good:
Owner- Soner is a very friendly host and possesses a wealth of knowledge about the area ranging from hike ideas to history that he is eager to impart. His family is also very friendly though less talkative (perhaps if I spoke Turkish that would be different). They even washed our clothes and hung them up for free on our last day then knocked on our door at 9:30 PM to warn us that rain was coming so we could hang our clothes up in our room.
Price- For a spacious apartment all to ourselves (2 people), we paid the equivalent of what we would pay for dorm beds in a crowded hostel room. Crazy good value here.
Apartment furnishings/AC/space- The apartment we had on the ground floor was very comfortable and spacious with good furniture, a private balcony, air conditioning, and its own kitchen
View from the top- The covered patio common/breakfast area on the top of the building is sublimely peaceful and beautiful with an excellent view of the entire valley. Great way to start your day or spend it relaxing.
Breakfast- A tasty and adequate buffet-style breakfast was served every morning consisting of all-you-can-eat local cheese, bread, tomatoes, cucumber, hard-boiled egg, jam, honey, butter, melon, and sometimes watermelon
Quiet- It's up and away from the already pretty quiet town so while you can hear the sounds of town quietly drifting up to your window, you can close it if you don't want to hear anything at all. The haunting calls to prayer from the mosque in town are beautiful echoing throughout the valley and no so loud that you would even notice them if you didn't want to.
Wifi is free, though it only worked well in our room near the refrigerator (very odd)
Short though steep walk to town
It's on the way to the secret back way to the sand dunes that Soner will tell you about
Free parking

The Bad:
Like most of the Old World, the bed was too short for my 6'2" body, squashing it between a headboard and footboard. I ended up sleeping on one of the ready-for-sleeping fold-down couches in the living room a few of the nights so that I could have the whole bed to myself and sleep diagonally.
No oven and no microwave in the kitchen
MOSQUITOES- Sadly, this is the reason I must give Zeybek 2 only 4 out of 5. It's very mysterious, but mosquitoes somehow manage to get into the room starting at about 6 PM even with all the doors and windows shut. All of the doors and windows have well-tacked screens on them and close completely, but each night we had an ongoing battle with mosquitoes no matter what we did. This also made the common area patio somewhat unattractive in the evening though our friendly host was quick to offer insect repellant while I was up there. Fortunately, mosquito nets are provided above the bed and the fold-down couches so unmolested sleep is possible.

Neutral:
Not a particularly social atmosphere if that's what you're looking for. No parties here. Actually, good luck finding many parties at all in this super chill beach town with only two bars. Come here to relax.
The power grid in Gelemis went down on several occasions while we were there, often for extended periods of time. Be ready for this. Have a flashlight. Soner will give you a lighter to start your stove if this happens.

Room Tip: The apartment was only slightly more expensive than a normal room, and it was very much worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesBradley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed longer than we had planned...after we found accommodation that felt like home: spacious room, balcony...more room to enjoy on the terrace where you can enjoy tea and conversations with the hosts and/or the regulars. Good Turkish breakfast with a view! The host is a wealth of information. To see photos click on the link.
http://www.awonderfulmind.com/blog/2013/10/5/the-lycian-way

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadinelego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

When we booked this pension, we were surprised the latest review was 2 years ago. Now I think I have got it.
I must admit the terrace and the view the hostel offers on Pantara is awesome.
However, Soner, the host, makes his guests so uncomfortable they feel bad about reviewing his pension. The room are very basic and we were supposed to eat there but Soner told us he did not plan on cooking for us because we did not tell him we wanted to eat dinner before coming... In a pension, dinner is always given.
We were supposed to stay 2 nights but we decided to leave after the first night there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElVicarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We said we would return and we did for another 3 weeks. What a delight again and everyone so friendly and to our amazement most of the people in the resturants and shops in the village remebered us from last year!! The pension has had the bathrooms upgraded which was a nice surprise. Soner and his family made us very welcome again and it's like home from home. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liquidgold1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Parara was the most delightful find of a month long tour of Turkey, and Soner Zeybek's pension was the best place to stay. Soner was very helpful and enjoyed conversation with his guests. The terrace where good breakfast (with filter coffee!) was served overlooked the Patara ruins. Nearby the 16km stretch of white sand beach. Development here has ceased in order to protect the loggerhead turtles so the town will retain its charm indefinitely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhancee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patara hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Pataros
Hotel Pataros
#2 of 2 in Gelemis
90 reviews
0 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#5 of 15 in Patara
112 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sema
Hotel Sema
#11 of 15 in Patara
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
#1 of 2 in Gelemis
66 reviews
0 mi away
Prima Donna
Prima Donna
#1 of 6 in Patara
64 reviews
0 mi away
Patara Delfin Hotel
Patara Delfin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Patara
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeybek 2 Apart & Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeybek 2 Apart & Pension

Address: Gelemis street KAS | Tomler Mevki, Patara 07975, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Patara
Price Range: £13 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zeybek2 pension is run by Soner and his family. The pension is at walking distance from the famous Patara Beach. Breakfast is served on the splendid roof terrace with 360 degree views on the ruins and the village centre. You can also relax on the roof terrace while reading a book from our library. You come as a guest buts leave as a friend. The beach of Patara is arguably one of the finest beaches in the world. It is over 15km in length, of soft white sand, up to 50m wide and backed by extensive dunes. At the south-east end there are sunbeds and a substantial restaurant but the whole of the rest of the beach is still completely untouched - perfect. The Zeybek 2 Pension Patara has been family-owned and run since 1989. Its unique location on the hillside affords guests a panoramic view of the village, ruins and the beach. The owner Soner offers you a warm and friendly welcome - with many people coming back year after year. What could be a finer recommendation? The virtually perfect amphitheatre is the second biggest in the Lycian region. The ruins of Patara are spectacular - an open-air museum that affords the visitor a real sense of the history of the area and excavations are ongoing. Check in noon, Check out 11:00 AM. Payment by cash or credit card. Please inform about arrival time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Zeybek 2 Apart & Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing