We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Accommodation in Rustic Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prima Donna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prima Donna
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Stunning Accommodation in Rustic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

When I first saw the photographs of this property in a mailing from the Secret Escapes Travel site earlier this year I knew I had to engineer a trip here. Unfortunately Prima Donna does not accept children under the age of 14, and we have a 6 year old. However, Elixir Travel, at the time of booking the sole agents for the hotel (I note Prima Donna does now have its own website) were agreeable to accepting our child at the tail end of the season. So off we set for October half term. Having just returned I can attest to the accommodation being as wonderful as the glossy website photos depict. The rooms are fantastic. We stayed in Audrey Hepburn. This already spacious room links through with near identical Grace Kelly to create a huge 2 bedroomed space, or can be let separately as 2 individual 1 bedded rooms. The internal décor is funky and colourful with tree trunk beds, brightly coloured smegs which serve as mini-bars, and eclectically furnished living areas. Floor to ceiling windows flood the place with sunlight. We also stayed one night in the signature suite Brigitte Bardot. This lodge has the addition of a fantastic mezzanine level bedroom. The views from here are stupendous, sweeping across the illuminated hotel pool and beyond over Patara Bay. This room also has a fireplace and an extra bathroom on the mezzanine floor, though all rooms are shower only and the cupboard sized bathrooms are something of a let down in comparison to the very generous living spaces, though they are artfully done with exposed concrete walls and log lined, pebble based showers. They favour style over substance somewhat as I'm not sure how resilient such materials will be and the lack of space means they are not especially user friendly. Our shower was rather gutless too. But they look good! All the lodges have large terraces with outdoor showers and a jacuzzi. We preferred the living space of Audrey Hepburn to Brigitte Bardot but the experience of waking up to the view in the BB bedroom was very special indeed. In addition to great looking accommodation our stay was enhanced by the lovely Manager 'Rose'. The regular chef was away so Rose looked after us at breakfast and on the evenings that we ate in-house. Breakfasts were fantastic, an endless array of delicious artisan produce including their own honey, fruits, mouth watering breads, Turkish eggs, fabulous coffee, etc. For dinner you are asked what kind of thing you like and it is served at a time of your choosing. The meze was the best that I have ever had. Main courses were simple - chicken served with rice, lamb shank served with mashed potato. Always deliciously fragrant and expertly spiced. Service was warm, homely, laid back. No ceremony and not a great deal of polish. The hotel dogs wander around at will and Rose involved my canine loving son in feeding and playing with them which made his day. There is a delightful pool and sun deck area with trendy sculptures and cabana day beds. A couple of quad bikes are on hand for bombing around the surrounding woodland, mountain bikes too. The hotel offers a shuttle into Kalkan which is around 20 minutes away and also to nearby Patara Beach. The road leading to the hotel is a bumpy, dusty dirt track. Whilst only 15 minutes from the main road Prima Donna is quite remote, aside from the odd small scale farm there is nothing else around. The setting is rustic and the surrounding landscape is scraggy. There are some incomplete buildings, unfinished foundations, and bits of ugly piping here and there and in some ways Prima Donna does feel like a work in progress. None of this impaired our enjoyment in the slightest though and we would highly recommend Prima Donna as a unique and rather special place to stay.

Room Tip: Brigitte Bardot, Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    2
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are reading this review because you are trying to decide whether to go here or not - I cannot recommend it highly enough. We were staying in Kalkan and so only went for dinner at Locanda - they have a shuttle service that will pick you up and drop you back at your hotel. First we watched the most stunning sunset with beautiful wine and lovely hosts and then we sat down to dinner. As others have said, there is no menu, the lovely chef Leyla just asks what you want to eat - we had a meze selection to start and then the lamp chops and beef steak - both gorgeous. If you are fussy or have special dietary requirements, you should call in advance to let them know. Then you can have raki and cheese which we didn't really fancy so would have been nice to have desert or something sweet to finish off, although we were stuffed so not sure how I would have managed anyway! The setting is stunning, quirky mountain lodge decor, we were also shown round a room and would have loved to stay - just a couple of nights though as I generally prefer to be walking distance away from town, unless you are really after off the beaten track in which case this would be perfect for a longer stay.
The staff were so friendly and just made us feel welcome and the air up there is so refreshing, it was a beautiful evening, so romantic, very calming and it was just such a happy time. If you are in the area (or even if you are not!), this is not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aditisidekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Like the previous reviewer we had dinner here on our last night and wished we'd stayed. Elixir recomended dinner on our last night having had 4 nights at the Peninsula Gardens Kas and then 3 nights at the Likya Gardens Kalkan. Both were lovely but next year we're definately going to have 3 nights at the Prima Donna.

Its the setting that gets you, just beautiful with the sun setting over Patara beach. The meal was good, no menu but the chef asking whether we wanted fish or meat and how we wanted our fish cooked. lovely fresh octopus.

We had a tour of the rooms, six of them and all lovely and with only one other couple staying here as its only just opened i expect it will be busy next year. A 15 minute minibus trip off the main road up the un-made track made it feel like you were in the middle of nowhere. The landrover shuttle down to Patara beach looks great as do the mountain bikes and quad's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolwezirolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in Kalkan & unfortunately visited the Locanda restaurant at Prima Donna on our last night. If only we'd known sooner about this fantastic hidaway we'd have arranged to stay a couple of nights to enjoy the cool hotel, amazing vista & fantastic food! If you're visiting the Kalkan region then this place is a must as not only do you dine with one of the most amazing sunsets we've ever seen but the food is to die for & the staff are amazing.

Without doubt the best night of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Myself and my friends visited Prima Donna for dinner for a 30th Birthday during our holiday in Kalkan. I cannot recommend anywhere more highly, the food is sensational and all freshly prepared by Lelya a 23 year old chef, whom shares the menu with you at the table personally. The steak even caused a french-man to exclaim that it was one of the best fillets that he had ever had! There are no menus here, just fresh locally sourced ingredients and receommendations from the chef. The view is stunning with the sunset over Patara beach an ideal way to start the evening and you can finish with amazing views of the moon and stars as there is so little light pollution at the top of the mountain. The service is exceptional from both the Manager, Gulhan who greets you personally from the car and the rest of the waiting staff. A car will pick you up and drop you back to your accomodation free of charge, so you can enjoy the delicious wine which comes from Corvus Vineyards (usually the local wine isn't much to write home about but Locanda is onto something here!) We loved it so much that my boyfriend and I returned two days later for a further visit, and again our breath was taken away by the food and view. We wish this place all the success in the world... you should not visit Kalkan or Patara without a visit to this place especially if you LOVE food and beautiful settings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I came for an evening dinner at Prima Donna and loved the secluded rural feel of the place not to mention the breathtaking views over the olive woods and all the way down to the immense Patara Beach. Dinner was an amazing taste sensation... no menu to choose from rather the Chef wondered over to our table and suggested a few dishes we tried - all based on what was fresh at the time and that a local fisherman had caught an octopus which was beautifully tender and tasty. The dining area looks out over the mountain views, with polite friendly and attentive service and wonderfully relaxing jazz music....not to mention carefully made and too-easily-drinkable cocktails. The manager, Gulhan, was incredibly hospitable and after one too many homemade delicious limoncellos we ended up staying in the beautiful Brigette Bardot suite and were treated to Prima Donna's delicious breakfast all homemade and local ingredients (including their own honey). If you want a totally isolated switch off from all the stresses of reality, combined with beautiful views and incredible and well-thought out food... this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had a fantastic holiday at Prima Donna. The lodges are tastefully designed and furnished and very comfortable and cool with incredible views. The location is isolated in the hills so very peaceful and relaxing although not too far away from Kalkan if you wish to eat away from the hotel or wander through the pretty streets.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and were a big part of making the holiday special. The food at Locanda restaurant was excellent and made it quite difficult in choosing to eat elsewhere.
The quad biking was fun and the complimentary yoga by the poolside is a must.
I would highly recommend a visit if you like to relax peacefully in beautiful surroundings. I'll definately return.
Brilliant job Prima Donna in your first season of many.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patara
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sema
Hotel Sema
#10 of 14 in Patara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dardanos Hotel
Dardanos Hotel
#2 of 14 in Patara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lukka Hotel
Lukka Hotel
#2 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#6 of 14 in Patara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Fidanka houses
Hotel Fidanka houses
#5 of 39 in Kalkan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Donna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Donna

Property: Prima Donna
Address: TRT Yansitici Yolu 5.km Tavas Cad., Patara 07936, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Patara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Prima Donna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing