We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pension”
Review of Akay Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akay Pension
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Patara
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Big rooms with balcony although no separate shower. Nice surroundings in the village of patara. Exceptional service like driving to bus or beach.
Breakfast set plate which was ok.
Dinner a big greasy but tasty with extras on demand for just 18tl.
Just great!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Marcusfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Wokingvisitor40
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have not heard of Patara before or done much research, since it was a last minute spontaneous holiday for us- for that reason I was not sure what to expect at all and this review will be written accordingly and should be helpful for people like me to make an informed decision, as I think most of these reviews focus on Kazims hospitality only :)

We chose this pension mainly because of the good reviews of the food of Kazims wife and as we got there, he told us that she is actually not there but on holiday because she is pregnant. Therefor we were quite disappointed as she was the main reason for us going there; nevertheless the food was very good; however for our standards portions were quite small and since we stayed for a few nights, it was a bit repetitive, having the same salad every day...also there was quite a lot of deep fried food as well; despite this everything tasted really lovely and it was very good quality food for dinner as well as breakfast; would have been nice to have some different starters though (e.g. Meze) and desserts were very small too; we ate in 2 other restaurants while we were there in Patara and Kazims food was way better;

the room itself was very basic and quite small; the bed was very hard and not that comfortable if I am completely honest; the balcony was small too and there was no furniture on it to sit outside for example; the doors were very thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms, from the bathroom and from the outside (traffic, roosters, praying, etc). the free WIFI and Aircon were a big plus!!
Also the terrace for BF and dinner was very comfortable and cosy; everthing was very clean too;

the pension is right next to the centre of Patara, but there is not much going on in the village; it is about 30 min walk to the beach, but as mentioned in other reviews, there is a tractor service;

I have to agree with other reviews, Kazim is great with organisation and help! he took a lot of preparation and stress away from us, by giving us tips what to do when and by calling people and organising EVERYTHING! without his help our holiday would have been a lot less relaxing!!

So all in all for what he is working with he has done a great job and for the price you pay you cannot expect or ask for anything more; they are friendly, welcoming, hard working and great hosts!!! A lot of people could learn from them!!!

So if you are not expecting luxury and you are not picky but you are looking for a relaxing nice time, in a not touristy place this is a great choice!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinchenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Charming, family run accommodation. Host was amazing. Drove us to the beach and let us borrow an umbrella so we didn't have to hire a sun bed. Room was spacious and bathroom functional. Superb home cooked food (had the chicken casserole) at low prices. Main for 2 and dessert for 38 lira. Was sad we only stayed for one night! Connections to kas was super easy. Bus picked us right outside the pension.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The stay at one of the few rooms Kazim was beautiful. we felt like one big family. The room was spotless, with a small terrace and air conditioning. The bathroom was very small but clean. The best thing about this place is definitely the kitchen, great breakfast and amazing dinner! To go to taste the real Turkish cuisine made ​​on the spot! Kazim then the owner is more sympathetic and sociable you can find!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silviaa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent three wonderful weeks at the Akay this summer (our second visit). The pension is as charming as ever. The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable (with excellent air-conditioning). Kazim and Ayse are incredible hosts; they create the perfect relaxed atmosphere that puts you at ease from the moment you arrive. It is a place to unwind and forget the stresses of everyday life. As with last year, a highlight was the evening meal, which was really excellent. Each evening we enjoyed three courses of fresh, wholesome Turkish food which was great value and some of the best dining we’ve ever experienced. We could not bring ourselves to eat dinner anywhere else in three weeks!

Patara village is dotted with a few quaint restaurants, bars and shops. In particular, we recommend Sofra for an excellent spot of lunch. Nermin and her family are so friendly and serve wonderful food (meze is a must!). For a drink in the evening, try ‘Patara Bar’ (a minute’s walk past ‘Harrods’ in the direction of the beach) for a cold beer whilst watching the sun set.

We had another perfect stay at the Akay. We love Patara, this pension and how relaxed it makes us feel. Trust the reviews and book your stay at this hidden slice of paradise. We never want to holiday anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnra4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed with Kazim and Ayse for a week last month. We had booked on the strength of previous TA reviews - thank you all!
Kazim arranged a taxi from Dalaman Airport. We arrived late evening and he was there as the cab arrived to greet us. We were shown our rooms and told that a meal was waiting for us. This hospitality and kindness continued all week.The food was so very good that we ate in every night as the menu changed daily. There were many guests there who had visited before and knew how it all worked, They added to the very relaxed, kind and friendly atmosphere. On the day we left Kazim drove us 2km up the road to catch the bus to Fethiye..such generosity we have rarely encountered before.


The rooms are simple but do have double glazing ( useful during Ramadan! ) air conditioning and are en suite. We had a change of bedding and towels midweek. The whole pension is very clean and very efficiently run, so we found it was great value for money.
In our second week we stayed at a yoga retreat further up the coast, which cost 4 times as much as delivered 4 times less ( a 1 star TA review coming soon )

Patara is a wonderfully low key friendly place with no night life, a beautiful beach and very kind local people.The ruins are definitely worth at least one visit ( a big site )
Finding and staying at Akay Pension was hitting the jackpot for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beleclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patara hotels
0 mi away
Patara Delfin Hotel
Patara Delfin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Patara
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dardanos Hotel
Dardanos Hotel
#2 of 15 in Patara
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sema
Hotel Sema
#11 of 15 in Patara
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#5 of 15 in Patara
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
#1 of 2 in Gelemis
66 reviews
0 mi away
Patara Ranch Hotel
Patara Ranch Hotel
#12 of 15 in Patara
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akay Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akay Pension

Address: Kazim Akay, Patara 07975, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Patara
#2 Family Hotel in Patara
Price Range: £24 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akay Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akay pension is run by Kazim and his family, close to the village center and a few minutes from Patara Beach. Our place: a warm welcome awaits you. Here you will find a family and friendly atmosphere. Clean and comfortable facilities. Experience some of the best home-made Turkish cooking. Just come, see and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Akay Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akay Pension Hotel Patara
Akay Hotel Patara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing