We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option for Patara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patara Golden Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patara Golden Pension
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Patara
Paris/Abidjan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good option for Patara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is great value for money - it was 30 euros per room in August 2003. It has decently sized air-conditioned rooms with balcony (comes in handy to dry your beach stuff). The bathrooms are big with well functioning shower. All is clean. Parking behind the hotel, under the lemon trees.
The restaurant is also fairly good. The hotel is very well placed in the main junction in Patara, close to other restaurants and shops.
All in all, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor facing garden are very calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_bretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice place to spend several days. It has great location - in the center of village. The owner is very friendly and helpful, the room is clean, with nice furniture and bathroom, the aircon was working properly. Breakfasts were ok, even with pieces of melon and water melon. The only thing we didn't like was dishes of Golden terrace restaurant. Every evening we saw many people eating there and decided to have dinner there too. I ordered trout, and my boyfriend ordered chicken shish. Both dishes weren't good. The chicken was tough, like old meat. The fish wasn't salty at all, it seemed boiled, not grilled.
All the other moments were simply great, and Golden pension is highly recommended by us to stay there.

Room Tip: Choose if possible rooms with windows looking to garden - they r very quiet and sitting on a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a perfect place to spend sometime without any stress very nice people,clean rooms and an excellent hospitality with well cooked foods specially you must to ask a traditional omlet which is made by Yildiray in the morning i can guarantiee that thr place deserve every single cents what will be paid

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The village of Patara is not cotaminated by commercial tourism.In this village and in Golden Pension you feel as if you are back 20 years ago to good old days of Turkey.
I LOCATION(especially to the beach)
Right at the center of the village.Several other restaurants are found nearby. The beach is 20 to 30 minutes walk and you will find ruins of 2000 years ago on the way to the beach.Public transport to the beach is limited in early May.But you can find a microbus every now and then. Taxis,if available,will take you for 10 or 15 Liras. This pension is one of the closest to the beach.
II ROOMS
Rooms on the 1st floor(Reception floor) seem smaller than rooms on the ground floor.After staying one night in a room on the 1st floor overlooking a street, I moved to a room on the ground floor having a garden view with a lemon tree next to the balcony. The room was more spacious and the bathroom
was larger too.The balcony was relaxing,but mosqitoes can be bothering.
III RESTAURANT
You can have a view of mountains as well as the villge. Swallows are raising babybirds in the nests under the ceiling. So you do not get bored while eating breakfast,taste of which was quite OK.
III SERVICE
This is what I liked most of this hotel. Everybody including laundry lady(she washes a load of clothes for 10 lira each time)was helpful and pleasant.You feel that you are truly cared for. Above all Mr Yildrai was of great help.
You can try massage of "Golden Hand of Ali" He is highly recommended.
IV PRICE
It is a good value for money you pay.
VI EXTRA REMARK
I stayed 3 nights here. The tourists I came across in the pension and in the village seem mostly quite civilized. Maybe because this destination is favored by individual travelers who like ruins and a clean beach,and not by travelers of mass tourism.

Room Tip: If you want quietness, ground floor room facing the garden is recommended.Also in this floor some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights 12th to 14th April before main holiday session. After walking the Lycian Way for 5 nights sleeping in small village pensions and carrying out packs all the time this place was a taste of luxury. The town is charming, the people really friendly. The ruins, the beach and surrounding walks fasinating. Our room was clean and tastfully furnished. The shower was great. We had a room at the back with a small balcony and lemon tree - really peaceful. Great breakfast on a raised terrace where you can view all the comings and goings of Patara.Also has a restaurant with tasty traditional food. We also pampered ourselves with a massage.The owner was very pleasant and his staff went out of their way to help (we had problems confirming return flights online which they helped us solve and printed us a paper ticket.)Only draw back is no Dolmus to the main road - we had to get Taxis. The burger bar on the mainroad junction will give you a lift in his van. Means the place is not to commercial.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and get sun on balconies pm. Apparently you can use the pool at their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivychurch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The first time I came to Patara was 1989. From then I have loved the place. All of the people I have met have been very friendly, family orientated and a pleasure to meet. I have, over the years, tarmac laid on the road through the village, family members grow and start businesses of their own. The beach is truely magnificant. The walk from the village to the beach is quite a way, if you don't walk far or have young children. That said, there are many local bus' that do the route. The archaeology is second to none if you are interested and there are many knowledgable people to discuss aspects of this. All in all, a lovely place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Patara is a small, quaint town located near the most beautiful stretch of beach we visited while in Turkey. We were there in May before the tourists and beach-combers descended on the town. As such, we were able to enjoy peace and quiet as we strolled the streets and beach and visited the ruins.

As advertised, the Golden Pension is conveniently located in the center of town. It is relatively small and quite clean. The staff and owner are extremely friendly and hopsitable. The rooms, while clean, are small -- almost diminutive. A nice bed and night stand fill the entire room, with little room to move around. The bathroom is a bit larger and has all the amenities one needs. There is a balcony, but it, too, is small, accommodating two small chairs. It is a bit uncomfortable sitting on the balcony due to the proximity of the neighboring balconies, which are about an arm's length away.

That being said, the rooms are just fine for those who don't plan on spending much time inside. And why would you with the ruins and gorgeous beach nearby? Plus, the price is extremely reasonable and the breakfast ample. If one wants larger (albeit more expensive) accommodations, you can opt to stay in the Golden Lighthouse, a sister property. If desired, guests at the pension can still use the Golden Lighthouse's swimming pool and other amenities.

We enjoyed dinner on the terrace at the pension's Golden Terrace restaurant. The service and food were wonderful, and we enjoyed nice views of the two main streets in town. We opted to have dessert at the pancake (crepe) house next door, which was a delight. In traditional Turkish fashion, guests sit on cushions on the floor and can watch the owner -- a relative of the owners of the Golden Terrace -- prepare the crepes over an open fire. The crepes were wonderful and the owner very friendly and personable.

Overall the Golden Pension is a very good value, with a great location, friendly staff and very affordable prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gschloesser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patara hotels
0.5 mi away
Akay Pension
Akay Pension
#1 of 14 in Patara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
Sisyphos Hotel Patara
#1 of 2 in Gelemis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
#8 of 14 in Patara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dardanos Hotel
Dardanos Hotel
#2 of 14 in Patara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pataros
Hotel Pataros
#2 of 2 in Gelemis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#5 of 14 in Patara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Golden Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Golden Pension

Property: Patara Golden Pension
Address: Gelemis Koyu, Patara, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Patara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1984 as the first pension in Patara the "Golden" continues to extend a warm welcome to everyone who stays there. Set in the heart of the village, this friendly family owned pension has 14 comfortable rooms and a delightful rooftop restaurant. Start your day with a traditional Turkish breakfast under the vines and return here for a delicious meal in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Patara Golden Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Patara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing