We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star”
Review of Bodrum Gulet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodrum Gulet Hotel
Ranked #20 of 95 Bodrum City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Three star”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is rated three star, but is as good as four star anywhere. Great location and close to beach and resturants. Good views from the room. Smallish room but well appointed and very clean.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cyberchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    24
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Great location, near of 2 beaches. The big club across the street was closed for renovation though so it was pretty calm, no noise at all during the night. The staff was very friendly,welcoming and available for our questions. We did tried many places that the owner recomended to us and he had always good advices.
The room (on first floor) was pretty small and they need a little bit of renovation but it was clean. The bathroom was amazing, probably refurbished during the last year.
Good value for my money if you are looking for a room close to the beach,restaurants,bars.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed beginning of june for a few days, very customer friendly small hotel with an amazing view.
The hotel has been refurbished in 2012 so the rooms and bathrooms are very modern and clean.
If we ever visit this wonderful city we will definitly stay in this hotel with super location,super view and best service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed for the first time in this small boutique hotel this May against my wishes but trough a friend's recommendation.
I must admit it was a very good advice, the location is very good close to all kind of resturants from very cheap to very exclusive. The shoping area was two minutes walk away but the view was the most facinating view
I have ever experienced in Bodrum.
The hotel staff are very polite and helpful.There is always someone there to help you with whatever you are looking for regardless to find a special gift or to charter a boat for a day cruise.
I will be in Bodrum very often and Gulet otel is where I will be staying as long as the service and value for the price remains the same.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Two years ago we stayed this hotel location is perfect at the beginning of main street where all the attractions are.After our last stay i know they had rennovation.Price is good enough.If you need a budget central place it is certainly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teco31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paluko, Owner at Bodrum Gulet Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your concern. Hotel Gulet had 2 consecutive rennovations in 2010 and 2012.
The first rennovation involving the lobby and the restaurant section in 2010 and the latter for the refurbishment of the rooms and total change of the bathrooms. (April 2012)

We hope to see you in our Hotel Gulet again and we will try our best to make your stay a pleasant one.

Kindly Yours;

Mustafa Esim
Manager
Hotel Gulet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Otel Gulet, we were B&B for two nights at the start of our trip and a further night at the end (it is only 40 minutes from Bodrum Milas airport). Being October everywhere was much quieter than in high season. We'd thoroughly recommend this for anyone. I'd say that the general look of the rooms is about 2 star, but the location and ambiance made it much more for us and we will definitely return.

POSITIVES:

The rooms are basic but spacious (Both times we paid for rooms on the 4th floor). Fabulous location close to everything, walking distance of bars, shops, the Castle, the Mausoleum. Public beaches (narrow ones) less than 5 minutes walk away.

Friendly & helpful staff. Clean rooms, well decorated. Effective noise-reducing windows

If you want food (e.g. Pizza) they will send out for it.

NEUTRALS

I found the beds exceedingly hard and woke up every morning with backache (I have a back problems anyhow). My wife found them hard but OK.

Only bottled beer (truly, draft bear of any sort is better!)

NEGATIVES

On the Saturday night the bar next door had live music from 11 pm to 5am, then the Accordion player started!

POTENTIAL NEGATIVES

The adjacent building is the Halikarnas night club. Massive and allegedly famous on a national scale, it (fortunately) hasn't been open at all this year (2011), but had it been so the noise would be deafening and sleep impossible, so it would be wise to check with the hotel (or the club) before booking in high season.

GENERAL

Only the 4th floor rooms at the front (401, 402 & 403) have a narrow balcony - big enough for 2 chairs. All three, but especially 401, have a fabulous view across the bay to St Peter's Castle. The lower the room the less the view. There are 2 rooms on each floor that face the back.

There is a lift. No kettles in the rooms. Aircon is fitted (but not needed in October). TV showing Turkish channels only. No shower gel or soap is provided. Hairdryer in bathroom. Free wifi, didn't use it.

Breakfast is a simple buffet, but sufficient. Tea and coffee are always amazingly strong.

GENERAL ADVICE & INFORMATION:

Eating Out. Huge range of establishments all with persistent hawkers outside. We discovered a restaurant called "The Place". It's about 10 minutes from the hotel along the promenade in amongst the main shopping area on the left. It has (like many of the restaurants) a deck overlooking the harbour and the castle. Service 5*. Food 6*, absolutely superb and quite honestly one of the meals was the best I have ever eaten (and I'm very picky).

Parking - The hotel does not have a car park. On-street parking is 20 TL, but if you drive into the car park to the left of the Halikarnas club, (the club's private car park) they will charge 10TL per 24 hours and it's off-street (away from the war zone!).

Driving - SatNav. We had booked a hire car and bought our Garmin Europe SatNav, complete with Turkish Maps. To our ultimate dismay, addresses in Turkey are very difficult for the nav to cope with and it frequently suggested going the wrong way down one way streets or driving down alleyways or pedestrian areas (or even down non-existent streets). The hotel is in Cumhuriyet Caddesi (Cumhuriyet = Republic, Caddesi = Street) and it seems every village or town has a Republic Street. Furthermore, postal codes can be the same for a street in a town 10 miles distant. So the nav took us to the right address but in Gumbet 10 miles away!

The best I can suggest if you are in a car using satnav is to find the hotel on Google Maps and then get the co-ordinates of the junction of Zeki Muren Cadesi and Ataturk Cadesi. This will get you close, but avoid being routed down impossible alleyways.

Some towns (as big as 30,000 population) just don't exist on the Garmin.

Mad drivers, mad overtaking. Seeming lack of any rules of the road. We hired through "Proper" as they have a good reputation. The 2010 Hyundai looked like it had been driven through Tripoli. Dents scratches, broken plastic. So if you have a digital camera take plenty of pick-up and drop-off pictures. They car, however, performed admirably and gave good mpg to boot.

Bodrum Milas airport has only one hire car booth (Avis, I think). For all other companies, the rep should be standing outside the arrivals building with your name on a sign.

Room Tip: 4th floor, front facing rooms have great views & genuine double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCouple_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paluko, Manager at Bodrum Gulet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for the detailed review,

We would like to inform you about some of the improvements we made since this review has been listed.

Our Hotel Gulet has finished a 200.000 € rennovation project in 2012 and reopened on the 20 April 2012. All the bathrooms been enlarged and totally remade from piping to led light showers. A modern look is given to the bathrooms and top quality products been used.

All the rooms refurbished and the beds renewed led tv and satellite receivers been added. We have started adding new pics on the web sites and we hope you will enjoy them e.g. The bathrooms have a glass wall openning to the room from which you may see the Bodrum's Castle or the bay of bodrum as you are taking your shower!(Only in the sea view rooms)

The Halikarnas Disco not adjacent but opposite and up the street been closed since 2010. They have built sound walls around the disco for noise isolation, (otherwise the penalties are very high). But haven't been able to open yet..

We are sure our guest will keep on benefiting from staying down town and being close to all the attractions bodrum has to offer in our new boutique concept and also have a comfortable sleep.

Thank you for your other positive reviews and we hope you to host you again and make sure you will have a pleasent stay.

Kind Regards,

Mustafa Esim
Manager& Owner
Hotel Gulet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff,Wales,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Excellent location, overlooking Bodrum bay and in walking distance of all bars, Restaurants and shops, the staff were very helpful and friendly, our room had a sea view and was clean and well decorated. With the windows open it was a bit noisy but rooms had air conditioning so windows could be shut cutting out noise, on the noise front there is a massive open air disco right by this hotel and fortunate for us, this season it was closed. Overall I would recommend this to all age groups just for its location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
1.2 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#23 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Su Hotel
Su Hotel
#27 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gulec
Hotel Gulec
#26 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#30 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asmin Hotel
Asmin Hotel
#20 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodrum Gulet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodrum Gulet Hotel

Property: Bodrum Gulet Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Cumhuriyet Cad. No:177, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bodrum Gulet Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operating since 1972 Hotel Gulet is a gorgeous boutique hotel in central Bodrum, ideal for a beach vacation on the Turkish Mediterranean Sea. Hotel guests have a great starting point to go for a stroll to the picturesque Bodrum harbor, where they can book a boat tour along the stunning coastline. Totally refurbished in 2012 your classic hotel offers easy access to Bodrum’s landmarks and attractions. Bodrum Castle is 1 km, mauseluem 1,5 km from Gulet Hotel while the Bodrum Cruise Port is a 5-minute walk away.Set on the only beach in central Bodrum, Hotel Gulet offers elegantly furbished air conditioned rooms with satellite led tv, minibar, free wi-fi and the stunning view of The Castle of the Knights of Saint John, built in the 15th century. Local and fresh dishes are served at our restaurant. Gulet’s bar offers drinks and snacks as you watch the crowd pass by on the famous bar street.Guests can benefit from the hotel’s 24-hour front desk. Open in winter and summer, the Gulet Otel offers great value for money accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bodrum Gulet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing