We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* in my view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marmara, Bodrum
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a 5* in my view”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is quite a nice hotel but a few things let it down:
* running out of wine and food on the menu because they had hosted a large event 5 days previously
* playing irritatingly loud music by the pool and at the beach club all the time - they turn up even louder at 4pm
* our room on the ground floor had a tree next to the terrace which encroached so much that the terrace was unusable. The chairs were covered in bird droppings
* we submitted a feedback form actually during our holiday but no-one responded to our concerns
The good things:
* fabulous view
* breakfast manager is a star - they need one just like him for dinner too
* reception staff good too
* the olympic pool beyond the tennis courts where they don't play music - but no pool bar service there

Room Tip: Avoid 1407 unless they have felled the tree which encroaches on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

Please accept my apology for being late to respond about your comments.

We consider all feedbacks and complaints as a gift, Please rest assured that your feedbacks have been shared with related department heads and necessary actions were taken.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    152
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
135
417
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Marmara Bodrum is a choice for people looking for quality rather than quantity.

We stayed there for 8 night, and after the 3rd night we realised that Marmara is the talk of the town and every other local person that we mentioned it to was appreciating its location, view, quality and the wealth that it brought to Bodrum.

Staff are very friendly and all speak English. Charming Italian character Nino is a great start for the morning breakfast with his hospitality and attention to cheer you up in the morning.

The 10 minute ride to the beach is convenient, however beach staff are too much in your face at all times and waiting for your every movement to sell you something from their menue that we find extremely annoying and we nerve went back to the Marmara beach again.

The well over priced menu in Marmara beach and the hotel makes me going back to Marbella next time and at least in Spain you don't get ripped off by local people and you don't have to eat crap food in their expensive and "rip off the turists" restaurants.

Food is not so good in Bodrum and we had a lot better experience in Istanbul with service, quality and prices.

Positive points:

Staff, breakfast, location, locality to the airport(local bus ride), decore, limping cat, swimming pools.

Negative point:

Price of eat and drink by the pool and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alirezapersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I just spent four days at this great hotel. We were lucky to get one of their best rooms with a big balcony and an unobstructed view of the city and the sea. The service was exquisite and the breakfast out of this world. In the evening, we used to take a taxi ($7) to the very lively city center. Lots of restaurants and coffee shops.

The marina is full of boats that will take you on a day or 2/3 hour trip. A private 3 hour trip with two stops near islands where you can swim costs about $160. Great experince. There is a street called jumhouria or bar street full of restaurants right on the water.

Bodrum is great!

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a city and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherif D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Because of their wedding organisations it is impossible to rest at this hotel.Music is loud till midnight and you feel it in your room.In 3 days of our stay,there were 2 weddings.Because of these weddings they close the pool at 15:00.And it is ridiculous.There is no place to eat silent or drink tea.Hotel is far from sea.You go by shuttle bus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience; been caused during your stay.

In addition of its reputation about the hospitality, The Marmara Bodrum is one of the leading caterer in Bodrum.

Please rest assured that We started to work on organizing events at a different location since we consider guest satisfaction as a first priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Perched high above the white-walled buildings of the city that surround the Bodrum marina and the sparkling blue Agean Sea beyond, the Marmara is a hilltop oasis that one rarely wants to leave. The spare yet artful modern turkish rooms are comfortable. The food, from the immense and delicious breakfast spread to the varied lunch and dinner menu items, which are Turkish adaptations of international dishes, makes one think twice before leaving this sanctuary to brave the narrow streets and try one of the highly rated restaurants near the marina. The pool is uncrowded and has water just the perfect temperature to cool off from the searing heat of the day but warm enough to encourage a relaxing long float on one's back, listening to the soft jazz and quiet conversations of the international guests with whom you are sharing this delightful experience. We will return, without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just this year I have been back to Bodrum about 6 times and I think out of those 6 times, I have stayed at the Marmara Bodrum 5 times. Each time is a new experience. I've had a chance to enjoy the hotel during its winter season where it is calm and relaxing, and in the highest season in summer where it is full of tourists from all over the world as well as Turkey. Each time we are greeted at the door with the familiar smile of the bellboys and always the grand welcome of the receptions, "welcome back Sebnem Hanim" and yes it is great to be welcomed back. After having given all my details on my first trip, the check in on the following trips were super quick and I was quickly showed to my room. I've had a chance to try most of the different types of rooms in styles and location and each ones seems to be different than the other but each giving the same relaxing, well-kept feeling.

The ever welcoming Nino Bey welcomes us with his chanting songs and enchanting smile and each employees remembers us as says "tekrar hos geldiniz" (welcome back)... as beautiful as such a hotel can be, mostly due to its exquisite location and amazing architecture, I think what attracts me most is its staff. From the Front Office Manager Onur Bey to the staff who serve us in the restaurant and bar. They are always smiling and quick. During this past weekend there were two major weddings taking place at the hotel and amidst all that heavy workload, they still made us feel special.

The Spa in itself is a heaven, Mehmet Bey runs the Spa to perfection and each time I tell him of my dream of kidnapping Ayu who gives the most amazing massages and treatments (I highly recommend the Bali Massage which I have become addicted to).

It's the small things the make a difference, things like a housekeeping staff knocking on our door every late afternoon asking if there is anything we may need (I've never come across this anywhere else)...

So I applaud such an establish but more so the amazing staff who really do make us feel special. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: each room has its own ambiance, I have not come across a room I have not been pleased with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebnemErcelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Şebnem Hanım,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had again an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This holiday was just what the doctor ordered - we were looking for a relaxing week in the sun with good facilities, we found it here at The Marmara which more than lived up to our expectations.
The rooms are fabulous good comfy beds, great facilities in room - safe, great wardrobe space, bath and shower, mini bar, TV, sitting area and a lovely balcony overlooking the sea with amazing views. The hotel is very clean and the staff are wonderful - I know everyone mentions Nino who is a breath of fresh air and makes every guest feel special at breakfast time but I would also say that all the staff are great - Faith who runs the pool bar area is top notch at his job and everything seems to be in order, when he is on duty. The hotel facilities are amazing, a great gym, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which we used every single day - also there are 2 pools one olympic sized which is usually very quiet and the main pool. There are plenty of sunbeds and towels for every guest. There are tennis courts, squash courts and a basket ball practice net - the hotel is laid out in such a way that there are plenty of areas to sit either around the pool or in the garden area it never feels too crowded.
The food here is very good we ate breakfast everyday which has a massive choice the usual Turkish fare, feta cheese, olives, flatbread etc. then there are eggs boiled and scrambled, cheese pastries a wide choice of breads cheese fruit, salads vegetables, cakes, cereals - you can eat something different every day and the quality is 5 star.
The walk to the town is a15-20 min walk it starts steep but then levels down to a managable affair - we walked down every evening and taxied back 10 lira from the town around 15 lira from the Marina. There are some great restaurants in Bodrum where prices vary from inexpensive to moderately expensive, we ate at the Hotel one evening the quality of the food was very good but it is on the more expensive end of the scale but the service and the views are worth paying more for. We ate lunch at the pool every day and enjoyed choosing from the bar menu we usually shared one lunch between us as we did not need too much after the gorgeous breakfast.
If you are going to Bodrum be aware that Bar Street is aimed at the under 30's very loud music bars and expensive drinks always ask for a drinks menu before you order at any of the bars. If you don't like loud music in your face you can always try the Marina area, where it is a little more laid back but there are bars with live music and the Marina has bands but when we were there they sounded a bit Eurovision but quite pleasant.
If there is one thing you must do at the hotel and that is have a massage it is so relaxing and we were still feeling the benefits a few days later. We usually have a hotel that is a base to eat and sleep as we are out doing other things on holiday, but I must admit we had a job to leave it during the day, but we did manage the private beach which was pleasant but we just loved the seclusion of the hotel and just visited the beach once. I would love to transport The Marmara and the sun to the top of my road so I could visit every week. There was a wedding while we were there but this did not impact too much on the guests, if you are worried about any events that the hotel may have booked check with them first. Thanks to everyone at The Marmara for making this one of our most enjoyable holidays ever.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view but the garden view is also beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
0.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
913 reviews
10.9 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 97 in Bodrum City
139 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#13 of 97 in Bodrum City
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 97 in Bodrum City
2,475 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara, Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara, Bodrum

Property: The Marmara, Bodrum
Address: Suluhasan Cad, 18 | Yokusbasi Mah, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#2 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara, Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The medieval castle, built by The Knights of St John, guards Bodrum's dazzling blue bay at the confluence of the Aegean and Mediterranean seas. The city has a lively atmosphere that draws the socialites and, being the cultural centre of Turkish art, the connoisseurs, too. The Marmara Bodrum, stands high above the town from whose restaurant, Tuti, you can enjoy the panorama whilst savouring Mediterranean cuisine. The hotel's glamour blends with its natural surroundings whilst providing all the modern comforts and amenities of a world-class hotel with adult only concept. Each of its air-conditioned luxury bedrooms and suites are splendidly appointed. The fully equipped fitness centre includes a Jacuzzi, sauna and an authentic Turkish Bath. The new fully staffed spa, with a floatation tank, offers a Lastone therapy, herbal body wraps, aromatherapy and reflexology. There are also squash courts and a lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marmara, Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
Marmara Hotel Bodrum
The Marmara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing