We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Bay”
Review of Hotel Manastir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manastir
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best view of Bay”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Bodrum is a beautiful small city with great restaurants, shops and hotels. I stayed at the Manastir Hotel last month for 5 days and it was great. The hotel has the best view of the stunning bay and the town. Food was good and services spot on with friendly staff.

The hotel is on top of a hill, so bear in mind you have to walk about 10 minutes from the beach on a quite stiff street but a taxi will cost roughly 7 liras (12 lira after 8pm) to take you to the hotel. The hotel even have their own taxi office outside. I walked all the time, nice exercise and not that hard if you are not in a hurry.

The hotel advertise Turkish Hammam on their facilities but this is actually private in one of the suites. The swimming pool area is beautiful with bar and restaurant. I will definitely stay here if I make it to Bodrum again

Room Tip: You pay for the view. If you ask for room 703, I think its the best but will cost you more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfquintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    129
    48
    22
    9
See reviews for
56
147
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Hotel Manastir is an excellent choice if you want a beautiful view and attractive pool area to relax and sun. The hotel is located up on a hill on the east side of town. It has panoramic views of Bodrum castle and harbor from the rooms, terrace, and restaurant. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist shopping streets. The clientele was nearly all couples during our stay and thus a good choice for a romantic getaway. We booked a Deluxe Double, and our room was huge, with a private terrace, and two bathrooms. The included hotel breakfast buffet was generous, with made to order omelets and other hot dishes. Warning - don't take a glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice - it was $5 extra. If you head straight down hill from the hotel there are a number of seafood restaurants (including the famous Orfoz). Yes, the Halikarnassus Club is right there too. We were not bothered by noise, but at night the club shoots laser lights on the castle to advertise - very tacky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiskiyouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

İt is one of the best small hotel i have ever been. Rooms with sea view are big, modern and have an excellent panaroma of the city. The breakfast is good and the satff is very polite. But if you wish to walk to the hotel from the city center be raedy to climb a steep road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
522 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Beautiful location, attractive grounds, great view of harbor, but on top of a hill with a steep walk up and down to the town. There is a taxi stand by the front of the hotel though.

We had a large room, basic 60's motel type furnishings. Very hard, small beds. Small crt TV with two English channels.
The bathroom was nice, but had low shower pressure, with no amenities just a bar of soap and a squirt bottle of shampoo/bath gel in the shower. Others in our group complained of small bathrooms, which were difficult to get into the shower because the toilet was in the way.

This is not a good place for mobility challenged individuals as there are no elevators and lots of steps.

Very good breakfast, with omelet station and lots of different cheeses, olives and meats. But no free juice, you have to pay 10TL for fresh squeezed juice.

Standard Turkish Buffet fare for dinner, but the dinner was very disappointing, very good messes and deserts, but dried out chicken shish, and some tasteless meat loaf stuff!

We would have preferred a hotel in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a modern tourist hotel on the edge of the town. It's at the top of a steep hill with a great view across the town of Bodrum, the castle and the bay. This is a good location if you want to get away from the crowds and the noise of Bodrum itself. It's only a 10-minute walk into town, although the hill is quite steep. There's a taxi station at the hotel itself if you choose not to walk.

Our room was large and comfortable with plain, modern furnishings. Everything worked, although wifi (free) coverage was inconsistent in the our room (301) and other rooms apparently. Coverage was much better in the dining room.

The dining room has a great view and there's an outdoor bar next to the pool. Food is served buffet-style. It's fine but the selection both at breakfast and dinner was a bit unimaginative. The staff are great - friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ral999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at the Manastir Sept. 21-24 and again on the 29th. Great location - yes, the hill is a bit steep but not impossible. Perfect location for walking to the castle, to the shops, marina etc. Spectacular views. Service was great (reception, breakfast, luggage handlers). You can literally walk everywhere from here. Short and cheap taxi ride if you are not up for the walk down or back up (approx. 6 TL).

Hotel is spotless, breakfast is plentiful (and yes, they still charge 10 TL for the fresh juice).

Had a room with a balcony. Rooms are small, but who stays in the room? They are clean and have a beautiful balcony equipped with table and chairs. Returned on the 29th and was upgraded to a junior suite, which was nice. Rooms are equipped with a safe. Be sure to ask for the key upon check-in.
Bathrooms come with toiletries (shampoo, cotton pads, shower cap, small soap and cotton sticks (for ears, makeup etc.) Note, no hair conditioner which is not a big deal.) Slippers also provided in room.

Room had a great source of information for tourists - places to visit, important phone numbers, the weather for the week, menu to the hotel restaurant/bar with prices, spa services and prices which I thought was a great touch. No guessing and no surprises upon check out!!!

Upon arrival (both times), there is a fruit platter (fresh fruit consisting of oranges, kiwi and apples) and bottled water in the room. Fruit plate is a nice touch. Great for carrying around as a snack as they come whole (as opposed to chopped up).

Had no problem with the Wi-Fi connection. Used it in my room, on my balcony, near the pool and reception area.

There is a taxi station directly outside the hotel and a small convenience store right across the street.

Alcoholic drinks are expensive everywhere in Turkey due to the high taxes they pay for alcohol (so I was told). If you do enjoy a drink or two, purchase from the duty free as you depart your home country. In addition, everything is more expensive at a hotel (regardless of the hotel).
There is no duty free shop in the airport in Bodrum.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isitworthitornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in Bodrum in Sept. 2013 and really enjoyed this hotel. Nice rooms and great sea views high on a hill overlooking the sea. Lots of different levels and view planes. Lots of nice marble and tile.Staff was friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar quite pricey, as they are everywhere in Turkey. The swimming pool was not heated when we were there and deterred some people from swimming but not Canadians!

We had a suite with a separate living area and bedroom both with doors leading to a balcony overlooking the sea.

We found it quiet and refined. It is located high on a hill but you can walk downtown in 15 minutes and work off your dinner by walking back or get a cab.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenose Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.7 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#12 of 99 in Bodrum City
2,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#4 of 99 in Bodrum City
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#23 of 99 in Bodrum City
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 99 in Bodrum City
1,051 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manastir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manastir

Property: Hotel Manastir
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Mustafa Kemal Cad. No:37, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manastir 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Manastir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manastir Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing