We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday & Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Gulec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gulec
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A real family business. Honest staff They are ready to make the best suggestions for beaches, restaurants and

amusement. They work in good cooperation with other local owners. Regarding the location, the hotel is situated in

an excellent spot which is close to "anywhere" in the downtown. Most importantly, they offer an abundant breakfast

with fresh ingredients, and the rooms are well-furnished with brand new equipments. By the way, there is an

excellent wi-fi connection in every corner of the hotel. This lovely hotel, owned by a lovely local family, is a

perfect value for money in particular with its unique sedative fascinating garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkaragoz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gulec
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Gulec family and staff were real stars and extremely helpful especially when I showed up on their doorstep hoping that they might have a room available at short notice. Ended up staying there for nine nights in total and they arranged alternative accommodation for me at nearby hotels for another two nights when they were fully booked. Great location away from all the night club noise but still central to the promenade, tourist attractions, bus station and shops. Friendly service, clean rooms and beautiful garden where they serve a traditional Turkish breakfast in the morning. A big thanks to everyone at Hotel Gulec for a wonderful stay. Hope to see you soon again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSkies34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My two friends and I stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful stay. It's a family-run hotel and every member of the family is extremely nice and accommodating. The location is amazing (less than 5 minute walk from the beach and all the bars/restaurants/nightlife), and the price was reasonable. They went out of their way to help us get a car rental for a day trip to Ephesus and also purchased ferry tickets in advance for us to get to Kos. Would definitely come back and very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mansour J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pros:
Location - close to most things, good access


Cons:
Very Small rooms
Few electric outlets (we had 1 usable outlet)
I understand it is a family business but something about very young kids on summer break cleaning your rooms bothered me
Confusing payment system - rooms are to be paid in Euros (CC accepted), drinks from hotel charged in Lira (cash only), airport transfer back to Euros but cash only no CC - owners need to get their act together and run a professional hotel
No outside drinks allowed - because they are apparently offered at 'market' rates but we found that it was 2x what they were available in super markets
Skimpy and pathetic breakfast
I saw the invoice for the airport transfer ( it is outsourced) - it was half of what we were charged - big mark up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe10San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kemalg, Owner at Hotel Gulec, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the pros. We need absolutely no pros from such a biased person as you, regarding the cons. Nothing for us, thanks.
You requested a room with a view, we arranged the room just as you’d like.
Power outlet thing is an over-exaggerated problem. You should have asked the staff, the other one is behind the bed. They wouldn’t hesitate to provide you an extra one.
The working conditions of the staff are completely legit according to the Turkish Labor Law. You are no inspector. Please don’t make a false statement.
For the payment, do you know what conversion means? We do remember the scene very well .You said “I have Turkish Liras on me” We said OK.
Oh yes, we have something to say about the professionalism issue. Our performance is much better than your prejudiced thoughts, for sure.
Not to mention that your endless discount requests,why did you need to send numerous emails for confirmation, call us countless times? Aren’t you a perfect professional traveler? An experienced traveler, who has no cash with him, doesn’t have any clue that no outside drinks are allowed in all hotels under the sun. The market rate lie... What a big lie! We especially always inform our guests that the drink rates are the same with the rates in supermarkets at the check-in. If you were right about the rates, why would we take the risk?
Nobody really has never ever demanded confirmations over confirmations like you since the hotel’s opening. If you were so concerned about your reservation, you shouldn’t have booked the room. You asked for a discount, it was given at once without thinking.
Breakfast – You told us you were vegetarian, so you didn’t like it. We wish we didn’t recommend a restaurant with vegetarian cuisine, specially for you. You said you enjoyed the dishes. You forget that.
We just arrange the airport transfers. We have no authorization to carry out transfers.
What a shame! You go on making up fiction about the transfer rates, as well! Over and over again!
Finally, our average score tells everything.
Regards
Ethem Gulec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms are basic but the location can't be beat. Just far enough off the main road to not have partying noise, but a 2 minute walk to the party. Run by a nice family who will be helpful for all your traveling needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyLittleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My stay in a single room with two friends was fine, but I may keep looking on a next trip. Location was great and staff were fine. But: Wireless internet was very weak and spotty (FYI, wireless signal strength doesn't depend on the city's internet wiring!), and even mobile internet signals were weak (Vodafone is bad, Turkcell not much better). We suggested they cycle the router but they just blamed it on the city's wiring or something. The room was quite tight (but granted, there were three of us). This was the only place in Turkey with no breakfast buffet, and a rather meager set breakfast plate. They don't give shampoo (!!!) and suggest you buy it locally. No beach towels (unlike other places in Turkey) and they suggest you buy one for 10 lira. There were just two electric outlets in the room, so maybe bring a powerstrip if you have one. The pile of used towels we left in the morning wasn't picked up when the room was cleaned, but we could get more. The shelf in the bathroom was downward slanted and couldn't really hold anything, which is very inconvenient given the overall tight space. The standing shower is sort of designed to get the toilet wet to fit in the space, just don't leave your phone charging in the bathroom as you shower! IMO there are probably places to stay that do better on the amenities. I mean no shampoo? Really? Staff were nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarasMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kemalg, Manager at Hotel Gulec, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive comments.
Firstly, at first view, we remember that you were so prejudiced that everything seemed negative, bad for you. Your negative comment for the mobile internet definitely proves this. “Turkcell no better, Vodafone bad.”
We want to say you’re absolutely creative to find anything to be unhappy of.
About the tightness of the room, the rate is accordingly reasonable.
The staff who you said was fine, was always at your service to solve the mentioned issues.
The breakfast is proudly served in the tangerine garden in the open air.We don’t prefer to organise an open buffet breakfast concerning hygiene as we told you before. We always ask our guests whether they would like anyhing else. What’s more tea and bread is unlimited.
No, we don’t give any shampoos, but we do provide soaps. If we knew it was so vital, we’d really lend you a bottle of shampoo.
No beach towels provided, because if we do that, towels really become unusable.
As you’re inside all day long, the staff didn’t want to disturb you. You should have called them, though, for the change of the towels, and the downward slanted shelf issue. That’s why your room couldn’t be cleaned completely.
No offense, nobody leaves phones charging in the bathroom,in this world.We’ve never ever heard such a thing. You should have known that the vapour falls down on anything in any bathrooms, such sensitive electronical devices can be damaged because of the wetness.
One of the electric outlets are behind the beds. If you had asked the staff or for an extra one, they wouldn’t hesitate to help you.
Shower curtains are used for not to get everywhere wet.
We hope our explanations meet your demands.
Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Each year I return (this is my 7th), I fall more in love with the dear Gulec family and staff. This time six others (family and friends) joined me and all give "two thumbs up" for a wonderful experience. Our plane arrived in Bodrum hours late and by the time we reached the hotel it was way past midnight. As soon as he heard the taxi door slam, Mehmet was outside to greet us. With our morning coffee and tea, Mr. and Mrs. Gulec extended their charming greetings in the magnificent garden. I am already making plans to return next June!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthroteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
#4 of 97 in Bodrum City
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#45 of 97 in Bodrum City
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#37 of 97 in Bodrum City
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kavala Studios Hotel
Kavala Studios Hotel
#55 of 97 in Bodrum City
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bodrum City
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulec

Address: Uckuyular St. No:22, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range: £20 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gulec 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"This charming retreat offers 20 comfortable rooms (40 beds) to those who find delight in the sound of birds chirping in tangerine trees, an atmosphere that is not available in any other centrally located establishment. Each room has a shower/WC and air conditioning with continuous hot water. A breakfast room and a bar, enfolded in greenery, are intimately inviting, as is the TV lounge for your enjoyment. Open between April and November." Quoted from Bodrum Hotel Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gulec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing