We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gulec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gulec
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pretty Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went to Bodrum and spent 3 nights at Hotel Gulec. It's nice garden made it very pleasant. It's a nice and peaceful hotel, but it's a bit noisey! We could easily follow the conversations in the room next door and other people checking in at the reception desk.
None the less we had a great stay. The hotel is just 3 minute walk from the beach and bar street, but still easy and relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaap B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    114
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
131
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Gulec. Nice staff and very helpful (we wanted to stay a second night but they were booked so they helped us find another place), the room was clean, the sheets were clean (seems basic but not always the case when you are backpacking on a budget!), the bathroom was clean, and the beds were pretty comfy. Convenient location, wish we could have stayed a second night.

Room Tip: Our room in the second building, was the first room in the hall and sometimes got noisy/echoey from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed only one night at the Hotel Gulec, a little oasis situated in the heart of the city, tucked away but in a very convenient location (literally only two minutes walk from the beach). Whilst the rooms are very basic, they are clean and comfortable. What makes this hotel stand out has got to be the staff. They are so very friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The small breakfast area in the courtyard outside is lovely area to enjoy your Turkish breakfast, a pleasant way to start the day. Recommeded!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A travel agent found Hotel Gulec for us and couldn't have done better. It's located very conveniently, and yet is away from the noisy parts. and there are multiple outdoor seating areas in its lovely garden. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are clean and comfortable and the walls are THICK. The best part of Hotel Gulec is the staff, who are extremely friendly and helpful. Despite a mix-up with our reservation that was not their fault, they accommodated our needs and found us a room at 4:00am. They also helped us park an un-park our car on the narrow Bodrum streets. You should stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second floor where you can see the city and the gardens better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I searched, before we went on holiday, for a quiet hotel in central Bodrum because we had been informed that Bar Street hotels could be quite noisy well into the night. Trip Advisor reviews showed Hotel Gulec as the place to choose, so we did. The hotel lived up to our hopes and expectations . The staff were excellent, the rooms, though small and pretty bare, had all the essentials for our needs and were very clean and properly serviced.. Breakfast in the garden, eating some of the produce of the garden, was a pleasure.
The English speaking staff would advise you of where to eat and how to get about in this historic town. When it came to visiting the historic sites an average walker could get around to all the main sites in an afternoon walk. You would obviously take longer depending on how much time you spent at each site. We like the feel of the Mausoleum site although it is only the remains of the base of the structure which now remains. The video show and various models helped a great deal to appreciate what it must have looked like in its heyday.
St Peter's Castle, another of the great sites of the town, which in ancient times was called Halicarnassus, is minutes away from Hotel Gulec. In this castle you may see the remains of the great Mausoleum built into the walls of the castle, they even ground down some of the marble statues to powder to make cement. These people were, unfortunately, the Christian crusaders who captured the city and took the earthquake damaged building . A couple of hundred years later we returned and took the best of the marble statues and decorative work and sent it to the British Museum. Still! It kept it in good nick, I suppose!
All in all I would recommend a visit to Bodrum and if you do, and want to keep costs down, choose the Hotel Gulec. If I ever go there again that is what I would most certainly do.
David

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor on the entrance to the hotel, as we did, I think you will find it OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The Gulec is a small family-run hotel on a quiet side street in an excellent central location. It's outstanding features are the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff, most of whom speak good English, and the beautiful garden where breakfast is served. The rooms are simple and the beds very comfortable - as long as you don't expect a very soft bed!
We asked for restaurant recommendations and had 3 very good meals out.
We would certainly return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lizsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This year is my third visit to the Gulec Hotel. A city centre location with blue flag rated beach, harbour, castle, markets, shops, restaurants, laundry and hammerman baths all close by. The hotel is a destination in it's self, clean simple Turkish style rooms surrounding an enclosed tranquil garden. The Family and staff charming, friendly and helpfully. Historic Bodrum town is a fabulous place to visit and the Gulec Hotel is a delightful green oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.9 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#22 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#41 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asmin Hotel
Asmin Hotel
#17 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Su Hotel
Su Hotel
#27 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#28 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
#13 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulec

Property: Hotel Gulec
Address: Uckuyular St. No:22, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gulec 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"This charming retreat offers 20 comfortable rooms (40 beds) to those who find delight in the sound of birds chirping in tangerine trees, an atmosphere that is not available in any other centrally located establishment. Each room has a shower/WC and air conditioning with continuous hot water. A breakfast room and a bar, enfolded in greenery, are intimately inviting, as is the TV lounge for your enjoyment. Open between April and November." Quoted from Bodrum Hotel Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gulec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing