We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly oasis in a busy town”
Review of Hotel Gulec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gulec
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly oasis in a busy town”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed for two night having booked it through Easyjet for the two days prior to moving to a Villa in Torba. We had booked a family room that turned out to be a large room with two extra beds, a bit cramped but very clean and OK for two nights.
We arrived late but the welcome was in english and very friendly. A map was provided without request. We were given a business card and told to ring if we got into trouble.The room was air conditioned and en-suite. Cold soft drinks and water were always available and the prices were the same as the local shops. Breakfast was traditionally Turkish .
The swimming pool in an adjacent hotel is available for a charge.
The garden was a cool haven during the heat of the day and the local cafe delivers sandwiches on request.. The propriotor requested a transfer taxi for our use and also dealt with payments for the taxi along with a Turkish receipt. The Hotel takes cards and accept both Euro or TL.
Great for a budget hotel. All staff are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panorama_elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    116
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
53
133
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were quite impressed about service, rooms and friendliness of staff. The hotel is located just about 5 minutes from beach and town. Being in the center it is amazingly quiet and it almost feels like you are staying somewhere in the country side. You can't beat the price for this hotel and you will enjoy
the local hospitality- by the way, they serve a great fresh and healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kola465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This hotel was a terrific value & we could not have been more pleased with our stay. The owners/staff are incredibly friendly & helpful. The room is very basic - no TV, no phone, no radio/clock - but the bathroom looked like it had been recently remodeled & everything was very clean. You could also open the windows, which provided a nice breeze, but the room also had good a/c. (Bodrum is hot during the day, but it did cool off nicely at night!) The walls of the rooms are thin, though, so if you are trying to cool off during the heat of the day by returning to your room to take a nap, you might need earplugs - you can easily hear the staff around the courtyard & cleaning other rooms nearby. The breakfast served in the courtyard each morning was simple but delicious! And they serve until 11am, which is great if you want to sleep in after a night on the town. The location of the hotel is also perfect - you can easily walk to the shoreline where all of the restaurants, shops, & bars are located. Bodrum is a beautiful, vibrant town & this hotel provides a nice, family-oriented feel to come "home" to after a day - or night - out! I would definitely recommended it to anyone looking for friendliness & comfort without breaking the bank. If we ever return to Bodrum, which I hope we do, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Although this hotel is basic (prices reflect) it is still charming. Helpful staff, lovely breakfast, beautiful garden and amazing location. Once thing which I felt slightly let it down though were the bedrooms. If they paid a little more attention to them this hotel would be amazing. Please don't let this put you off though, once you get over the initial shock you will be glad you booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandlNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

A real oasis in the heart of Bodrum. Beautiful fragrant garden for leisurely breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners - they arranged hammam for us and recommended and booked excellent restaurants. Rooms basic, clean and with air con. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

After disaster with taxi driver taking us to Hotel Gulet! we finally arrived later than expected but had a hospitable welcome. The room was clean and practical, great powerful shower, lots of hot water. Nice 'turkish breakfast' in the courtyard, though we arrived in an unseasonally cold snap so it was a bit chilly eating outside, and it was cold at night, we could have done with some blankets. Was nice and easy to get out and about in Bodrum on foot from the hotel. Good budget stopover for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed there for a night, price was 60 YTL for a double standard room per night, which was ok apart from the fact that we had booked in EUR.

Room was small, bath room too, at least hot water was available. It was very noisy although we had asked beforehand for a quiet room.

Its location is good, you can walk there from the main bus station and the harbour is also very close.

Service was questionable, the hotel manager promised to take our luggage to our room, which wasn´t ready when we arrived, but we should´ve declined his offer, because it got probably bumped on every single step and this caused one of the well stowed liquids to explode, you could see and feel the liquid from the outside even, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed_amiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.3 mi away
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bodrum City
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#44 of 97 in Bodrum City
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bodrum City
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#35 of 97 in Bodrum City
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#24 of 97 in Bodrum City
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulec

Property: Hotel Gulec
Address: Uckuyular St. No:22, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gulec 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"This charming retreat offers 20 comfortable rooms (40 beds) to those who find delight in the sound of birds chirping in tangerine trees, an atmosphere that is not available in any other centrally located establishment. Each room has a shower/WC and air conditioning with continuous hot water. A breakfast room and a bar, enfolded in greenery, are intimately inviting, as is the TV lounge for your enjoyment. Open between April and November." Quoted from Bodrum Hotel Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gulec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing