We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of Azka Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azka Otel
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A first class hotel with good facilities. The room was a good size and very luxurious, with a balcony looking over the end of the bay. The food is excellent and the view from the restaurant terrace is fabulous. The hotel has a great little beach too.
Booking early I got a very good price for half board.

Its about a 15 minute walk to the Marina and about a further 15 minutes to Bodrum Castle. The Dolmus, ( Bardakci No.1), stops at the top of the hill, (a steep 250 metres), on the far side of the road, it does a one way circuit, it about 20 minutes to the Otogar depending on the traffic.
Would recommend the bays around Mazikoy to the east of Bodrum. also the Carian Way trail passes through Bodrum and its possible to do a few day hikes on parts of it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank R0B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    216
    96
    65
    64
See reviews for
163
252
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We went as a group of six in August and had a great time. Lovely reception staff, really helpful.
Our room had been upgraded for free and we had the luxurious suite which was fabulous - lounge area, two TVs, king size bed, patio with table and chairs, private access to pool and bar!!
There is a great gym there with lots of equipment (but no A/C so very hot!). There is also an indoor pool which we didn't use. Some of us had a Turkish bath and massage which was great. Would have liked more time in the hot room to relax but the scrub down and massage were so relaxing, and the people were lovely.
The swimming pool area was nice, lots of comfy beds all around and they were still free after breakfast (so no need to reserve the bed at some ridiculous time in the morning!).
We didn't use the beach area, it looked a little crowded down there and we were happy by the pool. Not many children which was nice as we were a group of adults.
The bar area was a bit quiet, even 'happy hour' wasn't that exciting but we still had a beer or two in the afternoon.
The dinner and breakfast service was good, a nice variety of meals and options. Great to have some traditional Turkish food as well as a mix of western food but not too much. The honey at breakfast was amazing, as was the baklava at dinner!!
The drinks were a little more expensive than our last trip to Turkey but that appeared to be the case everywhere. 12TL for a pint, 40TL for a bottle of wine, 15TL for spirit and mixer.
There is a great taxi boat into Bodrum mariner for 6TL (one way) which drops you off by the castle. A lovely trip over and great to explore the market areas there.
There is a bar open till late at the end of the beach which was nice to relax on the large sun beds in the evening.
We walked into Gumbet for a night out, took 20mins max and is pretty straight forward. I wouldn't bother eating there but to have a dance and a few drinks it was fine. I know a lot of reviews say the hill outside is really bad - it's not. Those people are clearly very unfit!!
There is a little shop up the hill opposite the hotel where you can get some drinks and snacks - a little bit cheaper than the hotel, but be careful bringing it back into hotel. Hide it in your bag otherwise you can't go past security with it. Drinks and snacks were a lot cheaper in Bodrum and there is no security coming back up from the beach.
We opted for a boat ride on the last day. We booked it in Bodrum on the mariner and it was A LOT cheaper than in the hotel. We had a day trip (exc. drinks) for 30TL each and it was great. Nice to cruise around, boat was nice and people again really lovely.
We had a great holiday, suited our needs to relax, enjoy the sun and have a laugh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bish107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just returned after a great week in Azka hotel. I am well traveled stopped in many hotels all over the world i am unable to understand the many negative reviews this is my fourth time stopping in Azka. Yes i agree it's not a 5 star top of the range luxury hotel but its a good hotel for the price you pay.The setting of the hotel especially if you pay for a sea view room is fantastic it overlooks the bay were you see weekly cruise ships. The sea taxi boots are great taking you straight into the hub of Bodrum. I found the staff to be pleasant the room clean and well presented, great bathroom fantastic shower. Food was ok always something to eat. I see it as it all depends what you are looking for if you want to holiday with a load of football top louts and love banging loud music blasting out till the early hours then this hotel is no good for you. I will return either May or September for another value weeks break. Well done Azka keep up the good work.

Room Tip: sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

When we arrived and the room was small we went with a group and all paid the same and every room was inconsistent ., when asking the receptionist they all got there backs up and argued with us then offered us another room which was dirty (to clearly shut us up).
The hotel is not 5 star more like 3.
No entertainment just glum faces wanting to be tipped all the time, I don't mind tipping but when been told to tip for cooking a fried egg I just laughed it off but the grubby cook kept asking for this tip four days after cooking the egg...so I told him to pissoff. Then he left us alone.
The half board buffet looks amazing however eating spring onions with olives cheese and honey for break fast doesn't appeal to me.. So I only eat toast.
The evening buffet was last nights tea put in a blender and used as Pizza toppings.
On the night u have 3 options .
1:boat taxi to bodrum (brilliant)
2:taxi to gumbet (well recommend)
3: walk around the hotel in the dark, while the party boats patrol outside the hotel and keep u awake until 3 am.
Food from the bar costs 3 times more than anywhere else and cans of pop or beer are 5 times more than anywhere else.
Also don't even think of popping to the market at the top of the street to get a bottle of water because the hotel has a one way system where 3 guards feel like it's okay to rummage through your belongings and confiscate any other branded water you have.

We loved the location but the hotel was like a dictatorship , I've been to turkey 4 times before & my advise is goto marmaris!

Room Tip: U don't have a choice if u land a big room well done , if you don't get ready for war becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bodrum City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent nice ten days in Azka Otel. We came back just a few days ago. Beside the incident we had in a restaurant with its manager and some other minor objections, we had a pleasant stay in Bodrum. But the most certainly, Azka Otel, Bodrum is not even remotely near a five star hotel.
Let us describe the incident first. As we came to the hotel we were given a paper with all the hotel facilities described as well as services, rules and times for breakfast and dinner. The written time for dinner was from 7 until 9.30 pm. One evening during our dinner we went to take a dessert, but everything was already taken away even though it was just 9.15 pm. "All right", we thought, "they wanted to go home earlier" and we didn't mind missing our dessert once. At all other occasions we could't really see if they were removing the meals earlier, because we had it at its beginning at 7 o'clock. But one evening we literally run down the hill to get to the dinner on time, returning from out all day long trip, both very hungry and tired. We were happy to see that we will make it at 9.07, but at the time we got there, everything was taken away. We were getting only ignorant answers that the dinner time is until 9 pm and that we must have had it until that time and that the time we got from the reception was wrong. I went to the reception and the guy who works there told me that he will arrange it with his friend who works at the restaurant to give us something to eat, like he was doing us a big favour. I returned there and the rest of hungry people who were left without a dinner, around ten of them, was talking to the restaurant manager (no name tag on his uniform), all complaining that the same situation happened every evening. OBVIOUSLY NOONE IN NEITHER RESTAURANT AND RECEPTION CARED TO COMMUNICATE THAT THEY CHANGED THE TIME AND CORRECT ONE DIGIT ON THE PAPER THEY WERE GIVING TO THE GUESTS.
And than the incident started when I realised that the manager was repeating the same sentence like all others: "the dinner was ended at 9", without saying "I'm sorry" or anything like that. They really didn't care. I raised my voice and said that I paid for the dinnner and that I want to eat, that it is not my fault that the hotel gave us wrong information. At that instance, when he heard me raising my voice he literally snapped and lost control over his behaviour.
HE STARTED TO YELL AT ME AGGRESSIVELY: "DON'T YOU ARGUE WITH ME!!! YOU ARE IN TURKEY, YOU CAME TO TURKEY!!!! ". He was repeating that over and over again while pointing and shaking threatingly a phone he had in his hand towards me, doing the same with the other hand. His eyes were red and all his body was shaking of his aggression and anger like I have never seen before. At one point he even grabbed my wrist. He was totally out of control. After that he was acting as if he was trying to help us all the time, but we dind't realise that. Tomorrow we went to the hotel manager. It is not that she is not really fluent in English, but she barely could say anything in language other than Turkish, but at least she understood us and told us that she was very sorry for what happened.
Other that this incident the hotel is pretty solid.

Turn offs:

- there is no free beach chair after 9-10 am
- the breakfast is very repeatitive and boring
- the big discotheque Halikarnas, though in Bodrum downtown, can be heard in Azka Otel during the night
- a nearby hotel has an open discotheque that is very loud too, but they at least close at midnight or soon after
- no employee in the hotel is fluent in English and there is just a few of them who can say and understand more that perhaps 10 phrases. Those few work at the reception desk.
- the blankets are very damaged and old
- air conditioning is loud and if you keep it turned on during nights it is cold, if you turn it off it is too warm (we know how to use the device, we have the same at home!!!)
- other guests were very loud on the hallways during the nights.

Positive things:

- food served for dinner is interesting and plenty of options for vegetarians.
- beach is beautiful and clean, it has blue flag.
- the sea is nice to swim in
- even though the hotel is outdated and need refreshing, it's still really nice
- everything is clean
- it is near Bodrum downtown, you can get by boat there in 5 minutes for 6 lira (2.5 lira is 1 euro)
- Bodrum is really beautiful, especially the castle built by crusaders

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrich, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've stayed in Azka for 7 night. Nice and quite hotel. Cleaning my room and changing the towels every day just for a 1 $ tip(which is 2 turkish lyra). Bodrum is a great resort, full of life and things to do. We were going to the center every night with a water taxi - a very nice way to get there.
Overall - a good low end 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Book room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VO_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Azka for a night last week returning from Kos. We reserved this hotel off Hotwire which advertised it as a 5 star hotel. This is a big resort which has nothing special but a good view of the bay and boat traffic to the port. For the price, we will never book this hotel again. It was clean and quiet but nothing special. The included breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#25 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#16 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azka Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azka Otel

Property: Azka Otel
Address: Bardakci Bay | Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#11 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Azka Otel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Azka Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azka Otel Bodrum
Azka Otel Hotel Bodrum
Azka Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing