We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average!”
Review of Hotel Mavi Kumsal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mavi Kumsal
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Bodrum City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Me and a friend stayed at this hotel for a week in June. There were a few issues straight away!

First of all the AC wasn't working and it took them a whole day to sort it out. We were promised a sea view but instead got a view of a wall which was being painted on the first day of our stay, so we had to keep our net and balcony door closed so the work men couldn't see in to our room. Our balcony wasn't actually a balcony more an open space for anybody to walk through! The room itself was cleaned everyday, they were prompt with requests for toilet tissue and towels and the bathroom was a good size.

We were then offered a room a few floors higher where we were promised the AC was fine and we had a proper balcony. Well the view was of trees and nothing else so we declined their offer.

The staff at the reception were unprofessional and at times rude! The staff by the pool and restaurant were much more hospitable. The pool itself was fine, the view was lovely but there was always a cat or a dog roaming around!

Breakfast was a variety of fruits, beverages, meat slices, yoghurts, bread which I enjoyed.

This hotel isn't perfect but it's not as bad as some people say, I guess it's all down to individual experience.

PS our holiday rep ripped us off with prices for the excursions, which we found out by talking to other tourists! Probably better off by booking these things through someone else.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a sea view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaz437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    67
    51
    23
    31
See reviews for
48
78
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braedstrup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at Mavi for two weeks. Hated it from day one. Mostly because of the staff.
I had a major argument with the staff when they refused me to bring in a bottle of water to our room. You are not allowed to buy anything eatable or drinkable anywhere but the hotel and drinks from the minibar are extremely expensive.
Staff is incompetent, non-service minded and only a few of them speaks a little English.
The drain in our shower cabin was blocked and nasty things came from it when we showered. We asked them to fix it – and they tried without success. When we told them that water was only very slowly draining we were told that it was normal.
Only after some pressure from our travel agency they made a second attempt to fix it. Then it worked for a couple of days. When the drainage problem was back we asked them to clean it again but they didn't do anything about it. At that time there were only a few days left of out vacation so we didn't bother to do more about it.
One day we called the restaurant to order tea. Nothing happened so we called again. Still nothing happened. Third time we were told that we didn't have any credit so they could not bring us anything, but we could open a credit at the reception. WHY couldn't they have told us the first time and saved us for an hour of waiting in vain????
Finally when we checked out, we were shocked over the phone bill (which they for some strange reason trusted us with credit). They charged us 20 TL for two attempts to call a local number. Total 0 min. conversation since the phone wasn't answered.
What a contrast to last years vacation in Istanbul where everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAVIHOTEL, Genel Müdür at Hotel Mavi Kumsal, responded to this review, 19 June 2017
Dear Guest
We regret to hear that our service standards did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and please make sure that we will take the necessary actions accordingly. We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Mavi Kumsal.
Kind Regards
Hotel Mavi Kumsal
Bilge Koçhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bodrum City hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just came back from the Mavi Hotel in Bodrum after being extremely worried after stupidly reading the reviews written on the hotel once booked. I feel that these are very unjustified and we experienced none of these problems when staying at the hotel. Our room was basic, however, the hotel does do deluxe rooms as well. Our room was very clean and tidy and there was a maid service every day. We found the staff at the hotel helpful and friendly, especially the staff at the lobby/pool bar. We found the pool area clean and tidy and the pool toilets have to be the cleanest pool toilets I have ever seen. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My partner and I have just returned from Turkey after staying at the Mavi Hotel. The hotel is lovely and very clean, the only down side to this hotel is that you have to pay for everything with a credit card, which means you cant eat at the restaurant or have a drink by the pool, and your not aloud to bring drinks or food in from outside
The closest shop to this hotel is a 10 min boat trip priced at 5tl(turkish lira) per person per trip, or a 20 min walk to either bodrum town or gumbet town. If we had know this we would have proberly not stayed at this hotel or at least taken our credit cards.Otherwise this is a great hotel there is lounging by the beach which leads off the pool area. Would recommend this hotel if you like using your credit card for everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lsexytel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A Big hotel on the side of a Cliff on several levels.
Best Bits.
Sea Taxi form Hotel Jetty to Bodrum marina. 10 lira for 2 people (about £2.80) apprx 10m mins.
Continental Breakfast plenty of food if you like it.
bedrooms very clean we had a good view over the Bay.

bad bits
Staff at reception spoke poor english apart from 1 lady. The others would just disappear if they could not help you and leave you standing there like a lemon.
Large swimming pool however there is no shallow end so not suitable for kids and non swimmers.

Evening food selection poor and not warm enough, very bland taste-less.
the hotel private beach is about the size of a badmington court. it is shingle and rocky not sandy so you cannot run into the sea you would break you ankles.
there is no evening entertainment as stated when we booked.

BODRUM
Fantastic - Massive bazzare great at night, restaurants galore, good reasonably priced food. Hundreds of boats and boats trips.
The castle great half day out only cost 20 lira. The Ampitheatre on the hill next to the main road is closed but worth the walk to see it, the measolleum again good the Mydoss gate all good.
We did cataraman trip to Coz, well worth it, but better to go by boat. Only cost 15 lira.
The Market on a tues is great got adidas trainers for inder £15.00.

Room Tip: Bodrum is a fantastic resort with great bizzarre and restaurants. There are no sandy beaches. Watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHolidayer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I booked 3 nights in April 2012 and I could not sleep because of the smell of the rooms and the hotel. Everything was very dirty. I escaped next morning. One of the most beautiful cove in Bodrum was just wasted because of this hotel. They immediately need to close and completely demolish (I don't think renovation will save this hotel.) and a built a nice property on this blue water. It is a shame to have hotels like this in Bodrum.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balikadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAVIHOTEL, Genel Müdür at Hotel Mavi Kumsal, responded to this review, 19 June 2017
Dear Guest,
We regret to hear that our service standards did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and please make sure that we will take the necessary actions accordingly. We hope to welcome here in near future.
Kind Regards
Hotel Mavi Kumsal
Bilge Koçhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I got back from this hotel some days ago. I had good and bad experiences.
The bad experience was the behaviour of the staff at the reception. They were rather arrogant, not helpful, and one day I was treated like a criminal when I had two bottles of water in my bag from the city and not from the pool bar since I had not read the warning notice on the front door. What if I cannot speak English?
When some English people arrived at the hotel to visit their friend the receptionist told them not to swim in the pool. They found it ridiculous.
But I have to remark that I asked a very quiet room for the receptionist, and she gave me a right one. The view from my room was nothing but the rock, but it was perfect to sleep at night.
The rest of the staff was very polite and helpful even we could not talk as very few of them can speak English.
The selection and the quality of the food was satisfactory for me and the waiters were really helpful and they did their best to well provide the customers. At breakfast and dinner time cats and kittens came to the dining terrace to beg food, but I did not mind them. I love cute cats so fed them.
The room with a large bathroom was spacious enough to place everything. It was clean and the cleaner woman did her best to make me satisfied. Thanks for her.
The pool and the terrace was spotlessly clean and the view to the Aegean sea and the hills is fantastic.
There is an access to the shallow sandy beach but most of the time the gate was open and we had to walk to the beach through a dirty area. Swimming in the sea is something really lovely.
The location of the hotel is excellent. The Marina can be reached in five minutes by the water taxi or you can go by bus or if you are fit enough you can walk which takes you 20 minutes to get to the centre which is wonderful. And there is an easy reach of everything from the centre.
Walking to the other direction there is Gümbet where you can have a great time on the beach or in the bar street at night.
It is worth visiting Kos Island by ferry.
All in all, Bodrum is a wonderful town with nice and friendly people, so I will definitely go back again, perhaps to this hotel. In spite of the few negative things most of the time I enjoyed my stay there and it was a pleasant and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left are quieter than on the right because of the loud music from the other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.1 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#21 of 96 in Bodrum City
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
0.9 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#9 of 96 in Bodrum City
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diamond of Bodrum
Diamond of Bodrum
#33 of 96 in Bodrum City
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Vista Bodrum
Marina Vista Bodrum
#18 of 96 in Bodrum City
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 96 in Bodrum City
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mavi Kumsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mavi Kumsal

Property: Hotel Mavi Kumsal
Address: Bardakci Koyu No: 29, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mavi Kumsal 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mavi Kumsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavi Kumsal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing