We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fantastic pool, so-so rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toloman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toloman Hotel
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic pool, so-so rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

First off, would I stay here again? Probably but the owners could do better. The rooms are small and OK there's probably not a lot they can do about this but even the most hotel room should have tea making equipment. Fantastic pool, quiet and you could always get a bed (NB - we went outside of school holidays) and the location, right on the sea-front is superb.

Some brilliant restaurants in Bitez so I would echo the advice to go B&B,

Finally, make sure you book yourself on Ahmet's boat as soon as you get there. It fills up quickly.

Finally, some issues around the rooms but nothing that would spoil your holiday and probably the pool makes up for it so dont worry if you've booked to go there. Just take a travel kettle! :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwilliams58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    32
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

First time in Bitez and first time at the Toloman. Rooms basic but kept very clean by the very hard working maid. Ours overlooked the pool and was fine for us, I hear some rooms in the main building are quite small though. Only thing I would do different would be to bring a travel kettle for that early cup of tea!

Perfect location right on the beach and surrounded by bars and places to eat, Bitez is a laid back resort and not for clubbers, so the central location was at no time an issue. Some music from the hotel next door at night, as others have mentioned but did not bother us.

We went half board but would go bed and breakfast next time (2012!) The breakfast was a buffet style with fruit, hard boiled eggs, meat, bread and cake etc. The food was good at night but as commented in an earlier review the first couple of nights we ate there we felt like 3rd class citizens behind the 'paying' diners who came to eat and the groups of Turkish half boarders. This improved towards the end of the week but with so many great local restaurants to try would not bother with half board again.

We had our best meal in The Almera, 5 mins walk along the front, sea bass was superb and the prices much better than the Eurozone resorts. Large beers were 6 TL along the front (£2.20) and we went on the TA recommended boat trip run by Liz and Ahmet, 7 hours on the lovely boat, 5 bays visited, snorkeling gear provided, lunch at dinner time and fruit late afternoon and all for £16, unbelievable value.

Loved Bitez and will definitely go back again, probably to the Toloman.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaska123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and myself stayed here for 2 weeks this August/September and I can honestly say it has been the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday I have had. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. The location could not be better, right on the sea front, so the veiw was to die for. As other people have said, yes the rooms are basic, but are very clean and we could not have asked for anything more. We ate here on a number of occassions and we were not disappointed on the food or service on offer. We would like to say a big hello to Osman and Ulas who work behind the bar and good luck to Osman on his computer course, what a great pair of lads. We would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Will deffinitley be looking at going back to this hotel in future years.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 491ChrisDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family stayed here earlier this month, we had a fantastic holiday and love Bitez.
This is our 3rd time staying in Bitez, we stayed at the Toloman in September about 3 years ago and stayed at the Hotel Okaliptus next door last year. The Hotel is basic, the rooms are small and do need updating but they are always spotlessly clean. The maid who cleaned our room was so lovely and always tucked in our daughters teddy into her bed everyday for her !! The beach directly outside the Hotel is well maintained by the Hotel's staff, as is the pool area. Even though we travelled during the busiest month we always found sunbeds on the beach and by the pool.
I think this is a great little Hotel, you couldn't ask for a nicer or more convenient location. The Dolmus stops on the road behind the Hotel about every 5-10 mins and goes into Bodrum, from there you can get other buses to the rest of the Bodrum area. The Dolmus is a cheap way of travelling, the taxi fares seem to be increasing a lot every year and is now quite expensive. In Bitez itself there are a few little shops selling the usual fakes and locally made souvenirs. There are some lovely restaurants and bars. The ones on the front are a lot more expensive than the back streets behind the Hotels but the views are amazing. Our favourite was the Blue Moon which is behind the Okaliptus and Toloman Hotel, lovely food and really nice genuine staff. I have a few little issues with the Toloman this year. I felt that some evenings in the restaurant ( we were half board) we were treated less favourably than those who had walked in off the street to eat. They were served quicker and sometimes we were having to wait too long between courses and having to ask several times for things. We had wrong food orders several times, missing starters on 3 occasions and no dessert at all on 2 evenings !! A few evenings when it was busy we were sat at our table for 2 hours as the time waiting for food orders to be taken and food arriving was so long. Also, having some meals brought out and having to wait 20 minutes for other peoples food to be served at the same table isn't good enough really, this happened quite a lot. So for that reason we would not choose the Half Board option again. Although, I do have to say the actual food was lovely and there was a lot to choose from. The only other thing is during August ( this also happened when we were staying at the Hotel next door last year) was there was lots of Turkish children running around the Hotel and causing havoc and being a bit of a nuisance in the pool. Their parents are never anywhere to be seen though so Im not sure if they are guests on holiday, local children using the pool or if they are children of the staff ?!
Last year we stayed at the Okaliptus next door to the Toloman...although the rooms are very nice there, I would never stay there again. The staff are rude and very pushy making you feel obliged to buy drinks when sat by the pool or on the beach and their drinks are very expensive. The half board at the Okaliptus is pretty dire, the food was lacking in quantity and quality and does not appeal to fussy children. Also, the Okaliptus has music blaring out most of the day and night which unfortunately can be heard from the rooms on the side of the Toloman, for this reason it maybe better to ask for a room around the back of the Hotel near the pool. But at night the noise of the air con does drown out the noise from next door.
The Toloman's beds are really comfy and have lovely pillows and the maid will happily give you extra ones if you ask. I slept really well every night !
Lastly, the charge for air con...I wasn't expecting to be charged £4 per night per room, we had 3 rooms booked so that was a big extra expense. I think £4 per night is a little steep considering the electricity in Turkey is so cheap !! Really, considering the temperatures in August, air con is a necessity, it is impossible to sleep without it and it would have been better to have included it in the price of the accomodation when booking it.
All in all though we had a lovely, chilled out holiday, I love Bitez, it is our favourite place we have visited and it is a resort that will suit all tastes and ages.
I would especially recommend this Hotel and resort during the quieter months for a week or 2 of total chill out !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Resort is fabulous for couples and families with young children, location couldnt be better. Right in the centre directly on the beach front with no roads or cars to worry about. The cleaning staff didnt stop and our tiny room 216 was cleaned every day with fresh towels. The sunbeds, seats and beanbags on the beach were all free and we always found a place. The bar staff don't pester you for drinks at all which sometimes this was a problem when we wanted something as we could never catch their eye, they could do with being more attentive. Breakfast was fresh and served until 10:30.
Their are plenty of wonderful restaurants in Bitez to choose from all pretty much the same great standard, didnt like the pestering they do to get you inside.
One week was plenty for us and we will certainly return again to the Toloman and probably book direct and not with Thomson whose rep never came to the hotel once.
Dont be put off by the two stars, I've stayed in worse four star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash-Whistleblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Toloman first two weeks in September last year. We went with friends who had stayed there 4 years ago and told us how nice a hotel it was and how wonderful the resort of Bitez was.

We were not disappointed with the resort, just a few minor hicups with the hotel. Our first room was on the ground floor and very tiny and the balcony was behind a very large tree so no sun at all and rather dark. We asked to be moved upstairs, which they did, but had to wait for three days for change over. Thank goodness we were there for two weeks..

Although rooms were small they were clean and adequate.

The breakfast is typically Turkish which we found pleantiful, but like other reviewers would have liked to have seen more choice of fresh fruit, orange juice and yoghurt. We had a couple of evening meals at the hotel after long days out and we found these to be of good quality and reasonably priced.

Would recommend Liz and Ahmets Boat trip, really nice and good value for money.

Lots of nice places to eat in Bitez, we liked the Black cat and we also found another one on the back street, near where the Dolumus stop is and the taxi rank. We had some excellent meals there and the owner and staff were great. On our last night they cooked us all a special meal and threw in delicious pancakes for dessert. Its a pity I can't remember the name.

My husband and I are going back to Bitez in four weeks, but this time we are staying in a small apartment block, just off the sea front as we did find it quite difficult sleeping at night due to the 24 hour music from the hotel next door. Having siad all that I think the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Hi,

I have just come back form a week on the beach in Bitez and have had a great time..
The Toloman is a great little 2 start hotel but I would probably class it as a 3...It is right on the beach of Bitez and has a great little (very clean) pool to the rear.
The room was small but OK and we were overlooking the pool which was nice but noises with Children sometimes,,,
The foo is OK to - not the best on the beach - Head to New Season for this.. But definately above average and the staff were especailly friendly and easy to get along with...
I'd recomend this hotel to couples or small familys and definately think Bitez is a wonderful place...For value for money this Hotel was amazing..

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper level near the back or middle... I would go for rooms 212 eaither t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonyTravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
0.2 mi away
Yali Han Hotel
Yali Han Hotel
#10 of 40 in Bitez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Comca Manzara
Hotel Comca Manzara
#31 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel
Dolce Bodrum Hotel
#32 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sah Hotel
Sah Hotel
#16 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toloman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toloman Hotel

Property: Toloman Hotel
Address: Cokertme Cad. Bitez Yalisi No:42 Bodrum, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#16 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Toloman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Toloman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toloman Hotel Bitez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing