We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Alka
Nearby Hotels
Su Hotel(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marmara, Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Vista Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Vino Hotel & Suites(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salmakis Resort Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bodrium Hotel & You SPA(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ersan Exclusive Resort & SPA(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parkim Ayaz Hotel(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forever Club(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
37
30
8
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
30
8
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

visted for the 3rd time on 14 day holiday. And yet again had a great holiday, nearly all the same staff as last 10 years.Most of the rooms have now been upgraded and are fab we had room 304 which had large balcony with pool and sea veiws. Only let down is the the Berlin wall built down middle of the hotel after family dispute

Room Tip: if going email hotel and try for room312 outstanding room and veiws
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we stayed in club Alka in June for 1 week-I am glad we didn't book for longer,the apartments were clean but very dated,and the sofa beds were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept (or tried to) in,
positives- The staff were friendly,
The children loved the pool (there is a small one attached to the main pool for younger children)


Negatives- the music was literally unbearable after about 10pm when every bar in the area cranked up the volume to full blast which went on every night until 3am even then the bars situated further away kept their music playing,
we were placed in a room which (501) which overlooked the street with the bars and we could not sleep at all, my two children aged 9 and 3 finally managed to settle around 2 am,we asked to switch rooms which they finally agreed to after we told them we were going to move hotels, you CANNOT open your windows at night due to the noise and the heat was unbearable because of this,you can pay £5 a day for air con but it is only in the bedroom so made no difference for me and my husband as our children were in the bedroom (it was slightly quieter in there)
the food and drink in the hotel was very expensive compared to everywhere else and you are only allowed to have food and drink from them by the pool!!
there was absolutely no entertainment provided by the hotel apart from a pool table you had to pay 5 lira for and a playstation which cost the same,
the pool closes at 7 and the staff promptly come over and ask everybody to move even the sunbeds are off limits then.
you are literally a 2 minute walk away from the town-the apartments are situated on a steep hill which by the end of the holiday we were very glad to see the back of,the second you enter the shop and restaurant area you will be hounded which became very annoying very fast-the men there all thought they had the right to grab my 3 year old daughter whenever they felt like it- she is extremely shy and it upset her a lot,we ended up getting quite firm with them,as asking the men to leave her alone just wasn't enough,the beach was awful-crammed with sunbeds so the children couldn't play on it at all,the maids were fired as they stole money from several guests,one family filmed them in the act, this area of Turkey is definitely not for families with young children (especially those with young daughters) as there just isn't anything for them to do,and the music is so loud,I would not go back there and would advise anyone with children to consider going somewhere else,

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool although still loud they are quieter then the others
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank char1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our first room was not what we expected, so complained instantly. The gentleman was very sorry and said he would talk to his boss in the morning as it was 3am on arrival. The next day we also explained this to our rep. We ended up only spending 2 nights in this room. Attached are pictures of the view from our next balcony, Room 409. The room was lovely, views of Gumbet beach and the Aegean Sea, wonderful.
The firendly staff and management accommodated us wonderfully on our stay. Anything that was asked of them, they carried out in a rapid and friendly manner.
The pool was a reasonable size, which also looked out onto the sea. I would say Club Alka is situated in a near perfect spot.
With a mixture of young people and families, young and middle aged couples staying at Club Alka, the hotel accomodates for everybody.
We didn't try the food but were told that it was of a good standard by other guests.
The hotel is up a steep hill, if you're at the top it takes 10 seconds to get to, at the bottom, 20 seconds max. You may see bad things said about this hill, it's fine as long as you're fine with either walking upwards or downwards upon a hill.
The hotel is situated a road away from the near start of Gumbet strip, so it can get quite loud at night, it was fine for us as we are ages of 21 and 20. It is also only a 7-8 minute walk way from Gumbet beach, which is all sunbeds, so you do have to spend a little bit to be there. The employees of Hotel Baba down there do not hassle too much so we continued to sit on their loungers. There is also great watersports for reasonable prices, as well as ice cream and corn on the cob!
On our last evening, coming in from the beach, we came into the petals on the bed, attached. Really topped off the holiday.
Hope this review of Club Alka and the nearby amenities was helpful, if not please let me know how I can make my reviews better. Thanks!
P.s. Try out Turgetreis or go a bit further to Akhyalar beaches, they are about a 40 min/hour drive from Gumbet, very nice aswell. The Dedeman waterpark is excellent, don't be fooled by the rubbish website.
Make sure you also see Bodrum Castle, the Amphitheater and the Myndos Gate, but mainly the Castle, as its down in Bodrum harbour which is beautiful. For traditional Turkish eateries the restaurants Zosu and Koftchsesi, a little walk further down the harbour are very nice. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Aegean Sea. Room 409 was excellent.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Myself and my family (hubby and 2 children aged 6 and 7) stayed here June 2013 for 2 weeks. The best thing for me to do is list the pros and then the cons.

pro's

Lovely staff and very friendly
Family run hotel
About 5-10 minute walk to the beach
One street away from the town
Clean and tidy around the pool
Daily maid service
free wifi
maids left a lovely rose filled bed for us one day

con's

The apartments are very dated (leaking shower, old decor etc).
Death hill is a killer if you have just had your meal (can walk around to a lesser hill that is fine)
The music is loud through the night (bearable though).
It costs £5 per day for air conditioning (which is a must as music too loud to open windows).
You are only allowed to drink and eat the food bought from the hotel itself at the poolside (and this is very expensive.. 2 soft drinks and 2 lolly's was about 16 lira or £5.50).
Beer and food is also expensive there (15 lira (£5) for a breakfast or 6 lira down the road.. 9 lira (£3) for a tiny beer or 3-4 lira down the road).
Apart from the pool there is nothing for kids to do (unless you pay 5 lira to play pool and another 5 lira to use the play station)
There is one rep that comes to see how you are - but no games are played/no activities etc (which is what we had last year while self catering elsewhere).

During our stay two maids were sacked as they were caught on camera rummaging through a guests bag while cleaning her room -

The pool is half of what the pictures show on here - but this is fine as there were never many people at the pool side - be careful with the larger one - the steps going down are very steep and you are up to your neck on the third step.

The area

The town is nice but the people trying to get you to buy can be rude - I found myself being rude just to get down the road without being pulled in to buy something
The men sometimes got a bit too friendly with my daughter who is 6 - I know they were just being nice (mainly to get us to spend more) but it was very unnerving for us - we had to leave restaurants and bars as this made us uncomfortable.
The beach is OK but it is literally full of beds - although free this is not a good thing as we felt like sardines - it was not for children to play and build castles but for people wanting to tan all day I would say.

The water park is good but not amazing (baring in mind we had small children so I cannot comment on the larger slides) - the wave pool is terrible - the children's part is for young babies and is cold and there is a hot tub that was freezing - there was one pool that was nice to sit by but a waste seen as we had one in our own hotel.

I would suggest you pay for your excursions outside of Thompson/first choice (we went to Margaret's) as you pay a fraction of the price.. we did the boat and five islands and the trip to Kos..Both were great and a lovely day out.

This may seem like a negative review but really it is just a honest account - we did enjoy this holiday very much - but the rules in the hotel (i.e. only eat and drink at pool if you buy from them) and the outdated rooms mean we will not return to this particular hotel but maybe the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Returned on19/7 a week at alka was very relaxing, few minor issues were quickly resolved staff are friendly and attentive. I was expecting to climb mount Everest after reading the reviews, but honestly only the seriously unfit or infirm would struggle to reach the appartments from what is only a few mins walk from all the bars shops and eateries.

The weather was extremely hot over 40degrees most days so paying the small fee for air con is a must! The Aquapark was great fun. Loads of water sports on the beach.

If you have never been to gumbet before I must say the immediate bars and Restaurants were pricey - on a par with home, the further you go out the cheaper it becomes. Best meal of the week was at Angel which is right on the beach at the end perfect breeze off the sea and don't forget to feed the fish. Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeedsSarahLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews