We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seventh Visit over Six Years -- Painful Review to Share”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum
Ranked #81 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is written as a current American guest who will spend at least four of his nine-week Turkish holiday at l'Ambiance Resort just as he has done in years past.

While l'Ambiance Hotel still has the exceptional ambiance afforded by its' unique location and expansive space it, like many other hotels on the Bodrum peninsula, has won the race to the bottom of the ongoing package holiday fad that began a decade or so after it was built. Win the race but loose the game! The British should keep this in mind...

Always a non-package guest from the United States, I have always emphasized the exceptional value I have found at l'Ambiance even if the price I pay per night is significantly higher than those on package holiday.

Each year I have visited found a decline in the quality of the inclusions of "all-inclusive" but still I stressed the exceptional value.

This year however finds severe problems with what I consider to be normal hotel services for any decent place. Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis--many say that their rooms have not been touched during their week-long holiday. I will not say "filthy" or "dangerously unsanitary" as the common spaces are reasonably clean even if the "public" toilets in the common area reek of very strong bleach and moth balls. The previously crystal clear swimming pool is murky. The desk staff is truly incompetent and does not seem to understand ANY language including Turkish!

The originally high quality (and very firm) mattresses seem to have exceeded their reasonable service life. Hot water is still extremely "iffy".

I will not say, "Cancel the package holiday you have already booked," but I will say that I have great doubts that the hotel will be open next year.

For those still to visit this year I will share some encouragement:

1) The food is abundant, safe, tasty and of decent quality although it is primarily TURKISH and not British (or the ethnic food that many British seem to prefer to their own...). You can thank the general high quality of Turkish produce (and cooks) for the fact that the food is healthy and good tasting.

2) The salon still has exceptional value as the husband-wife team who have leased it for many years remain. While I will say that they have become personal friends in the years I have visited, I will also say that I have patronized salons in many resort-style hotels (most FAR more expensive) throughout Turkey and in my opionion they are the best REGARDLESS of price.

3) The hamam/spa (also separately leased) is the best I have experienced in extremely frequent patronage during the years we have visited.

4) The bar staff is very good this year. As always though, "Take care of your bartender and he will take care of you".

Room Tip: Book privately -- not package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwampeastMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

The first day we came they gave us two single bedroom then my husband Went to the reception and (told them we didnt want two single bedroom why did you lot give it. They said all our rooms are full we will change it tomrrow its been 3 days they still havent changed our room so my husband got angry.the food was discusting service tooooo slow clenning not good at all :"
The staff in the hotel aint friendly enough i would not reccomend the hotel at all instead of 4 * they should say 1 * hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orhanlewisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I went here back in June with my boyfriend. In my opinion, people need to stop moaning so much. When we arrived we were welcomed and our bags were taken to our room. Okay so we got a twin room, but we asked to be moved and go another one immediately. This was a lovely room, and had been decorated recently. Only problem was the light in the bathroom, as I got an electric shock. I did warn the staff, but i'm not sure what was done.

Anyways the staff were lovely and worked extremely hard. Entertainment was okay, not great, but still happened every night. We had a male belly dancer, games and the other nights we ventured out. Food was edible and as long as you mix and match the right things you cant really moan. I know there is not a full english breakfash.... BUT ITS NOT ENGLAND.

The pool was clean and yes some of the sun beds were broken, but just move.

We didnt visit the gym, however went to the spa which was amazing. Honestly the best and cheapest spa experience i have had. I think we paid 140L for two full spa treatments. This was the bath, face mask, and massage. I did see it cheaper, but also more expensive. Look around if you fancy, but would recommend.

Also Recommend the boat trip. For all inclusive we had a great day. All food and drink paid for and got to go on a camel :)

For what we paid, we couldnt complain. Good location, lovely staff, had a pool, food and bed. If you want luxury pay more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I returned yesterday from a seven day family holiday and I implore you not to book this hotel. It is terrible. We arrived at 0130 in the morning to find that they had no rooms available for us although three rooms had been booked and paid for. They expected us to sleep in reception untill the rep arrived in the morning at 0930! After much arguing I managed to obtain two rooms with five beds for six people, oh I forgot to mention
that one of our party was in a wheelchair! It gets better, we then get the two rooms at 0430 and they haven't been cleaned, dirty towels, blood on sheets etc etc. good start to the holiday. We tried to move but couldnt as everywhere busy due to the end of ramadan. The bathrooms are disgusting, toilets not working, stained, showers broken with no hot water or even warm water whatever time of day. The food is a disgrace same crap different day, dirty table cloths,mats,cutlery. Rude and unhelpful staff. Pool never cleaned with chemicals and murky, pool area dirty. In all a nightmare place to go.i have travelled extensively throughout the world and stayed at all ratings of hotels and this alleged four star doesn't even compare to a one star!do yourselves a favour and change your holiday if you have booked this place, I wouldn't want anyone else wasting there hard earned cash on this dump. The hotel is up for sale they are running it into the ground and they don't care. Any positive reviews on here must of been put on by the management. Even the turkish guests staying were appalled by the resort so it wasn't just the Brits complaining. I now need another holiday to get over this one, it truly was that bad. We were fully inclusive however a lot of the items stated were not included, for example no snacks at the pool bar, and no cookies and cakes with coffee in the afternoon. It's all lies. The sheets and towels arent changed at all during your stay, they just don't give a damn about their guests.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendypicton695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are a couple in our forties and we are here at the moment. food is excellent varied and plentiful, yes our room could do with a lick of paint but we didn't pay 5 star prices and it is being cleaned everyday. I am up at seven so I see the pool area being cleaned, it is also cleaned on an evening. location is great for gumbet & bodrum, staff are lovely and very helpful we had a problem with our balcony door not locking on our first night and they moved us no problem. So far so good. We would come back! We will post some photos when we come back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Des2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have never judged a holiday on reviews before but I would urge anyone thinking of staying at this hotel to seriously think again. I am happy with basic but basic and dirty ruined our holiday. The toilet did not flush for a whole week despite the so called maintenance people looking at it. |My own 16 year old son actually fixed his own toilet! We had no clean linen or towels for the whole week. The room was filthy and smelly. The pool area was dirty and never cleaned. Hoses and mops never used. Such a shame as with the right management, cleaners and maintenance staff the hotel could be so much nicer. Broken furniture just chucked behind the wall by the pool. Such an unkept hotel!

Food awful, the same food served at every sitting. breakfast not worth getting up for. Entertainment not bad, but very limited. I am sure there are better hotels in the area and please consider one of these before booking to stay at L'ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just got back from a week at L'Ambience resort Bodrum and after reading the reviews I was quite worried.....
Arrived in the middle of the night. Staff helpful from the minute we arrived meal times etc explained.
Room well deffo not 4 star and a bit dated and could do with upgrade but this hotel I have heard is actually up for sale so current owners not wanting to spend any more on it .....But how much time do you want to spend in your room with lots of great places to visit and such fab weather plus I only want to shower in the shower not eat my lunch in there.
Staff were brilliant friendly approachable nothing was too much for them kids felt safe happy and able to get their own drinks from the bar. Ignore those who say have to queue for drinks this was not the case for us.
Animation team did activities but no pressure to join in if you dont want to.
Food repetative at times but plenty choice with different salads etc. Afternoon snacks burgers chips and spag bol available every day coffe and cake on a tea time.
The location is brilliant walking distance into Gumbet and short taxi ride into Bodrum . Dolmus at the end of the street .
People were all friendly other guests chatting and joining in together if you wanted lovely relaxed atmosphere. I have stayed 5 star in spanish resorts but this to me was far more friendly relaxed and just what I wanted from a holiday . If you dont want to do the getting dressed up every night you really dont need to .
Would deffo go back
traveling 2 adults 2 teenage girls 13 14 and boy 8 cateredd for all brilliant holiday xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.6 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#19 of 98 in Bodrum City
748 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#5 of 98 in Bodrum City
838 reviews
9.4 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#30 of 98 in Bodrum City
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Voyage Bodrum
Voyage Bodrum
#2 of 98 in Bodrum City
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum

Address: Buyuk Iskender Yolu Myndos Kapisi Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ambiance Resort Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Yaliciftlik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing