We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming apart hotel”
Review of Merve Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merve Apartments
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming apart hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Have stayed several times at Merve, and it has been always great!!! Have nothing bad to say about this apartment hotel. Service is very good. Staff is helpful. Rooms are clean. Its near everything. Supermarket is like 50 meters. Food from bar is excellent. Barbeque evening is a must :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanneYanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    14
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I recently (September 2012) went to the Merve Apartments along with my girlfriend.
At first we thought that the bus took us to a kind of sketchy area, but apparently that's how it looks when your not in the centre of the city. But when you walk trough the little entrance, you walk into a little oasis.
With only 15 apartments laying around the pool and the poolbar, it is in very comfortable surroundings you can enjoy a Soda, beer or a light apetizer at the pool.

Also the hotel has a boatrip every saturday as well as a bbq. So there are activities, but the hotel is good for people who aren't attracted by the lively centre with tons of shopping turists.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everybody travelling with a partner or with kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YannikBoserup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed in the Merve Apartments with my Mother on a family holiday in June. First impressions were good, Julia (the owner) greeted us as we got off the coach and promptly showed us to our apartment. The apartment was clean and fairly spacious, a two ringed hob and a few pans were provided and this was adequate for basic cooking (chicken salads, pasta etc). The bathroom was sadly not up to scratch with the rest of the apartment; the shower door kept falling off and hot water was variable (on two mornings we didn’t have any hot water, despite notifying the staff of the issue).

The pool was very clean, as was the bar area. We were provided with a nice wooden table and chair set to sit at which was clean and comfortable.

We found Julia to be friendly overall but often felt left out of the clique. Many guests appeared to be regular visitors and the bar area at night times was very cliquey. This, combined with the high drink and food prices, put us off using the bar. The Merve run a BBQ night which was billed as ‘a chance to get to know everybody’, but this sadly didn’t occur. The BBQ itself was overpriced at 30 lira pp; the majority of the food was salad and the chicken that was served was sparse and tasteless.

The biggest issue we had with the Merve was the array of hidden costs. Air conditioning (which was absolutely necessary) cost £50 for a fortnight, the safe box cost £15 with no money returned, and occupying the room past 11am on the day of departure cost £20. We felt this was very expensive and somewhat misleading, as these costs were not advertised when we booked the apartments.

Overall the apartments provided a solid base for our budget holiday in Bodrum, but beware the extra charges!

Room Tip: Book a 'Garden view' room for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OSCARTHECAT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Merve in June 2012. The staff and management are always available and willing to provide suggestions and advice. Julia in particular makes everyone feel at home and provides a very welcoming feel. Merve has two supermarkets about 50 meters away and is about a 15 minute walk to the main Bodrum ‘scene’. The facilities are good and clean with a lot of guests coming back for repeat visits. The BBQ evening was a feast – we just ate too much! I will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to go in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelbuddy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

It took a while for us to decide to stay in Bodrum as we normaly stay in smaller places like Bitez or Gumusluk but we decided on the Merv as it was a good way from the centre of Bodrum.It turned out to be a good choice.It's about a 15 minute walk to the dolmus station and around 20 minutes walk to the harbour.

It's a group of 20 apartments around a very nice pool with plenty of beds and shades.There is a bar that also sells snacks and most weeks there is a BBQ around the pool.The rooms are spacious and have everything you need for a self catering holiday with 2 small supermarkets just 5 minutes walk away. There are also safe deposit boxes, fans, microwaves and air con to hire at extra cost if you wish to and there is a good library of English books.

There are several restaurants on the way into the centre with the best being Artemis which does great Pide and kebabs. The best restaurant though, probably the best Turkish restaurant we've ever been to, is just around the corner from the Merv and is called the Kondor,recommended by Julia,the owner of the apartments. It's run by a family and there is no menu [always a good sign!] but the lady who runs it will go through the daily fresh meze menu with you.There was stuffed courgette flowers with cheese & dill,borek, baked aubergine,yogurt with samphire and chilli oil and the best fava ever. There are mains too like liver,calamary and fresh fish. This is a must visit place if you are into proper Turkish food.

If you are looking for real peace and quiet but with the bustle of Bodrum within walking distance then I would recommend the Merv.

Room Tip: If you want privacy go for a room with a balcony rather than a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Been staying at the merve for 9 years and it couldnt improve any more. The complex is a perfect size with 20 room which are also perfect size. The rooms have one bedroom with 2 beds, a dressing table wardrobe and air conditioning, the bathroom has a medium size shower toilet and sink, theres a kitchen with a fridge/freezer and facilites to make tea/coffee and theres a plug in hob to make anything you like and cupboards to buy food from the local shop. the living space has 2 comfy couches which also turn into 2 beds for a 4 bedroomed apartment, there is a wardrobe and a dining table alson and fans are avaliable to hire. the rooms are always clean and get cleaned everyday. the pool is a perfect size and the lounges are around are enough for everyone. theres also shaded areas and umberellas for shade. the bar sells cold frereshing soft drinks and also alcholoic beverages and daytime snacks. its in a quiet area with a 5-10 minute walk to shops and restraunt and bars.julia and selcuck are very friendly along with all there staff wouldnt stay in any different hotel but the merve, i would reccomened it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenOrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostfold, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This complex is an excellent choice if you want to relax and stress down, as it has a homely atmosphere and a small number of rooms (15?) The apartments are very clean, and sufficient equipped to boil your eggs and make your coffee. The staff is great, with good sense of humour and very service-minded. You get personal service and recommendations, we especially recommend trying a restaurant nearby called Komodor, for delicious Turkish specialities. It might not be the best choice when travelling with small children, as both the place and the complex seemed more aimed at relaxing than playing. When we stayed at Merve, the guests were raging from 10 to 80 years, and everyone seemed to have a great time. Especially elder people find the place very safe, and they find themselves well taken care of. This was our first time here, but we definetely consider returning.

Room Tip: We had room 15, 2. floor with good view and light conditions, maybe one of the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.7 mi away
LVZZ Hotel Spa
LVZZ Hotel Spa
#27 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
#12 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Best Life Hotel Bodrum Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
#17 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
0.8 mi away
Bodrum Maya Otel
Bodrum Maya Otel
#23 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merve Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merve Apartments

Property: Merve Apartments
Address: Dr. Mumtaz Ataman Cad. Haci Ahmet Sok. No:10 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Merve Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Merve Apartments and you will be within walking distance of all the main attractions, bars, discos, restaurants and shops, yet far enough away to ensure peace quiet and undisturbed sleep. Apartments run bu Julia and Selcuk Gecit, english and turkish owners who designed and built them. Clean, comfortable apartments with a large swimming pool and open air snack bar. Apartments sleep up to 4. Airport transfer available at an extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Merve Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merve Apartments Bodrum
Merve Apartments Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing