We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor bodrum beach club”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodrum City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Litera Altinel Hotel
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ref Number 3710460 Miller /Fowler
I am writing to complain about the above holiday which I have just returned with my Partner. We book 2 holiday per year with your self's
We booked our holiday in 12 September 2012 for 1 week after searching several destinations and eventually settling on the resort of bodrum Beach Club. Looking at the web site the hotel looked very up to date with 2 al cart restaurants fish and Italian which were there but not opened while we where any nights or day . After we checked in we were guided back out the main entrance towards a dark tunnel to the back of what looked like staff accommodation and not part of the main hotel. As we were told that is all the British tourist are put. I was surprise that Thomson would have allowed this to happen as there was very poor lighting within this area and is not the standard of Thomson holiday hotel that we save all year for minim 4/5 Star All Inclusive but what we got was max 2 Star with the dirty room, unhygienic shower room no towels in the room. at 2:15am no water in the room with no seating in our so call cockroach invested balcony that was used as the ash tray from the holiday makers on the upper floor with the cockerel and the ten chicken friends out side the window from 3:20am each morning our concerns about the rating that this so call 4/5 Star . As a result, I called in to the welcome meeting the same morning with out any sleep from our friend’s cockerel the Thomson agents when through the meeting telling us all about this great hotel ,she then asked if anybody have any question so we spoke about the room that we were allocated and Sue told us to give her 24 hours to sort some thing out and went to the main reception to speak to the manager about moving cockerel and the ten chicken which they said they will fix that day but that was not the case we then ask the hotel manager to move us he move us from room 507 to room 502 Which was right out side Mr cockerel and the ten chicken coop , but the room was cleaner and the shower not as dirty this time. On day 1 time for hot lunch no, this was cold then to be told you only get fresh milk at breakfast. If you were lucky nice hot dinner, no this was cold kebab meat cold, pasta uncooked chips Food that are cooked should be 75.c and above. day 2 same all stuff cold foods not hot and the soup had went off had to tell the chef, no water as they were waiting for the deliver to come in .We thought we would just go and get a drink instead, just to find out that the hotel did not have any whiskey, brandy but we could have beer or vodka and it stayed that way the rest of the week. If you wanted out the tunnel area of the hotel you can upgrade for extra cost we were not offered this. day 3 is 3:20am and Mr cockerel is letting us know that he has not been moved, Breakfast lots of salad cheese cold boiled egg cold fried eggs and cereals with no milk same old foods cold under cooked the water has arrived went out for dinner in to another hotel to eat at our own cost. Went to see Sue the next day to see if she could get us extra leg room on the flight home, she took the money and said she would get back to me, 3 days later I went to see her she handed me my money and said no there is no seats, got to the airport and there was extra leg room. Day 4. Give the hotel one more chance but still the same cold food this is the last time we eat some other place each day at our cost this so call all inclusive 4 star hotel is now costing up money when we have to travel out each day .
P.S this not what we expected form Thomson Holidays we will be taken this up with ABTA

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived late at night and were offered breakfast which was lovely (Continental) and a bell boy took our bags to our amazing Sea and Pool view rooms. However we later found out that Thomson own the apartments that are outside the Complex under a bypass and were so glad we booked these rooms! We spoke to the minority of British guests and if they didn't book sea view they were put here - they were very unhappy and advised us that they were forgotten about up here, rooms not being cleaned until 6pm etc with no pool out here. The rating is 4* (or 5* in Turkey) however the bathroom/toilet were not clean, the toilet water brown and the bath stained - the Standards were not 4*.

The next day we were greeted with 'Bonjour' and we soon realised that this was a French hotel, not that I am in any way against this, however Thomson should have advised and should certainly not be selling this to British customers. The staff, animation team and 80% of the guests all spoke French, we had no translation, no animation, the amphitheatre at night for entertainment was all in French too. Very disappointing especially for families with Kids.

If you like your typical home from home food then this is also not for you, we love our Mediterrean/Continental food, so don't expect a full breakfast you will need to go out of the complex to Bodrum Town for this. The Dolmus picks you up outside the complex and is very cheap.

The staff were very nice and they did have an English speaking receptionist on most times, but the lack of English speaking entertainers made you feel left out. It was also very hard to order drinks as the staff spoke French and didn't understand much English. Not by any means wrong but was quite frustrating sometimes. Not much to do at night as nothing for English speaking guests ;0(

The beach and water is very rocky so bring swim shoes as its dangerous and slippy. The waves later on in the day can also be fierce so beware if not a strong swimmer. The slides were a great addition!

The games room was pretty poor. The reception looks amazing, but the cleanliness of the toilets here and around the pool were awful! We went to a 3* as a last minute last Christmas and they were constantly cleaning and the toilets spotless. The Hammam was ok not as good as other ones we've been too.

The pier was lovely to lie on with the comfy beds, a sign advises no towels to be out before 8am, but no-one seems to take any notice so get up early for a good spot - the pool is very noisy, good if you like that sort of thing, but again all in French.

The weather was amazing please bring a higher factor than usual and drink plenty of water - 2ltr bottles available at the bars.

The snacks during the day were not enough to cater for everyone, if you weren't quick, the afternoon coffee break cakes etc were gone in two minutes and were poor anyway. Burgers, chicken, pizza, spag bol and salads as well as ice cream, crepes and waffles available in between lunch and dinner. Breakfast was mostly continental (meat, cheese, salad olives), however eggs, pancakes, omelettes etc on alternate days with bread, toastie maker, and some French sausage etc they do not serve bacon in Turkish hotels so don't expect this or English sausages, as said before you can order this in most pubs/restaurants outside the complex which we did one day. The wine, beer and spirits were fine and better than other all inclusive i have been to.

Lunch was mostly pasta, salad, fish, meat and Dinner was nice most nights with themed Chinese, Italian, Turkish nights - something for everyone, as well as fresh fruit and lovely desserts.

Their was a market one night which I advise you not to go to if you are not good at 'haggling' as they are fierce so you need to be very blunt with them or you will be talked into buying things you dont want or pay too much! Go into Bodrum but again watch out, go down some side streets to find some better shops and only pay what you can afford, don't believe that these are real designer items/bags/purses as they are NOT! Everything is a very good copy! Please shop around as you will find the same thing cheaper in another shop! They are very good at what they do so don't be taken in!

The mosquitoes are bad so plenty of repellant also i was bit by a spider on the ankle and had to go to the clinic, at least that's what i was told that's what it was - it may have been a bad reaction to mozzies but i was taken good care of and it didn't spoil our holiday!

All in all we had an excellent time due to the company, weather and location however if you have kids and need entertainment at night this is not for you!

Room Tip: Please book a sea view room and book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMwahMwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Me and my partner have just arrived home from a week in the Now the Bodrum Beach club from the 26th june until 3rd July. We arrived at half past midnight where the check in was pretty smooth and welcoming providing a bag boy to carry luggaue. The problem started when we were took out through the hotel enterance and took to a block of rroms to the back of the hotel (under the duel-carrage way) and over looking someone back yard. We decided to just get in bed and sort things out in the morning. The first room (518) had no curtains allowing headlights from traffic in constantly, the room stenched of sewage and we had one blanket for the two of us. We went to reception after little sleep and asked to move rooms. (bearing in mind we had asked for a pool view in the first place which was stated on our booking sheet). The recetion staff spoke very little english as the hotel is majority French. They said we could not move room as other guests would be arriving. We asked our Rep (who did most of the translating) to move us hotel. After i got on the phone to Thomson 24/7 helpline the reception staff decided that infact they could move us room..... On moving to room 311 (actually in the hotel) our holiday improved. Downsides are... although they advertise a bath in your room they will not provide a plug due to muslim traditions.. (even though they are an international hotel and should not be racist to other cultures and religions), the food is mostly pasta, pizza, cheese and rice with a daily change of on the grill meats/fish. The entertainment is French, the staff are french and the guests are french..... there are not 3 a la carte restaurants there is one that changes on a daily rota serving either Turkish, Fish or itallian. WE went for the Turkish meal and after waiting an hour were fed salad with one kebab on pitta bread.. really poor. The distance to bodrum is also one of the many bad points, especially if you are not confident enough to us the local dolmus bus. The taxi to bodrum is around 50TL and the party area of Gumbet aroun 60-70TL. so quite expensive. The hotle pool was about the best thing there. A nice size and clean. The hotel room was cleaned on a daily basis which was also nice. Very little selection of all inclusive drinks everything else you will have to pay for... cocktails are 15TL and fresh orange 5TL. The hotles official rating is 5*, Thomson have rated it as 4*. Me and my partner would rate it as 3*. Go to gumbet...... Very upset at paying what we did for what we got. Official complaint has gone to Thomson by 3 of the couples we met there and also by myself.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Char_Firth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Now called the Bodrum Beach Club
Will try to cover all the main points and give a balanced view. Went on hols May so still at the start of the season in Turkey.
Hotel and grounds are fairly small, but pool and beach big enough. Good activities each day at the pool, all the usual, water polo, darts etc and animation team all great. Beach a lot quieter, there's a jetty for sunbathing but this is pretty small so in busier times you may need to be up early to get a spot here - little shade on the jetty also but plenty on the beach
Towels provided for a deposit at reception, can be changed as much as you like during your stay and need to be returned to reception at the end of your stay
Food is ok, the usual really, great salads, usually fish or meat at the grill and then a selection of cooked items, usually rice/pasta and meat and vegatable options. I tended to stick to the grill and salads. There are a la carte - we tried the fish which was ok, and the italian which wasn't. You need to pay a 5euro deposit per person and drinks are not free in the a la carte (about £25 for a bottle of turkish wine) so if we went to this hotel again, we wouldn't bother with this.
One main point to make is that the holidaymakers in the resort are 70% french, so most of the staff will speak french to you first as they will presume you are, however once we identified ourselves as english this wasn;t a problem as most staff speak some english too. French holidaymakers fine, no issues with this at all so would be happy to go to a predominantly french resort again, however the entertainment in the evenings was mostly in french so we did miss out a bit here. The english holidaymakers did tend to stick together a bit so this is good for getting to know some other people if thats the sort of thing you like. The animiation team ran trips into bodrum each evening which we didn;t try, but would be a good alternative.
Overall impression, great value for money, good animation team etc, but is quite small so if you like to get out an about/have a wander, you might be a bit bored by the end of the holiday, especially if you've gone for 2 weeks (although can get the bus to bodum each day if you want to). Would go back. Happy to respond to any queries if you are considering going.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h0nks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just returned from a week in this hotel, which, to be honest i wasn't really looking forward to having read previous reviews, but i needn't have worried, it was lovely ! Now called the Bodrum Beach Club it is perfect if you want a lazy week doing very little. The animation team are around offering archery, water polo, darts etc if you want it , but they don't hassle you if you're not interested.
The food was good - nice fresh salads, varied hot dishes and always something even the fussiest eaters would like, Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every other day, All the staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly the pool bar staff who soon learnt what we were drinking!
Plenty of sun beds,( we didn't need to get up at the crack of dawn to put towels out) a huge clean pool and it's own shingle beach with even more sun beds and cushions, meant we could enjoy a leisurely breakfast before deciding where we wanted to base ourselves that day.
Our only slight disappointment was that the hotel is in a little bay of it's own and there is nowhere to go for a walk, something we like to do after eating too much at dinner! All in all though, a good, clean hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beau20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

hotel was lovely lovely food rooms was clean every day staff was lovely had a wonderful holyday hopfly going bk next year the entotement was brill had bingo night and disco was brillent and was lot o sportactiveties in the day swimpool was good beachwas onthe hotel was good had jetski and bannana boatand lot more would defently recomend to my mates

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We booked this hotel through low cost beds as it was offering 5* all inclusive for a very good price and booked before reading any reviews.

After booking we searched trip advisor for the hotel and were horrified by some of the reviews and were very worried by what we were reading, many of the reviews referred to the food being poor with many guests being ill, the annex that was very poor with damp in many of the rooms and detached from the rest of the hotel and generally the hotel being run down and in need of restoration. Many of the reviews advised people not to go there and we did think twice about booking something else.

However, on arrival on our transfer we pulled into a hotel called the Bodrum Beach Club and both my girlfriend and myself commented that we wished we were staying there as it looked lovely, as the driver called out the name of the hotel no one on the minibus moved and it appeared at first that the driver had made a mistake, he then disappeared into reception and came back repeating our names! We went into reception a little confused (it was the early hours of the morning) to be told that the hotel was no longer called the Etap Litera Altinel but the Bodrum Beach Club and had been taken over by the Noa Group.

First impressions were very good, the reception was chic looking with large white leather sofas and amazing views through the huge windows out to sea, as it was 1am though it was difficult to fully appreciate the views.

We were shown to our room by the porter, there are quite a few steps and no lifts so may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties but looked very nice and had obviously been recently painted. Our room was a decent size with a double and single bed, the only disappointment with the room was the size of the balcony and the fact that our sea view was blocked by a big tree!

The following day we had chance to have a walk around the hotel and we were not disappointed. The pool was huge and looked very inviting, the restaurant had a wonderful view out to sea and was a perfect setting for meals, especially in the evening with the sun setting on the horizon. The beach was shingle and a little disappointing though many of the beaches in this area are much the same and in comparison it wasnt bad. There is a wonderful jetty that juts out from the hotel and is covered with huge cushions and bean bags and a very nice setting to catch some rays. The shoreline is also scattered with four poster sun longers, large hammocks and beanbags and there was never a problem with getting a spot as there was plenty around for all guests.

The food in the hotel was also very good. Breakfast was mainly continental though there was lots of choice, lunches again had lots of choice with tons of salad and a great selection of hot dishes as well as an abundance of desserts, it was the same of an evening with the added bonus of a BBQ with a different dish cooked fresh for you every night. The staff were very efficient and attentive with the chefs constantly checking the temperatures of the food and asking if you were enjoying the food.

Facilities in the hotel were good. There was a Turkish Bath that was free for guests though it was extra if you wanted a massage, facial etc, there were many activities going on throughout the day including the usual water aerobics, kids club, table tennis etc. As well as that there is an internet room, snooker and pool tables, hairdressers and a mini market.

The annex that has been mentioned in other reviews is now the staff quarters so there is no chance of you having a room over there.

The only let down for my girlfriend and i was that there was no where locally to walk to. The hotel is approx 20km from Bodrum and 10km from the nearest village, Guvercinlik. The dolmus are regular and cost 2 lira to Bodrum so are an easy and cheap way to get around. We hired a car for a couple of days and would highly recommend getting the dolmus or driving to Guvercinlik, this is still a small fishing village and the locals were all very friendly and proud of the fact that their village hadnt given into the huge hotels that line the rest of the peninsular, there are several fantastic fish restaurants along the quay, we chose one as the owner made us feel very welcome as he chatted to us and the food was exceptional.

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and the hotel was a wonderfully relaxing environment to enjoy it in. There was still a lot of work going on around the hotel (this was never intrusive though) and i believe that once all of the work has been completed the hotel will be superb. I think the size of the rooms and their balconies would probably keep it from being 5* in my experience though it is definatly worthy of 4*

Please ignore all of the reviews referring to the Etap Litera Altinel, The Bodrum Beach Club is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelling_finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
7.8 mi away
Voyage Bodrum
Voyage Bodrum
#2 of 100 in Bodrum City
1,725 reviews
9.3 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
940 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#44 of 100 in Bodrum City
362 reviews
9.1 mi away
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
#30 of 100 in Bodrum City
97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litera Altinel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litera Altinel Hotel

Address: Duvarli Tarla Mevkii 11 | ex. Etap Altinel Bodrum, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
Hotel Litera Altinel
Litera Altinel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing