We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, friendly staff but hotel is worn out and almost everyone had food poisoning”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodrum City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Litera Altinel Hotel
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We booked a cheap sunny break away in October. Flight and transfer was fine. Arrived at 3am to a dingy noisy room (road noise)with a very noisy aircon unit. Changed to a new room nearer the sea. Easy travel to Bodrum 9an attractive town) by minibus. Hotel beach is clean with lots of sun loungers. Free local drinks . Food tasted ok but read on...Hotel staff were friendly but could not deal with the hotel which is falling apart due to age and lack of maintenance. Worst part was we like most other guests were ill after a few days with food poisoning. We had medical tests on our return and cause was definitely viral! Possibly the watercoolers (may not really be fresh?), reheated food or even the aircon(rusty poorly maintained outlets on roof) and , unsure which! The Goldtrail rep who was happy to sell us trips on first day claimed not to know me when I returned to complain. Do they train them to lie or does it come naturally? We took our chance on a cheap holiday and as usuall you get what you pay for, but luckily we weren't ill enough to really spoil the trip.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank stephenmiller737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2009

sorry i no a lot of people wont agree but this was one of the best holidays you could have if you want to go to relax. You feel extreamly welcomed by the staff, they are second to non!!!!! We are so happy with the holiday we are going again next year. As for the beach it is lovly and peace full and the food is great we had no problems with are stomachs exept the ample amount of alcohol haha. The massage parler is great an defonatly worth the money :D and the pool is great.

Great holiday i highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RXAXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We Stayed here for our 1st break away together. No Children Bit of Luxury We thought.Ha Ha Ha.We were Shocked as soon as we arrived.The Reception was extremely dirty as was the Room.The Bar was Mouldy so was the Swimming Pool.The Food really wasnt good and we heard from alot of guests that had bad tummies. The Entertainment was cancelled so if it wasnt for the guests being friendly when we were there it would of been a Holiday from Hell.
The Beach Bar was Cosed and we Couldnt find the A la Carte Restaurants???? Turkish or Fish? Buffet yes. Big Con! The Hotel was getting ready to close so the Staff made us feel so un-welcome. What a Shame because the location was very romantic.If it was owned and looked after by the correct people it would be superb

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We also stayed here from 26 October to 2 November. It wasn't perfect, but our experience was overall very positive.

Arrival - plane on time, transfers quick and smooth, check in very good (3 am too!).
Rooms - had 2 rooms together, both good, quite clean. No hot water till later in the day but we knew this, so coped fine (showered later - washed in luke warm water in am) - glad they are solar powered (very green!!). One fridge worked, the other didn't - so we used the working one. Bathrooms generally clean if a bit worn and tired. No plugs - but this is the Turkish way (they think it's dirty to sit in a bath of dirty water) - we took one (42p from Wilkinsons). TVs fine - kids liked watching Akila TV and Dr Who with Turkish subtitles, we just watched news and weather on world news when we were in. Bins emptied every day - this was necessary due to Turkish/Greek pipe systems!
Grounds - kept very clean on the whole. Would be easier for them to achieve this if tourists actually took some responsibility for the disgusting litter they left behind them stuffed down settees etc. Mattresses were grubby, but not surprising since tourists dragged them off onto the jetty and other places. Washing them daily would be horrendous for the environment!
Service - very attentive, never seen staff clear up after guests so quickly, and with a smile. Most spoke reasonable English too, which was helpful (though we never expect this if we are going to a non-English speaking country, why should we??)
Food - first, I don't know how they could feed us 3 meals plus snacks and cakes every day on what we paid for the holiday, given that the majority was taken up by the flight, and then the room and food cost about £60 for the whole week. Secondly, we were worried by reviews of food poisoning etc, so tried to pick carefully. A chef cooked something fresh every morning and most evenings - so we ate that. I liked the Turkish food, but picked either hot food, freshly brought out, or vegetable based foods, I went easy on salad and anything washed in the local water (a known problem for tourists). I avoided salads in mayonnaise made up from leftovers from breakfast, previous days etc. Our son did have a slight stomach upset, but is susceptible to changes in food. Our daughter, who ate a good range of stuff, was fine, as were we. I would be happy to pay more for food, and be less worried about eating food that isn't served hot. Drinks were fine, although the bottled water was, reputedly, not bottled at all. Didn't drink much of this. Cherry and peach juice lovely, especially with vodka. Wine was weak, but from a box not watered down - it was fine for us as we didn't want to get drunk.
Entertainment - we did not come for this, and hate bingo, karaoke etc. We didn't get any - we heard a short pop quiz and bingo on 2 evenings, and watched a short belly dancing on another. We were sad that the Turkish evening planned for the Saturday didn't happen, but otherwise, didn't expect entertainment. There was table tennis, a sauna, tennis court (guests had nicked all the balls though), pool table and water slides that we all made use of, when we weren't out and about exploring Bodrum and the area.
Location - gorgeous views, lovely beach area, easy to get Dolmus bus into Bodrum (£1). Short transfer to airports a bonus! Bodrum has lots to do, and trips to all over as well as buses, from here. The castle, mausoleum, boat trip and harbour are lovely. People very friendly too.
Verdict - if the food was more reliable and the other guests were less critical and complaining, we would have enjoyed it more. Being worried due to other people's experiences, reviews and criticisms took the shine off it a bit for us. Our experiences were not those of the others, so maybe we were lucky. I wouldn't go last week of the season again though - it really did feel like time to wind up and go by the last couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This is a copy of an E mail which I have sent to Goldtrail as a complaint. And I aint letting it drop, I am still ill now. Just to inform you that the holiday at Litera Etap Altinal 26/10/2009 - 02/11/2009 was a total disaster.
We arrived 5am 27/10 and were taken to our rooms where the twin beds were so skinny that we could hardly turn over and the covers did not fit and kept falling off in the night, and we really wanted a double bed. We went for a meeting at 11.30 am with Goldtrail reps who said we could contact them 24/7 if any probs. After the meeting we went back to the room to shower and there was no hot water. We waited until midday and then could shower with lukewarm water because of the hotel having a system whereby the water was heated by solar power. The sink was filthy and it could not be removed because it was on a rim that ran around the top of the bowl and had turned to mould. Also we saw floors in rooms being cleaned with water that was black, as the same water was being used for each room and there was nothing but water being used to clean toilets and floors. There was no evidence of any bleach, disinfectant or anything else being used to clean. There was a socket in the bathroom which had a gap above and wires were visible. The bath had enamel worn off in quite a few places. The internal steps in the building were filthy and were never cleaned, for all of this we have taken photo's as evidence. The food we thought was fine on the first day but the same food kept appearing day after day and most people in the hotel including us were violently ill for the rest of the week. We and another guest complained that it smelt off, to which the waiter laughed. There was a doctor's office there which we did not go to because we didn't trust it going by what the rest of the services were like. The plastic beakers that the drinks were served in were filthy because they were not being washed properly or with hot water. A young girl wiped hers with a tissue and it was black. A guest tried to hand a letter of complaint in at reception and was told the Manager was in Bodrum, we didn't know if it got passed on. Also another guest tried to get in touch with reps on 28/10 and 29/10 and was told they had finished and gone and were no more available as they had said they would be. We were led to belive that this hotel was 5 star and by Turkish standards British 4 star. On the coach returning to the airport a guest said that she came earlier on in the year and the food was great and was very clean. Perhaps it did not come to the tour company's attention that this hotel was gradually being run down to the disadvantage of the guests. Hopefully we will be receiving some compenstion otherwise will have no alternative but to take the matter further with photo's being submitted.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueALondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I reaaly can't even begin 2 describe how awful this hotel is. Me and my partner arrived there late afternoon on the 19th of oct and couldnt believe what we thought was supposed to be a 5 star hotel! everywhere was absolutely filthy,everywhere was badly lit,the staff were very unfriendly,the food was absolutely disgusting and everyone had food poisoning. a couple with a one year old son had dirty toilet water leaking in their room for 3 days before it got sorted out (this was after they threatened 2 sue them!!) after a lot of tearful phone calls home and to the travel agent and also talking to our USELESS rep (who said the clocks didnt turn back in turkey in october?! says it all) we decided we werent gonna be moved to another hotel off the travel agents so thankfully my mum booked us into another hotel about 20minutes away on our second day which was a wonderful hotel. clean safe and very friendly staff. we will definetely be taking this further. when we read reviews before we went we thought no way could it be that bad. but honestly it REALLY IS. dont go there. no matter how cheap its offered to you-it's an absolute hell hole!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephOH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

we survived a week at this hotel ?? poor fireman sam and wife had to do two weeks .........we were put in this hotel after being told the one we had booked was closed this was as we landed in turkey rooms dirty patio door falling to pieces plug sockets only one working sheets never changed bathroom ..well dirty towels to match . food if dare eat it was luke warm very blend every one going down with stomach bug some even going to hospital costing from 600 pounds to get your passport back dineing room kept running out of milk butter.corn flakes wine when i complianed the manegmant did not want to know...faulty towers hotel springs to mind drinks were coloured water the sun bed matteress were filthy only one night entertianment ten min belly dancer the list could go on i felt sorry for the grandparents with a18month old grandson as i would not what to have feed him on there son had the same name as ours the hotel must have been nice when first built but needs a awfull lot of money spent to fetch it up to a 3 star it was in a nice location we learned that it had had its sun rateings withdrawn

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugsalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
7.8 mi away
Voyage Bodrum
Voyage Bodrum
#2 of 100 in Bodrum City
1,719 reviews
9.3 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
940 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#5 of 100 in Bodrum City
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#44 of 100 in Bodrum City
362 reviews
7.8 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#18 of 100 in Bodrum City
753 reviews
2.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 100 in Bodrum City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litera Altinel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litera Altinel Hotel

Address: Duvarli Tarla Mevkii 11 | ex. Etap Altinel Bodrum, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
Hotel Litera Altinel
Litera Altinel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing