We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”
Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just back from an 8-night stay at the Aegean Gate & although I could write for hours about how much I loved this hotel & its hosts [all nationalities & species], a quick flick through the 160-odd reviews already here shows that I have nothing original to say. So instead I'm going to repeat some of it: "paradise found", "totally deserves its #1 tripadvisor rating", "oasis", "immaculately clean indoors & out", "delicious breakfast", "feels more like a private villa than a hotel", "perfectly located", "helpful", "friendly", "fun", "attentive without being intrusive", "attention to detail"...from the earliest review to the most recent, the praise goes consistently on & on & I fully agree with all of it.

So, endless thanks to Rory (Ruairi?), Gary, Fatima, Mahmoud, Grandad, Sampson, Bubbles, Misty, Lulu, et al for a providing me with the perfect surroundings & ambience for a perfect holiday. If I'm ever back in Bodrum, then the Aegean Gate will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: My ground floor suite was perfect for easy pool access & allowed me to see a lot of the animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
232
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is my second review for the Aegean Gate as I was here in May. Once again a brilliant hotel - as all the other reviews say. Nothing is too much trouble for Gary and Rory who make everyone feel really welcome. The transfer organised by the hotel from the airport was excellent too - and very good value. We hope to return next year as we simply don't think there is anywhere better!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin-James-McA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in a range of accomodation over the years .Aegean Gate has been the best to date . Gary.Rory,and Mahmoud were perfect hosts. Sampson,Grandad, and all the cats and kittens provided the homely touch.If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay with beautiful views then look no further.Gary and Rory will provide you with any guideance and advise regarding places to see and good restaurants .We found this hotel on trip advisor and feel it fully deserves its number 1 ranking.

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same high standard but obviously you would get the best view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We don't have a lot to add that the other reviews have not said already. Beautiful small hotel, well run, good location, amazing staff -- Mahmoud especially. The garden is beautifully set out and landscaped and we loved the animals, especially Misty the cat.

We travelled from Kos, which we found easy as the port is within a 5 minute drive and the high speed ferry gets you there in 15 minutes, 1 hour for the slower boat which runs more frequently. One tip is to get off the boat sharpish when you arrive as the queue to go through passport control at each end was frustratingly slow even at the end of season, i dread to think what it is like in the summer months.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I spent the last week of our holiday in Bodrum (Mid July), following a week and a half visiting Tbilisi & Istanbul, and stayed at the Aegean Gate. We had the most wonderful and relaxing week I think we have ever had. The hotel was spotless, we had a top floor suite which had a separate bedroom and living room with amazing views over the pool and bar area and the Aegean Sea! Our hosts Gary and Rory were very welcoming & friendly and gave us invaluable information with regards to which restaurants to visit and also which boat trip to do. A huge thankyou must also go to Mamood who helps run the hotel, what a great bloke, very helpful and attentive, couldn't do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, as long as you like animals, as there are quite a few cats and 2 really lovely dogs, Samson & Grandad! We will definitely return to the Aegean Gate in the near future. Many Thanks Wyndham & Fiona

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyndham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had the best weeks holiday here, it was so relaxing.Gary and Rory made our stay very pleasant and also did mamood. The hotel is spotless and we stayed in a top floor suite which was very spacious with spectacular views. Gary and Rory gave us invaluable advice on local restaurants which led to us experiencing some amazing food. we would recommend this boutique hotel and Bodrum itself and of course the hosts. Many Thanks Randall & Julie x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAYsb02
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I visited Bodrum as the first stop on hour honeymoon, and stayed at the Aegean Gate. It took us a while to find the hotel, because we arrived late in the evening, and if you know Turkey, you know that street signs, let alone street signs that are lit up at night, aren't the country's strong suit! Despite that fact, when we did find the hotel, it truly was worth the wait. Gary and Rory were up waiting for our arrival and we were greeted so warmly by them, as well as a lovely gentleman whose name I'm sorry to say we can't remember, who helps them run the hotel. They took our bags to our room, gave us a large bottle of water, and let us settle in a bit, before inviting us down to the pool area where they were chatting with some of the other hotel guests by the bar. When we had a moment to get our bearings, we headed down to the pool area and chatted with both of them for a bit. They could not be nicer people if they tried! We had no plans for our only full day in Bodrum the next day, so Rory helped us out by setting us up with a gulet trip the next day (which ended up being an absolute blast - we HIGHLY recommend everyone who is visiting this area take at least a day trip on a gulet).

It wasn't until the morning that we were able to really see the absolutely breathtaking view from the balcony of our hotel room. The hotel itself is in the perfect spot, perched atop a hill, built right into the side of a huge boulder, overlooking the ocean. I can't tell you how excited we were to wake up to that beautiful view on the first day of our honeymoon! The room itself was lovely, with a separate living room and bedroom, and a small, but nicely equipped, bathroom. The balcony, though, is what really takes the cake! The hotel provides a delicious breakfast every morning, down by the pool area, with a few different options, in case you are visiting Bodrum later in your trip, and you just can't take anymore cucumbers and tomatoes for breakfast! :) And at the end of the night, the small bar next to the beautiful pool is a great place to catch up with fellow travelers. It's also a great place to play with the adorable pups and kittys that live on the grounds of the hotel.

We had to leave the hotel early in the morning and we were disappointed that we wouldn't be able to partake in the yummy breakfast again, but once again, Gary and Rory didn't disappoint. They had yogurt, granola and fruit waiting for us in the refrigerator in our room that morning, so that we could have an early breakfast on our balcony before departing. We were so sad to leave, but truly believe that we could not have picked a better place to begin our holiday. We hope to return to Bodrum, and the Aegean Gate, someday very soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floor. Those rooms have balconies, and the best views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYsb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#16 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing