We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts, beautiful setting, homey cats and dogs: They all made our stay in Bodrum warm and memorable. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, beautiful setting, homey cats and dogs: They all made our stay in Bodrum warm and memorable. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very highly regarded boutique hotel by fellow TrioAdvisor reviewers, and we completely concur!  The hosts, Gary and Rorey, were immensely welcoming from the start. As our taxi pulled up to the front of the hotel, they burst through the gate, sweeping us in, making us feel like long-standing friends. They shared a personally annotated map of Bodrum with recommendations for restaurants and cafes, steering us to good food at good value, and away from the over-priced tourist places. We ended up trying quite a few of their recommendations, and they were all very good and fun. They recommended a particular day boat trip that was very pleasant: a relatively small boat with a charming captain, with relaxed attitude and itinerary (as opposed to the many other larger party boats that go out each day). But mostly, they were personable without being intrusive, and fun to talk with. 

The hotel, with only six suites, is located about a 15 minute walk out of the main parts of town, and up a rather steep hill. But there is a taxi stand at the end of the short street, so coming and going is easy if one doesn't want to walk. The view from the rooms, over the attractive pool and sunning decks, is very nice, including the sea and islands. If you want to be in the thick of the restaurants, shops and hotels of the main harbors, then perhaps this hotel is a little too far removed for you.  But if you enjoy a little seclusion, and the option to visit the town centers whenever you want, the Aegean Gate will likely please you. 

Gary and Rorey harbor quite a few cats, and a couple dogs. We enjoy the company of cats and dogs so were charmed by the little community. Most of the cats are only slightly interested in the guests, but a few are actively curious and even affectionate. This touch of attention from the cats and dogs added a really nice friendliness and warmth to our stay. 

Highly recommended. 

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikenDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
232
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FL, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

There are already a lot of favorable comments on the Aegean Gate, and we found them all to be accurate. The hotel is outstanding and it is the owners, Gary and Rory, and the staff that make it really nice. We enjoyed every one of our 4 days in Bodrum [May] very much and we hope to return. We will certainly stay at the Aegean Gate again.

As a note, you do not need a car, but if you are driving [we came from and returned to Izmir] start looking for the first turn off before you actually get into Bodrum itself while you are still on the D330, the website directions are easy to follow from there on. We found driving around the Bodrum peninsula to be nice, Gary has some great route suggestions. If you drive to/from Selcuk be sure to stop at the temple to Apollo in Didim, we found it awe inspiring [Priene was also very nice (did not have time for Miletos, perhaps next time)].

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandC_Fl_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
484 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nestling in the quiet Kumbache area of east Bodrum, this bijou hotel is a wondeful base to explore the Bodrum penisula. As soon as you pass through the stylish iron gate, you are entering a very special place. Gary and Rory, your hosts do their level best to ensure your stay is a peaceful, and good experience. Their advice on where to visit, and where to eat is spot on, and will give you some very good memories to share. Eating a choice of breakfast overlooking Bodrum bay is only one of a number, served by Mahmut with his welcoming smile and his rich tales of yore. Fatimah keeps the beautifully clean apartments to an exemplary standard. The visiting cats and dogs,rescued from the streets often in very poor condition, live nearby, all seem to have characters quite distinct from one another, and should not in any way persuade you not to use this hotel. It would be a crying shame to miss out on this exquisite place.

Room Tip: The views from the upper apartments are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Ours was a wonderful stay in this beautiful and charming small hotel. Rooms are large with separate sleeping and sitting areas and each with a balcony looking out over the bay. But even better is what is outside your room: Pool and terrace overlooking the town, a really great breakfast out by the pool, and two fantastic hosts, Gary and Rory. They have clearly taken care with all the details of their hotel, both inside and out, and they made our stay in Bodrum a memorable stop on our trip along the coast of southern Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retrac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights in a top floor apartment in May 2012. I fully concur with the comments of others and will not repeat what has been said already. We have been running short-term beach holiday accommodation in Western Australia for 12 years, so feel well-placed to comment on the services provided by others. The Aegean Gate really is special. I could not fault it. Top marks. This place proved once again the value of Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: The two top floor rooms have mesmerising views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crowsnestGnarabup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

that hasn't been said on here before really. My husband and I wanted somewhere different for his 50th birthday - his choice. We have travelled all over really but never fancied Turkey - either of us. But Mike chose Turkey and I got to choose the hotel - still didn't fancy Turkey but there you go - his choice I said to him. Booked cheapish flights from Bristol with Easyjet; flight was delayed so we were late arriving. Rory and Gary waited for us, though, and we were met at the Aegean gates by the 2 of them and some of their "hosts". What these 2 guys do for the animals can't be talked about enough - they pay from their own pockets to get the cats neutered and fed and loved and looked after; they have some dogs but only 2 are around the hotel - Grandad and Sampson - Sampson looks like a small horse but they really don't bother with you at all and just laze around in the shade all day - Grandad follows Gary around all day but that's about it. The cats are not at all intrusive, but some like a cuddle now and then - again they don't bother you at all. Gary and Rory have some other dogs - 2 of whom I would go and see every day (I am afraid of dogs - a cat person if anything) and my husband couldn't believe it. Obviously if you are not an animal lover then this is not the hotel for you - for me it made our holiday just seeing what these guys do and how loving the animals are.

Anyway enough of that, the hotel is great - we had a suite - bedroom, bathroom, living room and a great balcony with fantastic views over to Kos. In a peaceful area of Bodrum but within walking distance to the town centre - taxis are very cheap and buses even more so. The hotel seemed to be favoured by those who liked to do a little more in the heat than sit by the pool and read/drink/swim and so most days it seemed as if we had our own private villa. Mahmoud is your host during the day and he and my husband had chats most days while I just lazed around or looked at the tortoises which again Gary and Rory had just at the end of the garden.

Bodrum town itself was a real eye opener for us. We weren't sure what to expect but it was certainly not the array of shops/restaurants/bars, etc we found. And of course it was all quite reasonable as Turkey is not yet (if ever!) in the Euro. As with most places you can eat as cheaply or as expensive as you want to. On one or 2 evenings we went to Kafetico (I think that was what it was called) up in the hills and very much worth the taxi ride for the views and excellent views., Gary and Rory also recommended a great little wine bar that had recently opened in Bodrum town and we spent a few evenings there just drinking wine and getting a takeaway (they didn't then do food but probably will be by next season).

So an eye opener all around and we will definitely be returning hopefully in 2012 if mine hosts will have us back that is!

Room Tip: All are great; ground floor rooms are bigger, but 2nd and 3rd floors have fantastic views;there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank chilliport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Aegean Gate in July/August 2011. We loved it! Bodrum is a great place for families, as Aya Napa it is NOT, and this hotel really made it special for us, as it ticked every box - small, clean, pretty, quiet, within easy walking distance of the centre and staffed by friendly owners who liked to have a laugh! In fact, we'd like to be able to transport it to every other resort we visit on holiday!! We had the best room for the view across the bay (see the pictures on their website - the one that overlooks the pool looks like it was taken from our room) and, because there are only 6 bedrooms, there is little chance of your holiday being spoiled by lots of noise from other occupants...having said that, you are at the mercy of the wind being in the right direction, as when it's in the wrong direction, you get the morning wake-up call from a large hotel near the beach, a couple of hundred metres away! However, Gary and Rory more than made up for this and their staff, Mahmoud and Fatima were always cheery and helpful. A word of warning...if you don't like cats and dogs, stay away from this hotel, as the animals there are really Gary and Rory's family! However, we didn't mind one bit and will certainly be going back for more!!

Room Tip: Ground floor room do not have a view, they just go out onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anjalee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#15 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#13 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing