We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were lucky enough to spend several days of our 3 and 1/2 weeks in Turkey this summer at the Aegean Gate. We were not sure we wanted to visit Bodrum as we worried it may be over-touristed. We had such a lovely stay at the Aegean Gate with fabulous hosts, Gary, Rory, and Mahmet. They directed us to all the best places to visit while creating a place that we didn't want to leave. It's a heavenly place - relaxed, beautiful, fantastic views, perfect pool, great breakfast, spacious and clean rooms...I could go on and on. We highly recommend the Aegean Gate!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Aegean Gate Hotel in Bodrum,Turkey is as advertised and more. A neat boutique hotel tucked away on the slopes in Bodrum, far enough to be away from the hustle of Bodrum and close enough to participate in the fun and highlights of the town.
Gary and Rory are great hosts making sure of the details without intruding. Mahmut adds some great local color to the information on the area. The setting is relaxed and can serve as a great base of operations if you're exploring the area by car. Easy flight from Istanbul and the local taxi is cheap if you don't feel like walking. Classic Turkish and Greek cuisines and at reasonable prices for a vacation area. The area's wines leave a little bit to be desired. The archaeological museum in town is outstanding.
The Aegean Gates offers the right level of comfort while capturing the rustic feel of the area. The hotel feels like you're outside the US. It's not the ubiquitous foreign luxury hotel that could be in Arizona or California.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zerpnomreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel which just sits above Bodrom in the hills, so you get a great view and a front row seat to watch the sunset go down with a lovely G & T.

I travel a lot and sample many hotels and this is certainly a little Gem. Very comfortable, lovely white sheets, fresh towels, good shower and a fab location. Add to this a small team of caring people and you have a recipe for success. (an amazing value too!)

From the moment we arrived late at night at around 11 pm we were given a very warm welcome from Mahmoud who seems to turn his hand to most things whether its making a great coffee / tea, cooking a perfectly soft boiled egg to gardening … Gary and Rory love what they do, and the place is spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the walk into town and wandering around following the map that Gary had kindly highlighted in Pen the places to go. Although we were only there for 3 days, it was a fab time, and the Boat trip they recommended was great fun and a lovely day relaxing. His recommendation of a slightly up market restaurant called Kafedaki was also worthy of a visit, if for the views alone.

Finally, the place is spotless, as is the pool. Definitely recommend and the Samson and Grandad their rescue dogs are wonderful, as are the little kittens. The Dogs and Cats very much keep the themselves and really add to the ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsLovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We just spent 6 weeks travelling in Greece and Turkey with our 18 and 20 year old daughters. The Aegean Gate was the best place we stayed, by far. Gary, Rory and Mahmut were the perfect hosts and catered to our every whim. The local information they provided was excellent and allowed us to truly enjoy all that Bodrum has to offer. We fell in love with the resident dogs and cats but if you are not an animal lover it's still enjoyable as the pets are well trained and unobtrusive.The rooms were lovely, the pool, patio and bar area are beautifully designed and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious. We honestly cannot think of how the Aegean Gate could be better. We can't wait to make a return trip to Aegean Gate.

Room Tip: We stayed with our daughters in both ground level rooms and loved the cosiness of the plants and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I originally booked 6 nights, and then quickly extended our stay to 9 (JULY/AUGUST 2013). The Aegean Gate was exactly what we needed -- gorgeous, quiet, has a sparkling pool and stunning views, just a bit away from the real hustle and bustle of Bodrum, affordable, the list goes on. It really feels like a small Villa, and was a pleasure to call home for ten days.

I noticed one guest thought the hotel was loud -- this was absolutely not our experience, and we were there during peak summer season. The Agean Gate is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood. We slept like babies there for 9 nights. (And I'm day dreaming of being back there right now as I write this review.)

We also experienced staying in both the top floor and bottom floor rooms. All are nice and you can't go wrong. The top floor has amazing views and a balcony. This is a great place to take a picture to Facebook your friends and say "Look how cool my Turkey vacation is..." The bottom floor rooms also have their perks, however, as they include a kitchen, have a nice covered porch area, and generally stay a bit cooler. We actually appreciated getting moved downstairs when the temperatures hit around 100 F in August.

And the BEST PART of the Agean is the company of Gary, Rory, Mahmut (and their wonderful pets). I really miss my morning, afternoon and evening chats with all of them. They all make guests feel really welcome, like new friends.

We also appreciated the honest advice about what to do and see in Bodrum. For instance, Mahmut booked us a wonderful boat trip for approx. $20 a person. We really had no idea what we could expect for such an affordable day. My friend staying at the Hilton was being advised that a day trip would cost approx. $150, but she decided to come along with me and give it a go. It was AMAZING! My friend quickly decided that she'd be staying at the Aegean Gate on her next trip after all my raving.

In sum, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bodrum!!!

Thank you Gary, Rory, and Mahmut for a wonderful vacation! We can't wait to see you again!

Christy & Mike


Side Note: If you are considering staying elsewhere (I wouldn't, but if you are..) make sure your hotel is actually in Bodrum. Many hotels - like the Hilton -- add the name "Bodrum" to their name, but they are actually located 25-30 minutes away somewhere else on the Bodrum penninsula. This can be an expensive mistake as taxis to Bodrum are pricey -- can be about $100 each way. Definitely do your research on any other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at this charming boutique hotel in the hills of Bodrum at the end of our 2 week trip to Turkey. The owners Gary and Rory are wonderful and provided a lot of great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area. Mahmoud, who works at the hotel, is very personable and friendly and goes out of his way to help you with whatever you need and really makes you feel very welcome. The rooms are nice, more of an apartment than a basic hotel room, with stunning views of the hotel's pool, the town and Aegean cost from the huge balcony off the main living area.

One of our favourite things about this hotel are the "permanent" guests, being the street dogs and cats Gary and Rory have so lovingly adopted, they are all so gentle and such a joy to have around - bless your hearts Gary and Rory for taking in those animals!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snagy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at here in July and loved it. We had a modern room with a nice living room and large balcony for views and drinks and reading. Owners were superb. they were knowledgeable of Bodrum, very friendly yet they left you alone for peace and quiet.Pool and sunbed area were clean and relaxing, I felt like a Sultan (or Harem) under the blue tent with pillows. Mahmoud served a lovely breakfast and ice cold beers in afternoon heat. We had no issues with street noise, nor with the walk up from the bottom of their neighborhood hill (and we are in our 60's). Lovely, quiet, peaceful, with 3 wonderful three hosts, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Bottom floor is shaded with a garden feel, perfect for summer heat, just walk out your door for a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewHampshireLovetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
940 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Vista Bodrum
Marina Vista Bodrum
#13 of 100 in Bodrum City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 100 in Bodrum City
178 reviews
2 mi away
Bodrium Hotel & You SPA
Bodrium Hotel & You SPA
#16 of 100 in Bodrum City
187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#2 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range: £101 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing