We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“7 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

What more can I say that the other 259 reviewers haven’t?

Are looking for a perfect location in Bodrum (walking distance to the shops, marina, restaurants, and castle?) A spotless hotel? Stellar service? A friendly atmosphere – kind of like something out of a story book where everybody is pleasant? Would you like to sunbath feeling like you are on a mountain looking out into the Aegean Sea with Greece in the background? Then please, read on.

I spent 5 days at the Aegean Gate Sept 24-29th.

The rooms are spotless, spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The living space is separated from the bedroom (so it is not one big room like a hotel room) which is great. The living area has a sofa (with a pull out bed), a tv, a mini fridge, a safe, a tea kettle with tea, coffee and cups provided. In addition, a hairdryer, bath and beach towels are also provided. Bathroom is perfect. Just to let my fellow travellers know, few toiletries are provided (there is a bar of soap and either body wash or shampoo – sorry can’t remember). This is NOT a deal breaker for me.

The hotel is perched upon a hill that is, yes, steep, but I still managed (I don’t recommend this in 40 degree heat or for everybody). A short and inexpensive taxi ride from outside the huge nightclub Halikarnas (easily identifiable) located down the hill is a mere 10 TL.
In addition, the staff will call a taxi on your behalf upon your request. Taxi to the Bodrum airport is approximately 85 TL and will take about 45 minutes (with no traffic).

Bar / pool/ eating/ sunbathing areas are divine. This is also where the Wi-fi connection is best although it was also fine from my balcony and in my room. The bar is available for purchase of drinks (alcoholic and non). Breakfast is perfect and served to you (you have 3 options to chose from). If you spending time on the premise and don’t want to venture out for lunch/snack/early dinner, ask for the menu and they will order you in food from a neighbouring restaurant (I believe orders can be placed upto 7:00 pm (19:00) but please double check this). Prices are reasonable and food was great!

Service is stellar. There is one HUGE drawback about staying here (PLEASE READ ON) – every hotel that you will visit after this one will never measure up to the Aegean Gate! The owners and staff, make every minute of your stay story-book like – meaning, perfect. Upon arrival, I was given a map of the area, recommendations to shops and restaurants, a tour of the grounds and facilities at the Aegean Gate. Day tour arrangements and (reasonable) general inquiries are all tended to in a kind and timely manner. Communication via email with the owners prior to my stay was superb! They respond quickly!

The permanent guests (the cats and dog(s)) are a lovely addition to the place and truly add to the character and ambiance of the Aegean Gate. Not a bother at all, rather, a pleasure. (And this is coming from somebody with no pets).

In addition, I was fortunate enough to have met such fabulous people during my stay (Deborah, Kate, Tim, Dawn). Thank you for the chats, the advice, the company and the laughs. The guests became like family.
With that being said, leave all egos, attitudes and pretentiousness at home.

Lastly, please be mindful and respectful that you are no longer in the privacy of your own home nor are you in your home country -- you are in Turkey and all over Turkey, people smoke. This is part of their culture. In addition, this is Turkey and you will not find bacon.

Gary, Rory, Mamout, Samson, Lulu et al. a million thanks for making my 5 day stay at the Aegean Gate a perfect vacation!

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cubarepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
231
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights and found the setting, the accommodation, the service and the pool simply excellent. The setting and design are great and the views from the property are spectacular. Breakfast looking over the sea with a collection of interesting guests was a great way to start the day! But the people, Gary, Rory and Mahmout make this place so special: friendly, attentive with encyclopaedic knowledge of the Bodrum area and wonderful senses of humour. This beats the beige room experience hands down!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clanmacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We returned twice over the summer to Aegean Gate Hotel. Why? The hotel is beautiful and very peaceful; the service is friendly and helpful; and the rooms are very well maintained. Thanks for being so wonderful Aegean Gate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris80778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Aegean Gate and could not recommend it more. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all of the aspects that make the Aegean Gate so special. The breakfast is delicious and Mahmut, Gary and Rory make sure that you have everything you need for your stay. The boat tour that was recommended was wonderful as were all of the restaurant recommendations. This hotel truly makes you feel like you are with friends as everyone staying there becomes quick friends.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bodrum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in at the Aegean Gate about 2:00 today and I have to say it is one of the most beautiful, friendly, scenic and comfortable hotels we have ever stayed in...anywhere. Gary, Rory and Hahmet all greeted us at the front door and have been nothing less then amazing hosts ever since. Our room (#6) overlooks the Mediterranean and the city of Bodrum with a view rarely found in any hotel regardless of the price. It is spotless and large (very rare in any seaside resort). I write this review, sitting on the patio of our room at 8:30 pm, with a view to die for. This property is truly special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RickMiles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull,e,yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's been 6 years since our last visit to Turkey and we wanted something different to what we had before for personal reasons.The hotel and staff were the perfect hosts,they where there when you needed them and quietly in the background when you did not.
A big thank you to Gary,Rory and Memhut for a very relaxing 11 night stay.
Room was well equipped with,A/C,TV,Kettle Safe and Fridge,and was quite spacious also tea an coffee in your room for you to make up at your leisure,
The guests were from all over the world when we stayed and all very sociable which contributed to our holiday as they only have six rooms and we all had tales to tell at the breakfast tables.
The cats and dogs not a problem all very friendly.
Bodrum itself had good and not so good parts,
The good,Listen to gary when he recommends somewhere go there!,as I forgot my list and ended up with a very poor meal at great cost to me.the boat trip is great well worth it,
Don't be afraid to use the dolmus(buses),3 lira to the centre or a steady 45 min walk,the barbers bottom of the hill turn left 50 yards,10 lira for a shave good value,My Thanks to Onur for the cut throat shave,I had 5 shaves during my stay.
All said and done if you want a good relaxing holiday a sun loungers and more for everyone then the Aegean gate for me was perfect.Thanks again to all,John&Lesley

Room Tip: Room 5 was top floor with great sea views with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I came back to the Aegean Gate for the third (or was it the fourth?) time in August 2013. We just love it there. In the middle of a bustling, developed coastline, the Aegean Gate is a refuge and a respite. The hotel grounds are always immaculately kept, the breakfasts are excellent (hmm...eggs on toast and fresh tomatoes), and Mahmud, Gary and Rory go above and beyond to make sure your stay is excellent. We particularly love the few cats that roam the grounds, and Samsun and Granddad, the resident dogs who are both so very sweet. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to to Bodrum, particularly to those people who want to be among the action but not necessarily in it all the time.

Room Tip: Choose room 1 if you love animals. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraIsenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#7 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#21 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing