We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb little hotel,the reviews are all true.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
manchester uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“superb little hotel,the reviews are all true.”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

we arrived at 7am one morning after a night flight and were able to check into a room without the usual hassle of early check ins.
After a couple of hours of sleep we strolled onto the terrace for breakfast served up to 11 am:how civilised is that?
Scrambled eggs ,or yogurt and cheese ,melon ,,toast,coffee etc
even soft -boiled eggs with soldiers,nothing is too much trouble
for Gary and Rory the genial irishmen who run the place.
We had room 6 on the top floor with balcony overlooking the sea,a sitting area with a couple of sofas,tv fridge ,tea making ,seperate bedroom and adjacent shower room.
Thankfully we had air-con which in the 40deg heat was a blessing.
We sat with our hosts most nights before and after dinner by the pool together with samson and troy the dogs and spike the cheeky cat,
The best meal we had all week was at a restaurant in the hills above Bodrum recommended by Gary ,a car arrived to take us there and back without any charge,
This is a small hotel with a totally personal service by two great guys who go the extra mile to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
The hotel closes in a few weeks for the winter period, be sure to book early for next year.

  • Liked — peace and quiet,lovely views
  • Disliked — no guinness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
232
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2008

The perfect spot. Gary and Rory waited up for us and greeted us at 12 am when we finally arrived. The Aegean Gate is situated on top of the hill with amazing views that you can enjoy while eating breakfast on the terrace or lounging around and watching the sun set. Gary and Rory go out of their way to make it a great stay from arranging rental cars to making great dinner recommendations. The hotel is extremely well kept and you are always in good company, not only with Gary and Rory, but with the full-time residents like Samson (seen in picture), Spike and Troy.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sls12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We had stayed in Bodrum before and wanted a hotel that was slightly out of the town centre, but close enough to walk - the Aegean Gate suited this perfectly !! Located about 15 minutes walk from the castle, the Aegean is elevated overlooking the harbour. A cab from the centre to the hotel costs around 5 euro, and a local cab firm is situated right outside the hotel. For those in a car, parking is fine, not like some hotels in Bodrum where space is at a premium!!

Gary and Rory, the two owners, were there to meet us when we arrived. The hotel has just 6 rooms so it has a great feel. When we were there is had a cosmopolitan group or Turkish/Engligh and Americans that led to a great pre and post dinner drink at the bar.

The room we had was number 5. A top floor room affording great views. The room had a seperate bedroom and living area which was great. Furnishings were of a boutique style. Tea and Coffee were available in the room FOC and the fridge could be stocked as you require.

The pool and gardens were lovely, although sadly a scrub fire had damaged some of the surrounding area the week before.

The hotel has acquired, or probably more accurately they have acquired the hotel a number of canines and felines that for us added to the holiday experience. Troy and Samson who had decided they wanted to live at the hotel provided a very welcome hello after a day or nights trecking round Bordum. Troy always escorts guests down the road to ensure you get away OK. Spike, the feline of choice has decided he likes the Aegean and so has decided to stay around for a while.

The breakfast was excellent, and generally the chaps would make you whatever you wanted (within reason of course !!). The hotel does not have a menu as such but again the chaps are happy for you to order in if thats what takes your fancy.

Overall a great base in a great location.
Lee and Tricia

  • Liked — Personal Touch and Pets !!!
  • Disliked — No snack menu
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

You won't be disappointed by this special little hotel. We stayed
here 7 nights and we enjoyed every single minute: the hotel is
extremely
well-kept and clean, and the outdoor area is amazing. It is in a
very
quiet area with stunning views on the Bodrum gulf and Greek island
Kos,
and owners and personnel do the utmost to make one's stay a
relaxing
and enjoyable experience. Definitely worth trying.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwoFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Where do I start. We were greeted by Rory upon arrival and he was so kind and sincere his eyes sparkled. He graciously showed us to our room on the ground level and I was awestruck- it was amazing! He gave us time to settle in and we met him a few minutes later to check in. It was like I was at home. We sat around their office table outside, it was like you were at their dining room table. We chatted asked questions about Bodrum- where to eat- gulet trips etc...He was very helpful and informative. Next were the precious animals of the place. Samsun was away in their apartment, and I asked to see him. What an amazing animal. In a private area they had more dogs- all rescued and all happy and very well adjusted. Don;t worry if you are afraid of dogs cause a) there is no need to be and b) they are very good about keeping them out of your way if that's what you need. I of course wanted them to sleep in my room!! I then met Gary, his partner and Akman their gorgeous loyal helper. These guys were all so relaxed and it was odd cause the place was so pristine and luxurious but with such a casual elegance within what was offered to you. If you wanted privacy you got it- if you wanted to socialize- they welcomed it. The only thing I regret is not spending enough time at the hotel itself. Will never forget you guys and will be back for sure!!
Yasemin Gumus
Ottawa, Canada

  • Liked — The staff and animals and the room and facilities.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SPAZMIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2008

My wife and I wanted to chill out for a week on the Turkish coast. After much internet surfing, we chose the Aegean Gate because of the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. At that time there were 12 reviews, all 5 stars and I was afraid it might be a scam., it couldn't really be that good. But it was! I won't write any more, because everybody else has already said it. Just go there.

  • Liked — spacious, clean, good internet
  • Disliked — smallish bath
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

The owners of Aegean gate, Rory and Gary managed to create the perfect welcome and presence throughout our week long stay without ever being intrusive. Their genuiness and help with planning resturants and advice about the area was priceless.

The rooms were lovingly decorated and ideal for us (a couple from London). Breakfasts of musili and Yoghurt or scarmbled eggs with fruit plates and bread and jam was also ideal.

Personally we also loved Sampson and Troy the dogs (who are kept away most of the time and expecially if requested by a guest) who beacme quite excited to see us at the end of a night out when we came back to the hotel.

Recommend this place highly. It was very hot in August but the temp dropped to 34 ish in September. May/June and September would in my view be the loveliest times to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoandPhilLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
813 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 99 in Bodrum City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 99 in Bodrum City
431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#15 of 99 in Bodrum City
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing