We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What a great find! Gary, Rory and Mahmoud not only run a great hotel they are excellent, attentive hosts. You couldn't ask for a more spotlessly clean or perfectly finished place to escape the heat and hubbub of Bodrum town. I'm at risk of sounding more like an advert than a review but I really would say this is my favourite hotel. There are lots of rescue cats which kept us amused with their antics, sleepy during the day and all coming to life as the sun goes down. I guess at the end of the day it's the peaceful, friendly that makes this hotel such a special place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_whitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
232
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here for 5 nights in July and loved every minute of it. The two owners, Gary and Rory, were fantastic hosts. They were friendly and extremely helpful. They gave us information about Bodrum, booked boat tours and restaurants for us, and gave us advice for pit stops on our next leg of our journey. Mahmut, the manager, was also very friendly. We arrived late at night and he was there with a smile to greet us. He ordered us food and provided us with some much needed bevvies! The days we chose to stick around the pool (which was most days as it's so beautiful there), he attended to our every need. An added bonus was all the lovely kitties around. They mostly stick to themselves unless enticed with some love. Our room was on the ground floor with our door right by the pool. Although it didn't have a view of the sea, it was a lovely room and we quite enjoyed our nights at our private patio area drinking wine and playing games. A great place! I would not hesitate one little bit to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and was very happy with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family and we unanimously agreed that it was by far our best hotel experience. I wouldn't call this a hotel as it felt like home . The hotel is owned by two awesome people ( Gary and Rory ) who were very helpful and friendly.The recommendations they provided was always spot on .The hotel itself is very tastefully done along with the spectacular views.The location is perfect. Mehmut works tirelessly to ensure that you have everything you need and just is an awesome person to talk to. Gary , Rory and Mehmut are just amazing people to hang out with. This hotel is the perfect amalgamation of great people and amazing accommodation.My only regret was that i stayed here for 3 nights and it just wasn't enough! I can go on and on about how amazing Gary,Rory And Mehmut are and the immaculately clean rooms and the breathtaking views. We will definitely be coming back next year. Needless to say, if you are in Bodrum, Aegean Gate hotel is the only place you should stay in.

Room Tip: Get rooms 5 and 6 . The view is just amazing from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Prior to staying at this hotel, we did our due diligence and read through the reviews posted on TA. Hence, we had our hopes up and was looking forward to the stay. It sure did not disappoint in terms of service and ambience.

Mahmut, the 'genie' was always ready to serve, attentive and amiable. He provided recommendations around the area and was very prompt in action. His presence indeed made a difference.

Also, the images of the hotel are a fairly accurate depiction of the set up. Nice patio, overlooking the city and boats. This made us stay at the premises much longer than we expect.

It's a calming place to get back to after a day's long hustle bustle in the city.

Perhaps the few areas of improvements or precaution would be the location, wifi and beds. The hotel is situated on a hill top, hence it takes a little effort to hike up. Also, on some occasions our wifi connection was choppy (thankfully we were distracted by the lovely cats that roamed into our room). Lastly, the bedroom was less appealing that the living area. There was no AC in it and the beds were uncomfortable. However, these were minor issues given the great service and ambience.

Ps. The cats were so lovely !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akhisar, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! My husband and I live in Turkey (near Izmir...I am originally from the US) and we have been to Bodrum several times. We had no idea such a lovely place as Aegean Gate existed or we would have been staying here every time! Beautiful setting, delicious pool, cuddly kitties (and no worries if you don't want to pet them...they are happy just lounging and playing and serving as fluffy scenery), clean rooms (actually the whole place is immaculate)....oh I could go on and on. The owners are wonderful and make you feel right at home. Aegean Gate is in the perfect location with a luscious view but not too close to the party scene at the beach (so you can easily partake in loud evening festivities if you like but rest peacefully and quietly in your room afterward). Great place. I will recommend to all friends and family that visit us in Turkey!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I almost was not going to add my 5 star review as just about everybody rates this small hotel excellent. Very clean, very well maintained and Gary and Rory(the owners) were excellent hosts.
The layout of the hotel with the gardens and pool are just great for relaxing. The beer is cheap, the company great and the pool refreshing.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

For us in our rental car, this hotel was so hard to find amidst Bodrum’s twisting streets and frantic traffic that we finally hired a taxi to lead us there. To be honest, I found the location a bit too far from Bodrum's seaside fleshpots for a comfortable hike to and from. But if you're prepared to take a taxi that should be no problem. Otherwise, the location is splendid. Perched up on a hillside beside a dramatic rock outcropping, it affords great views of Bodrum, the Aegean Sea and some Greek islands beyond. Our modest suite comprised a small living area, a bedroom large enough for a king-size bed, and a functional bathroom. The room’s best feature was its balcony which afforded a splendid view over the hotel pool and beyond to the Aegean. What makes this place truly exceptional is the hospitality of the two owners (Gary and Rory) and their majordomo, Muhammad. All three leave no stone unturned as they strive to accommodate their guests' needs and whims. Breakfasts are ample and delicious, on par with the best we sampled in Turkey. Our hosts’ recommendations for dining in Bodrum were spot on. If you like small animals, then you’ll be very pleased here. The Aegean Gate provides refuge not only for weary humans but also for many stray cats and even a few dogs. Bottom line: Wonderful hosts, gracious accommodations.

Room Tip: Take a second floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#15 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing