We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday in 5 Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Selby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Holiday in 5 Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

The hotel has six suites which are all well decorated and keep beautifully clean, a nice pool area with bar and sun loungers that over look the sea and Kos beyond. These alone make the hotel worth staying at but it's not this that makes the hotel special. From the moment enter the hotel you feel comfortable and at home because Gary and Rory the owners take great care that you should feel this way and that this is your holiday and they will go out of their way to make sure it's enjoyable. Samson (the love of my life) is a large doopy (sorry Gary) "scoopy doo" of a dog who will help you while away your day lazing by the pool or sipping drinks at the bar if he can get the energy up to move. There are also Troy, Thumper, Gismo and Blondie four beautiful rescued street dogs who occasionally visit the hotel from the owners' apartment and can be seen if your lucky peeping from the back office.

I booked this hotel on the strength of the good reviews and I was not disappointed in fact I think it exceeded my expectations. Great time had and thanks to all who made it so.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
232
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Gary picked us up at the pier having just arrived on the ferry from Istanbul. He then trundled our bags up to our 3rd floor apartment. We unpacked in time to crack open a bottle of wine and enjoy the view of sun setting over the island of Kos from our balcony. Latter we went down to the pool to join a group of fellow tourists who usually congregate around the pool and bar after sunset to chat about everything from antiquities to politics. Gary was usually on hand to both serve and add to the conversation. Breakfast was served on a shaded patio, also overlooking the blue Aegean. After arranging a car for us, we went about our daily excursions and explorations and looking forward to the evening poolside congregation. The facilities are both well decorated and immaculately kept, plus you get the added hospitality of Troy and Samson: well-mannered 'partially' adopted Bodrum street dogs who have their vaccination tags pinned promenently on their ears, thus giving them full rights to come and go as they please.
If this doesn't do it for you, you have to be terribly jaded.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

The Aegean Gate is without question the best place we have ever stayed. We visited Bodrum in June this year for two weeks for our honeymoon and completely fell in love with the town, the hotel, the guys who own it, and most of all, their pets. You can tell that Gary and Rory are good guys due to the amount of street animals they have rescued, and this care and attention really extends to their guests. They honestly can’t do enough for you, and look after you so well, from car hire to restaurant bookings to sterling advice on where to eat (our favourites were Velioglu just down the road, Evgenia, and La Passion in town), haggling and what to see and even to fixing ear rings! Gary waited up for us to arrive until 5 am after a four hour delay, and still managed to be as hospitable and welcoming as is possible, even allowing us a long lie the next day and a late breakfast (delicious by the way. ) If you aren’t too keen on pets don’t panic, the only one of their five gorgeous dogs who is allowed in the hotel is Samson, a real gentle giant who will either lie and sleep in the sun well out of your way, or if you are a pet lover will allow you to pet him to your hearts content. He tipped my wife as a dog lover straight away and virtually adopted her for the fortnight – as we were on honeymoon I was slightly jealous that her attention was elsewhere! She also managed to befriend the other four dogs despite them not even being allowed in the hotel. There are also a few cats (as with most Mediterranean countries), so if you aren’t the biggest pet lover I’d advise a room upstairs, but we loved them. The hotel itself is beautiful, with lots of little areas to relax and enjoy yourself, shady or sunny, and gorgeous views. While they only do breakfast, the guys will order you in lovely Turkish food from a restaurant outside – there were a few days we were too chilled to leave the hotel and the food provided was wonderful. The hotel bar is reasonably priced (cheaper than town) and it is lovely to come back from town and chill out and chat to Rory and Gary and the other guests. Also very helpful was the hotels’ next door neighbour Omer, who is good friends with the owners and a frequent visitor. We also reccommend a trip to the hammam in town - the guys can tell you where. All in all we can’t wait to go back, and my wife can’t wait to go back and see Samson!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at this gorgeous boutique hotel at the end of June. We loved it sooo much we are returning in late September and next May too.
I agree with everything "Spanish Sneeze" says in their review apart from saying that Bodrum tourist tack is steadily encroaching. We loved walking around the town in the late evening and sipping cocktails in the stylish Yacht Club bar. I didn't see a single shaven head with tattoos ALL WEEK!

Back to the hotel: it is immaculate, very well situated and the owners Gary and Rory are superb hosts with an abundance of Irish charm.They feel like great friends in no time at all. You cannot fault their choices on restaurants......simply superb! and if you are used to London prices as we are, a real bargain too.

They are No 1 on Tripadvisor because everyone who stays at the Agean Gate is overwhelmed at having discovered them.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K2HOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Aegean Gate. We had gone there purely because it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor, and we wanted somewhere relaxing, sunny - but not touristy - to stay, and this place was perfect.

The personal touch is exactly what makes AGH such a lovely place to stay. Samson and Rory do an excellent job running the place, whilst Gary trots around the pool and lies in the shade (and gets a bit overexcited at teatime). Spotless rooms, convenient location and peaceful hillside setting aside, it is the care and attention that the owners pay to each and every guest that means they deserve every single recommendation they get. They'll go out of their way to ensure that you are 100% happy, and their beautifully kept rooms and garden are a pleasure to stay in.

With regard to Bodrum, the tourist tack is steadily encroaching on the otherwise pretty town, but you can avoid this if you're careful. Go to the Castle, Ephesus and the local Turkish bath. And ask Gary and Rory to tell you where to eat because they've got some fantastic recommendations - especially the restaurant up in the hills.

All in all, a very relaxing, easy and pleasant stay. Thank you! I'm getting all nostalgic for the mixed fruit juice and Turkish pizzas...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishSneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed here three nights in May, for a bit of relaxation before taking a Kayak trip down the Lycean coast.. I chose the Aegean Gate based on reviews in Tripadvisor, and was really glad I did.
On arrival by Ferry in Bodrum, we became a bit concerned when the taxi seemed to take forever to get to the hotel, but on foot, it is much easier and quicker to get to the Bodrum waterfront.
Gary and Rory ( I hope I got that right) were hugely entertaining, and keep the place spotless. We spent most of the day lazing around the pool, ordering in lunch ( yummy and exceptional value) then heading into town for the evening. The hotel is on a fairly steep hill: we relished the excersise, but those less keen on walking can easily catch a cab.
The rooms are wonderful: far better than the pictures on their website indicate, and the pool area is just as good as it looks in all the photos.
Big softies that they are, the boys spend most of their time and money rescuing stray dogs and cats: there are a few that are unofficial pets, and a couple that are permanent fixtures( Samson is an adorable huge thing), but they are beautiful creatures and extremely well behaved. I would head back here without hesitation: we really wished we had longer there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashpackerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Every other reviewer has stated my exact sentiment but they have managed to do so far better than I could. I'll just add - we were travelling with our adult daughter and she loved this hotel more than any other we'd stayed at during our month long vacation. A big hi to Rory and Gary and I sincerely meant it when I said "if they every want to sell individual suites to let me know". Also one more thing - we were leaving early to drive to Ephesus so we would not be around for breakfast. Gary brought round a tray the night before with cereal, yogurt and fruit so we would not have to start our long drive on an empty stomach - just one example of the extra mile they go to ensure you have a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieadanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#10 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#15 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#12 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing