We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IN OUR EXPERIENCE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mandarin Apart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Mandarin Apart
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bitez
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“IN OUR EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

just to say that we have stayed in mandarin gardens over the past several years and to be honest weve always really enjoyed our stay .the location is not far from bitez beach and resturants,and the apartments are extremely relaxed and chilled out much like bitez itself.we have found that the staff have been very helpful when called upon for anthing that was needed regarding facilities .like any visitors to turkey communication is essential,between guest and staff whether problem big or small.as i said staff we have found always approachable and helpful.each year there have been changes and as we prepare to travel to mandarin gardens this weekend we look forward to see what they are .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tontbohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    32
    17
    14
    19
See reviews for
64
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Myself & my partner stayed here for a week in August. We read the reviews about the Mandarin Gardens which were a mix of good and bad. However, nothing from the reviews could have prepared us for the experience we had. From the outset we were harassed by male members of staff, being followed to our rooms, staff calling to our room in the middle of the night and despite our persistent rebukes and eventual complaints to the management about these particular staff we were not taken seriously until a few days into our holiday when at that stage the harassment was so severe that one of the men was fired and another disciplined. Throughout our stay, we felt unsafe, nervous and anxious in that apartment complex – so much so that we had to spend two nights sleeping on the balcony, (it felt safer than the apartment), we had to stay within a group of other holiday makers and even had to have company going to the loo. Our long awaited and hard earned break in the sun was totally ruined by the behaviour of the staff in this hotel. Our holiday was a total disaster.



I have contacted the travel company and the travel agent that recommended these apartments telling them of the harassment we had to endure and advising them that they should not be recommending the Mandarin Garden Apartments to single women (on their own or in a group).



As for the apartment complex, we paid for a budget holiday and therefore we expected budget accommodation, but the standard was far less than budget accommodation. The bed linen and towels were not once changed in the week. The shop attached is a totally rip off – do not shop there.



Best Room Advice - Do Not Book Your Holiday Here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraMca1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORABODRUM, Guest Relations Manager at New Mandarin Apart, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your criticism.

After your complaints in our hotel that you have informed us 2 days ago, without searching any further we have fired this personnel.
We believe that, this behaviour of ours about firing this personnel immideately after your guide has spoken to us, shows how sensitive we are on that kind of issues and how professionally we look after 20 years of experience.
The next day you have come to the reception, called your agency and told them that this personnel is still at the hotel and you are very uneasy about it. Though, the official procedure takes 2 days to fire someone. Yet again, for you to feel safe we have casted this person out of the hotel by speeding up these procedures.
We have been serving in this industry since 1993 and we mostly cooperate with the Irish market. We have never received such a complaint before. Even though we have fired him, the research about this issue is still going on in our hotel.
We believe that mentioning in your letter that our hotel is unsafe for ladies is very misleading and unfair, because our facility is really a very safe and decent place.
Also, about the cleanliness of your room we have checked the report and spoken to the housekeeping team. We have been informed that you have given your permission for cleaning between the dates of 14 and 16 August, and the other days you did not want your room to be cleaned, just asked the bin to be emptied.

We would like to let you know that it will be our pleasure to see you at our hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bitez hotels

brighton, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Overall the property has grown on me. It is very relaxing, and the 3 pools are lovely as is the restaurant. Just to correct an earlier review that nearly made me cancel our reservation, there is no loud music at all except for a once a week Turkish night. The place is very chilled out!

We are in a 2 bed apartment, which is fine in size but please note in all apartments there is only air con in the bedrooms so I would not sleep more than 4 in a 2 bedroom apt or 2 in a 1 bed apt unless someone doesn't mind sleeping on the floor. I guess when it's not so hot, this wouldn't be a problem. (Also 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom apts are in different parts of the property so make sure if you are a larger family, you book 2 apts of the same type as otherwise you cannot get them close together.)

The only problem we have had is with the cleaning of the apartments. The cleaner does come in most days but he will only sweep the floor and make the beds and spray febreeze. We have requested a couple of times for the floor to be actually cleaned maybe once a week, particularly in the bathroom and on the balcony (we have stopped using the balcony other than to hang towels due to the rodent droppings which are never cleaned away). The staircase is also filthy and we requested again for the rodent droppings to be cleaned from here which was done once but of course, they keep coming back and I know it won't be cleaned again until we ask again. The management do try and help when we request things but it's getting a bit tiring keep having to request the most basic cleaning. I'm sure the customer services lady dreads the sight of me coming. It is also unfortunate that our apartment is above the main cleaning cupboard as every day there is either dirty linen, rubbish or both at the bottom of the stairs. I'm sure this is the reason for so many rodents in our block!

So all I can say is come on guys, bring in some better cleaners and continue the great service in the bar and restaurant, and the mandarin gardens can truly be great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyruthven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just got back from a great 2 weeks at the Mandarin Gardens. The location was great, just a short 5 minute walk from a choice of great beaches, all the beds are free and the service from them all is first class.

Back to the Mandarin Gardens.. Rooms were good, comfortable, CLEAN with a change of bedding and towels every other day, and when ever we asked for clean towels. The staff were courteous, friendly, helpful and approachable. Special mention for Ilan, the main man, nothing is to much trouble for him and when he says he will do something or get something you could put your life on it. All in all a good location for a relaxing holiday, with good quality food at good prices. The 3 pools are a great idea, with every apartment well catered for. Good sized balcony, with lovely views of the gardens.

In conclusion for a for a budget holiday, well recommended.....

Room Tip: Ask for upper level at second pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill_Reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I LIKE MANDARIN GARDEN.. ıs very populer place .. nıce gardens, good rooms, 3 swımıng pools.. workıng persons all ways try to help... ıs neer to beach to just 5 mınutes walk.. ıf you need to go anywhere smol buss ( DOLMUS ) take you to place.. ı love thıse place and my sons love to.. ın garden have got a bar and resturant. .ı can say hello to my workıng freınds .. thay sold thıngs out strate a way.. garden and pool you can enjoy all day.. ı want to go back agaın an thıs tıme ı wıll come for 2 or 3 weeks , becose 1 week not enagh.. ı hope you come see how good thıs plase ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IlhanDURSUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

i stayed 1 week at this hotel,staff are very polite and helpful especially ilhan the receptionist.the room was not 5 star but clean.food was good,the pool was nice and clean.i enjoyed the good night life in bitez.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank almanlondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Sitting here in the bar - we are a party of ten in three different rooms in the Mandarin Gardens. It's a lovely place - nice atmosphere and very good quality. Sure - if we 'd paid thousands you might get perfection, but this is a bargain holiday and really good value.

The rooms are fine,the air conditioning costs extra, but is well worth it - and we are all tall enough to hang up our clothes ( check out the picture of the small complaining person elsewhere on this site - hilarious!). The beach is a 10 minute walk - yes it's uphill to come back - but we reckon that's normal - we'd be worried if it was at sea level!! The pools are great - with 5 teenagers in our party we did make some noise today and annoyed a few couples but c'est la vie!

The furniture is fine - perhaps not Habitat - but perfectly functional and clean. The fridge works, keeps water and beer cold, and we certainly did not plan to cook - so the camping "hob" and kettle are really all that we would want - no plans from any of us to do a Heston Blumenthal whilst we are here!!!

So - Tripadvisor - beware of the trolls ( or dwarves) be realistic, and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.2 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#13 of 40 in Bitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Bodrum
Ramada Resort Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#1 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#11 of 40 in Bitez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mandarin Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mandarin Apart

Property: New Mandarin Apart
Address: Gundogdu mevki 1313, Bitez 48400, Turkey (Formerly Mandarin Garden Apartments)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Mandarin Apart 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Mandarin Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Garden Apartments Hotel Bitez
Bitez Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing