We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around....”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Ambrosia and on balance was just as enjoyable as the first time. I wish we'd known about the bigger rooms with the king size beds on the last visit... might be worth asking for a move if you find yourself in a small room with no balcony! I had called in advance with simple room request which was not carried out but thankfully we were able to resolve the problem quite easily the day after we arrived.

I’d heard that the food quality had improved but I’d say it was on par with last year (which was generally good) the addition of the baker making fresh flat breads during the evening meal service is a great addition! One improvement desperately needed for the food service area is chilled cabinets. Leaving any fresh seafood and mayonnaise based salads etc out in 30 degrees + temperatures for nearly 3 hours is a recipe for disaster and they should be avoided completely.

There are improvements being made all the time, new seating in the dining areas, new comfortable pads for the sunbeds by the pool and on the beach, new hand rails being installed on stairways and decking being replaced, all add to the improving quality, the shop in the hotel has also opened. The new general manager has a visable presence and is determined to raise standards and I’d like to thank her for assisting my father in getting a lovely bouquet of flowers for my parents wedding anniversary.

I doubt we'll be back for a 3rd visit next year as there's a big world out there but I'm sure that standards will continue to rise and look forward to visiting again at some point in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Ambrosia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is scrupulously clean; the air conditioning is excellent, effective and quiet and the hairdryers the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. They would however benefit from a lead longer than 2 feet which barely stretches across the basin though they may be better in other rooms. The staff are sometimes pleasant but have no or limited English. Breakfasts are good with an array of fruits, salad and cheeses and omelettes made to order. Finding cutlery or bowls was difficult at times especially after 9 am when things seem to run short. You would benefit enormously if you speak Turkish when staying here.
Our opinion is the hotel is superficial and once past the common areas many things fall sadly short of the mark. Things need updating or tlc. Most of this is cosmetic. Service could be introduced. Some staff appear to speak some English just a few days prior to departure. Furnishings and room decoration are sadly poor despite the fact they look very good in photographs. Fittings were often loose or fell off or apart but it must be said the management dealt very effectively with faulty fittings as soon as they were reported. In fairness it may have just been our room and the others, certainly from reading other reviews appear to be spectacular. There are no lifts. Two flights of stairs and incidental steps here and there. Steps up to the breakfast buffet area. My companion who has walking difficulties found the experience unpleasant and exhausting.
We found the disco music rather loud for our taste but we were not looking for the 18-30 experience. Happy hour is a popular idea but again very loud music accompanied by very excited dj's shouting into microphones. People staying at other locations in Bitez complained to us about the noise from our hotel! We were surprised there was no service at the pool. Sunbeds in peak season are insufficient for requirements although when you can get one they are very comfortable. We would have ordered more drinks if there was pool service, possible snacks as well but it was simply too difficult to balance drinks and managed the stairs. We did sleep well generally after 12 when the music stops. The spa is well worth a visit but you will have to find your own towel or get one from reception and work everything out for yourself. The massages are excellent.
This may be one of the better hotels in the Bitez area we simply don't know but 14 days was more than enough. We were keen to go home after the first day and were it not for the escapes we found on fabulous boats, the sun and swimming in the Aegean (not from the hotel beach which we found to be dirty despite the fact the hotel advised it is cleaned every day) it would have been a truly miserable experience. It was just not for us. We are used to rather more courtesy, sophistication and superior service and accept full responsibility that on this occasion we made the wrong choice.

Room Tip: If you like lots of music and you are going to Bitez to party then take a pool room if you can get o...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rutherford_warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed in Ambrosia Hotel the last week in May with a friend and we had such a lovely time.
The hotel facilities and location are excellent. Ambrosia is located right beside the beach so not far to go to laze for the day in the sun, look at the beautiful view and sometimes partake of Happy Hour!!
As we were half board we had both breakfast and dinner there. The food was always very good, fresh with lots of choice. We had a nice spacious and spotless room. It was cleaned daily so always had fresh towels and newly made beds.
A must do is a Turkish Bath in the lovely Spa downstairs in the hotel, just beautiful!
All staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly. They were always in great form and made you feel extremely welcome, especially all the waiters and bar staff (too many to mention).
It was also good to see the owner every day as well; meeting, greeting and eating there too.
We had such a wonderful week staying at Ambrosia Hotel and we hope to be back again very soon.
Thanks to all for making it so great!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time we had stayed at the Ambrosia and after a great first trip in Sept 2011 I wondered if this could live up to it. My concern was shortlived as it was as good if not better. The hotel facilities and location are excellent, the food at both breakfast and dinner is good with plenty of choice and the rooms are pleasant and cleaned well on a daily basis. What sets the Ambrosia apart though is the staff! I truly have never known such warmth and friendliness from staff at a hotel. Everybody goes out of their way to make your holiday as enjoyable as it could be. It's like being embraced by a family and I hope that in the not too distant future we will be able to make it 3 trips!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent a week in Ambrosia at the end of May. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel & its staff. We arrived at 5am in the morning tired & hungry & within 10 mins of getting settled we were sent a salad roll & juice to our room. We met the owner most days who was very friendly & helpful. Tahir, Simon & Richard made us feel at home & looked after us so well . We always felt we could ask them anything & they would do anything for us. Even the staff who had little English made such a big effort even though they were busy. Our room was clean & comfortable & the food was lovely in the restaurant.The beach was lovely so close to the hotel with really comfy loungers!!!! I cannot fault this hotel - we had such a lovely time!! Thanks everyone :)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank maireadMayo_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

just had 2 weeks at this hotel after booking in we went to our room no117 which was like a dungeon dark and dismal after a long chat with receptionist got moved to another room we were half board food was not bad but i would say 50% of the staff need retraining other than that weather was hot

Room Tip: try and get a pool veiw ie rooms 127 to 130
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel was of modern design, spacious with wide bright corridors, rooms were sufficient and comfortable, cleaned daily. we had a great view from the balcony of both the pool and Bitez bay which has an allure all of its own, especially at early evening.
somehow the design of the hotel was very attractive and well laid out, not sure how many rooms, would guess about 80. The pool was excellent, maybe a few more umbrellas needed.

the staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though the D.J. gave the impression he was playing at a teenage disco with his choice of music which he played through "happy hour" much to the annoyance of most guests. though he was very personable apart from his boom boom taste in music.

I have passed this hotel for over 10 years, this being the first year we have stayed, I will certainly return. The hotel has improved its grounds each year, could probably improve the beach area a little, but must not nit pick.

My one concern not about the hotel but about taxes laid upon alcohol, which is getting out of hand with the rate of increase, also gather that laws are changing to a more Muslim fundamentalist attitude rather than the secular rule enjoyed for the past 100 years.

outside of that had a truly enjoyable holiday. thank you Bitez and Ambrosia. don't change to much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillkeithClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitez
0.4 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Okaliptus Hotel
Okaliptus Hotel
#25 of 40 in Bitez
244 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevki, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bitez
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bitez
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
#7 Family Hotel in Bitez
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
Price Range: £28 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambrosia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Features: Consists of 82 Standard Rooms and 8 Suite Rooms, in which you will find Mini bar, Telephone, Digital Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Hairdryer, and Balcony. General Features: Half board, Worldwide Kitchen, indoor/outdoor restaurants, Ala carte restaurant, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar and Beach Bar. Outdoor Swimming Pool, Outdoor Children’s Swimming Pool, Entertainment, Children’s Play Area, Gym, SPA, Laundry/Dry Cleaning, Currency Exchange, Baggage Room, Doctor. Meeting Rooms: 450 person Meeting Room, 350 person Ballroom, 60 person Workshop, and 14 person VIP Business Meeting Room. All are equipped with the necessary equipment and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing