We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for a week family of three. First holiday to Turkey the hotel very nice lovely reception. Rooms are nice bathroom small shower like a shower in a caravan but very clean and always hot water. We were on half board we had one dinner in hotel. Breakfast not up to much no bacon or sausage the milk for cereals was just in cartons left on side not chilled but saying that there was a good selection of fresh fruits every day one tip take a mug with you the cups are tiny also they need to put name tags on food more on the hot stuff so people don't have to keep opening all the hot servers. Staff very little English be aware of girl on till at happy hour over charges you and won't give you any change. Maid service in room never left enough towels or toilet tissue never saw her till we were leaving 12o'clock then she suddenly appeared no tip sorry. Pool towels a joke they are not towels they look like a table cloth useless. Some lovely restaurants in bitez our favourite was the lemon tree fillet steak excellent. We will be going back to bitez next year but will stay in apartments doesn't warrant paying for hotel. Don't forget to visit the temple bar good entertainment and the barman is great all the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking pool was ok but was low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvthmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good hotel in a great position.staff were attentive and helpful and did a good job in making our holiday a good one.we were half board and the meals were a lot better than we expected considering what we paid for the holiday.would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a great location to visit the resort and peninsular.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank falldownalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A lovely structured hotel which is kept very clean throughout.

Restaurant: there is something for everyone and it is good quality in my opinion although children may struggle if they are more accustomed to fast food; we did experience that as new guests arrived increasing the capacity within the hotel that food ran out early during breakfast and at dinnertime although this was only during the space of two days. If you dine late the choice will not be as wide as if you dine earlier within the sittings. For breakfast and dinner. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive on the whole particularly Halil for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Outside: The pool area was kept clean and there are 30 sun beds which is certainly not enough for the size of the hotel and whilst it is promoted towels left unattended for more than 1 hour will be removed this warning is not upheld. There are lovely seating areas situated to enjoy the sea view one level up from the pool area and the pool bar offers a happy hr between 4-5 daily; the beach area is extensive and is fully serviced by the staff from the restaurant although we experienced issues with not getting our change from the staff serving on and lunchtime food wasn't great ie chips were obviously re-fried but there are plenty of other restaurants along the beach strip to choose from.

Accommodation is spacious and contemporary, access to the room is by a key card, this caused many problems for us throughout our two week stay as the key unprogrammed itself 18 times. Again reception staff were happy to help and the repair man came out to help but this didn't overcome the frustration we felt having to go down from the first floor each time we encountered a problem (maybe we were just unlucky with this fault, it happens)

Room servicing: housekeeping was not very attentive for our room, our experience was they forgot to leave towels and toilet tissue however reception quickly rectified any problems we experienced.

Hotel lobby area: a lovely area with spacious seating and a beautiful chandelier to compliment the disappointment during our stay in May – June 2014 was that the hotel lobby bar remained closed throughout our stay. It is my opinion that if there are 20 guess or 200 all facilities should be available when guests are paying for them, on this occasion they were not.

Room Tip: You will experience dogs barking in the early hours and traffic noise in some front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 508jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travel quite a lot for both business & pleasure. We recently holidayed in Turkey for the first time & to say we were pleasantly suprised is putting it mildy.From arrival to departure the Staff were excellent.We were B&B & the breakfast was very good with plenty of variety.We had a problem with the location of our room & Joy the General Manager upgraded us to a Suite for a small surcharge. A problem is only a problem when its not resolved.the Hotel & its environs were spotless with a lovely beach area at the rere of the property.i would have no hesitation in recommending this facility to any holiday & while we seldom return to the same hotel twice, this could be the exception. Gerry Buckley

Room Tip: suggest you request a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerry714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in ambrosia in end of may for 1 week . Its a small hotel but got everything you need . Starting with rooms . Room size was small but clean . Same with bathroom . We booked half board . In breakfast there was enough variety to choose from . I am fussy eater and vegetarian so dinner time i used to have problem . So i survived on chips , pasta n their lovely deserts . Lol . Deserts were so yummy . Staff is very friendly and helpful . But there was no entertainment for kids . Beach is nice and clean . Area is very good . If you follow the beach from the hotel there are lots of good restaurants and shops . And night time its was so lovely to walk along the beach . I found people are very friendly in turkey . Bodrum centre is only 20 min from the hotel . You can catch a dolmus from right outside the hotel which takes you to the centre . Bitez is not a happening place like gumbet but got enough to entertain. I would still choose bitez coz i dont like to stay near all the bars and night clubs . I would like to thanks to all the staff of Ambrosia and would recommend this hotel to anyone who want peaceful and good holiday . And forgot to mention this restaurant its called mayflower . Food was brilliant there . Spl their turkish pizza and mayflower spl flame .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel had everything you needed.The service was was exalent,staff were fantastic and also the food.great beach and pool,clean rooms.you will have to go and see for ourselves,go on,you won't regret it.

Room Tip: By the pool is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from one of the most enjoyable holidays ever, two weeks half-board at the Ambrosia Hotel in Bitez. From start to finish, we were treated efficiently and politely by all the staff who seemed to care that we were having a good time. Nothing was too much trouble.

The building is quite majestic, with its marble floors and arched ceilings, light and airy, with a pleasant poolside area and really comfortable sunbeds. The restaurant area is spacious and sunny, and the range of food was varied every evening with a choice of a cold meze or any one of about five different dishes, mostly Turkish. We were astonished to meet an English couple who said that they were not going to eat in the Hotel as they found the food "too foreign" and could not get the "full English breakfast" that they wanted. Why, we asked ourselves, did they bother to come to Turkey?

The management stated that they had a policy of removing towels reserving sunbeds after one hour; I wish that they had implemented this a little more firmly as in our opinion the only thing that should reserve a sunbed is a backside....... But this is a typically English trait, along with heaping breakfast plates with far too much food and then wasting it. Seconds are always available at the Ambrosia so why pile the plate with unwanted food?

Normally on this sort of holiday we ‘eat out’ at least every other evening. But the quality and range of the Ambrosia’s food was such that we ‘ate in’ every evening, and consequently saved a substantial sum towards our next visit!

The background music in the restaurant was excellent and well suited to the clientele; gentle, melodic and very acceptable. We felt it was a shame that they had to bring in "live music" when very few people stopped to watch. We would also have preferred that the outdoor "music" audible around the pool area did not start until 5.00. To be asked to raise our arms in the air and shake parts of our bodies at 4.00 in the afternoon was not perhaps to our personal taste. However, later in the day the "music" was appreciated by a few of the younger guests.

Taking everything into consideration, however, this is a superb hotel for the price, no frills but we didn't want frills. On the one occasion that I had raise an issue with management it was sorted out within the hour. Thank you Joy!

We will definitely be back in 2015 now that we have learned where everything is in the hotel and the beautiful surrounding area, most of which could have been reached by the Dolmus rather that necessitating a hire car.

If you visit, expect excellent treatment and get yourselves out and about in this fabulous countryside.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool - and make sure you get the evening sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidHollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.4 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#15 of 40 in Bitez
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Risa Hotel
Risa Hotel
#21 of 40 in Bitez
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevki, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bitez
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bitez
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bitez
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
#7 Family Hotel in Bitez
Price Range: £34 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambrosia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Features: Consists of 82 Standard Rooms and 8 Suite Rooms, in which you will find Mini bar, Telephone, Digital Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Hairdryer, and Balcony. General Features: Half board, Worldwide Kitchen, indoor/outdoor restaurants, Ala carte restaurant, Lobby Bar, Pool Bar and Beach Bar. Outdoor Swimming Pool, Outdoor Children’s Swimming Pool, Entertainment, Children’s Play Area, Gym, SPA, Laundry/Dry Cleaning, Currency Exchange, Baggage Room, Doctor. Meeting Rooms: 450 person Meeting Room, 350 person Ballroom, 60 person Workshop, and 14 person VIP Business Meeting Room. All are equipped with the necessary equipment and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing