We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambrosia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Risa Hotel(Bitez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ministar(Bitez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Bitez(Bitez)
View Hotel
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
360
247
105
54
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
247
105
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshamrock barhalf boardice cream manturkeynext yearlovely hotelbeach frontturkish bathbreakfast and evening mealtwo weeksgreat holidaysaladlovely poolpool sidebitez baybeach arealemon tree
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went to Albatross in June this year. Location of hotel is perfect right opposite sandy beach with free sunbeds for guests. First room we were shown to was lovely however outlook was not. Very small terrace with table and 2 chairs and to the side of the terrace was where the deliveries arrived, ie crates of drink etc, also where the staff took their fag breaks, no outlook other than a wall and a small scrap of waste land. We asked at reception to be moved only to be told the hotel was full, which we didn't believe. We were offered a suite at £29 a night more and decided to take it as it was our holiday, what a mistake! The room was lovely with large balcony overlooking the beach but then there was the Shamrock bar! The level of noise from the bar was dreadful, no sitting on the balcony with a book for us. Happy hour is at 4.00 each day, attended by a very small handful of peple, where music played was suitable for under 20's. Each night from 9.30 until after midnight the same thumping music was played, again to a small young audience.

Along the front of the bay are small shops and plenty of places to eat or drink, however the constant hassling was draining night after night. The market was pleasant to stroll round with very little hassle.

The staff at the Albatross speak limited English and can be quite rude, especially in the bar. The food however is really nice with plenty of choice.

While we were there, 2 weddings were held in the gardens and a further party, the guests were very well behaved and didnt interfere with us at all.

If you choose to sit on the beach opposite the hotel you are unable to take any food or drink on there which we felt was a little mean. If you go off the beach at any time for a stroll you are challenged as to where you are going and in the evenings the staff again went out of their way to keep you prisoner within their complex and enjoy their entertainment.

Bitez is a lovely area overall, Bodrum has an amazing waterfront with a relaxed but busy atmosphere and is a must in the evening. Gudrum is dreadful unless you are under 18 years of age and again enjoy thumping music.

We have been to Turkey 3 times and loved this area. However the Albatross needs to address their staff and music levels. We all like to let our hair down when on holiday but also like to relax with a book a glass of wine and some p&q.

In summary, Bitez is lovely, the beach is glorious and the people along the strip friendly if not a little bit annoying. The Albatross's rooms are lovely, the location perfect and the food really good. The only let down for us was the noise, which was such a shame as everything else was just what we wanted.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near shamrock bar as noise levels are dreadful! Happy hour at 4.00 with thumping music ideal for anyone under 20, then further noise all evening until gone midnight. Forget having an early night!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JackieBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hi,
Myself and my wife travelled to The Ambrosia hotel in Bitez in the first two weeks in July. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, food and general looking after by the staff. The views from the balcony onto the Aegean Sea are simply stunning at sunset. We had an issue with a room when we first arrived but spoke to the staff at the desk who do not grasp the English language very well, so the general manager (Joy) came to the rescue to put us in a more amenable room,sorted.
They have a system where, if you put your drinks on your room number they computerise it and if you leave paying your bill a few days later nothing seems to tally up until you call in Joy to explain the whole system to your satisfaction.
The drinks are cheaper in the hotel than on the strip running along the seafront....
If you need to use WiFi the internet strength is only good in the reception area so there was quite a few frustrated people queuing in the lobby.
The food was quite acceptable, as we went for half board it was the best thing to do.
Along the strip there are various bars and restaurants to whet your taste in all things Turkish.
There is a Happy Hour from 16:00 until 17:00 with loud music, but you get two for the price of one, the only issue is that they give you all of the drinks at once so the second drink is often warm.
The staff once they get to know you will put the second drink in the fridge until you are ready.
We flew with Thomson and the rep there Tom is very good at looking after you.
We went for eleven days and it flew by, and if your return flight is at 01:05 in the morning, rather than pay extra for a room extension to 17:00 why not do as we did and drop all your luggage down to reception by 08:30, have your breakfast then go on a boat trip for the day, return by 18:00 then have a shower in the Spa.
We used a boat trip guy on the strip which is the first boat stand you come to.
Great way to end a very good holiday.
We would recommend this hotel to anybody for relaxation and comfort.

Room Tip: Don't get room 309 as it is small and overlooks the staff smoking area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gerabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

i have just returned from the hotel ambrosia having travelled there as a single person. I was amazed by the size of my room and I had a lovely pool view which I had requested. The food was lovely and something to please everyone. Never had to get up early to get a sunbed around the pool and there was always the beach just across the promenade. I wanted a lovely relaxing holiday which I did indeed get and would definately go back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ladyp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosiabeach, General Manager at Ambrosia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, we will pass along your thanks to our staff and hoprfully we will see you back in the not too distant future
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for 10 nights june/july...
Well we was so impressed from entrance all the way through! We had the most amwzing relaxing time! We did a few trips went to turgatris market, water park & qaud safri... best one was the market! Water park was good but it was way to hot to be walking up all the stairs! Qaud safri was a disapointment we drove round a field & the guy took all these profeasional pica and we never got to see them! We couldnt fault the location! Great beach, shame we only sat round the pool once as people are up at silly oclock to put towels down. Food was good lots of choice, & different dishes each day! would say bring evening meal time forward abit... we also tried a few other places to each sunset, vona n the lemon tree, lemon tree was by far our best meal out, it was perfect!! The staff where great and so friendly! We had a turkish bath at hotel this was lovely! Had use of gym, sauna, steam room & jacuzi. Would recomment going parasailing, its expensive but was so worth it! Would recommend only the irish singer once a week as it got abit boring. But overall we really enjoyed our stay & i hope we can return next yeae. Thankyou

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gembob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosiabeach, General Manager at Ambrosia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us . We will in the future obvıously have to be more diligent in our inforcement of the pool bed policy , our pool is a standard size and for health and safety reasons we have to restrict the number of sunbeds , sofas and loungers in the deck area and have relied on peoples good sense to use thebeds and leave them free when finished an ıdea which most people have gone along with but apparently no so during your stay thank you for highlighting this for me and we will be removing towels left unattende in the future
İt would be our pleasure to have you stay with us at any stage in the future , again thanks for review , we welcome any ıdeas which help us to deliver a better service
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week at the start of July. The room is quite modern and spacious, there were a few things that needed fixing but overall it was perfect for what we wanted.

The breakfast was your standard Turkish breakfast, a plus point though was a chef on hand making fresh eggs, omelettes and pancakes.

The pool area is lovely, however as most have said there is a lack of sun beds which means everyone getting up at the crack of dawn to put towels down. The happy hour at the pool bar isn't all it's cracked up to be, only 4 cocktails from a list of about 16, and the fact that the staff don't understand English makes it abit of an inconvenience when you only want 2 but end up with 4.

My only issues to speak of were staff from the spa constantly badgering you for treatments, even though you tell them from day one it's not your thing, and the other were the doorman of the ambrosia restaurant at the front who hammer you day and night to come in when you wish to try the other restaurants in bitez and even when you go in on a lunch time they pester you for dinner. Handy tip is to go out the front of the hotel and cut through manuella as they have a beach route ;)

Also I would advise you check your mini bar and notify them of any missing stuff that wasn't used, our mini bar was only stocked on our last day, and when we went through the list there was a can missing which we didn't think anything of, until they tried to charge us for it upon check out which was annoying.

It's close to the beach, and as most of the restaurants along the front has it's on private part, which is ideal when the pool sunbirds are taken up as there are loads there.

I would advice trying restaurants along the front as they serve up some really fantastic food. My top ones were seaside, sunset and vona.

Pros defiantly outweigh the cons, a nice little number and will defiantly return in the not to distant future.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Chubberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrosiabeach, General Manager at Ambrosia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for sharing your vıews with us , we are always interested in any advice our guests wish to share with us , your remarks regarding our teams performance during your stay have been passed along to the relevant personel and the issues highlighted have been dealt with.
As to our pool issue I can only say that this is an issue We have only been recently made aware of as we trusted to our guests better natures with in the case of your stay was obvıously very much wanting .
Hopefully we will meet you again in the not too distant future and have the oppurtunity to rectify these small issues , again thank you for sharing your vıews with us
Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews