We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and Quiet Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Me and my partner visited the summer garden appartments in july 2010, and we were both very happy with this place. All in all the summer gardens we would give a 10/10, but we travelled with thomas cook, and that was what made the holiday a flop.

Upon arrival to the hotel, the reception staff were very friendly and were very quick to check us in, we payed for the air con which was charged at 3 turkish lira per day (definatley required), we were given a room which was not great as it overlooked the main road but it was 5 am when we arrived so we got some sleep and spoke to the staff in the morning who put us in another stunning room overlooking the pool.

The shop next door is worth going to as a large bottle of water is only 50p, where the bar will charge £2, they sell everything you need like snacks, sandwich stuff, drinks all the way to toiletrees etc.....

During the stay the barstaff are truely brilliant, constant entertainment from them and good laughs, the drinks are average price, the local beer EFES is around £2.50 for a pint and a bit, but the large cokes are £3??? We did not stay full board and only did room only, the food we had during the day by the pool bar was ok nothing special and reasonable in prices, the restauraunt food is not that great and a short walk (5-8mins) to the beach front restaurants are well worth it and cheaper.

The transfer to the hotel from airport should take 45 mins, it took us 3 hours as thomas cook threw us into a coach with no rep and with a driver who did not speak english and had no idea where he was going, and he finally dropped us off at the wrong hotel and drove off leaving us stranded!!!! I managed to flag down the local police who kindly dropped us off at the right hotel.

The beach front is beautiful, with stunning views of KOS and at night everything is lit up and great tpo take a walk. The two restauraunts we were recommended by locals were The MAYFLOWER which has a rooftop terrace overlooking the sea and the best views on the beach front, the food here was awesome and be adventurous and try the local cusine, you will not regret it!!! The other is called LAVAS ( ask the bar staff where it is), the food here was stunning, alot of turkish locals eat here which says alot, it is tucked away but i wish i found this place earlier in the holiday, you will be paying £20 - £30 for a meal.

We will be returning to bitez and the summer gardens in the future, although avoiding thomas cook, also worth noting if you dont like night life and busy destinations full of loud mouthed kids drunk AVOID BODRUM AND GUMBET during the night time.

The sunset cruise is well worth doing, it costs £17 and included dinner, and the sunset is amazing, take a towel and swim wear as some captains will anchor down and let you jump off the boat and have a swim, which was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangermouse2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Summer Garden is a pleasant and clean hotel in great proximity to the attractions of Bitez, a small but busy resort close to Bodrum. Main Plus points nice pool area, friendly staff and a good cleaning record. Main negatives, some rooms are simply not fit for holiday purpose, being semi-basement apts. I felt we were allowed a begrudged room change from one of these below ground rooms. The rooms we saw were fairly decorated, but general repairs etc were shoddy (eg most appeared to be unenthusiastic use of a hard as nails gun). The water was never really hot and the shower area could have been improved with just a little more effort. Pool area was quite crowded so beware. The beach is only a short hop through a path and this is where the resort shines. The beach front cafe bars encourage you to use their loafing chairs for free and are happy to wait on your food and drink needs all day. These were good value and we moved to different beach bars each day (for fun and a change!). Change you ££ notes on the front for best rates (better than UK). Eating out was fine on the front with good choices. We tended to use the more authentic restaurants behind the beach later on in the hol (eg the Pedesa) for better value and a little better care and attention.
A visit to Bodrum is a must, short dolmus trip. The castle is a good attraction and there a plenty of shops etc in an easy atmosphere and environment.
Overall a lovely break and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveandjaneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I have just returned from a two week stay with my mum my friend and family friends. We had a one bedroomed appartment which was quite small. The rooms were cleaned daily, but we were frequently left with no towels. We had a problem with our air conditioning which we had to pay extra for and when i complained to reception nothing was done about it. The main pool area was nice and there was always a good atmosphere there.The staff were very friendly and worked hard. summer gardens is only a 2 minute walk from the beach front where you will find all your bars and restuarants. Bitez is a lovly place to stay and this was my second year there and will hopefully returning again next sumer. The nightlife is not so good in bitez but gumbet is only a ten minute taxi drive away. Overall i had a lovly stay in summer gardens and would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoife19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just come back after a week at the Makumba, great staff, very friendly, the room (studio) was very clean, the cleaning lady was superb and made a swan from my partners towel, a lovely touch, the Makumba is only 3 mins from the beach where if you buy a drink at the Chinese resturant you can use the sun loungers virtually all day.
All in all I would give the Makumba and Bitez itself ten out of ten.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slaphead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We have just returned from a two week stay at summer gardens ,bitez which was fantastic.We are a family of six with two younger boys and two teenage boys and the hotel catered for both.The pools were great as they had akids slide and pool and a larger pool for swimming.Ther was entertainment on almost every night,ie,snake show,magic show,fire show and a friday was bbq with belly dancing,turkish dancing and staff show and cost just 25 lire pp.The hotel was very freindly and had a lovely atmosphere.Bitez is a lovely family resort with a gorgeous beach,lovely restraunts and freindly people and already we are booking for next year.All in all we had a wonderfull holiday!!!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank whitefamily72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed at summer garden apartments in Bitez, it was a great holiday and we are planning to return again next year. Our room was cleaned daily and the staff were really friendly and even invited my boyfriend to play football with them after they had finished work. The hotel hosts a Turkish night every Friday with an unlimited BBQ and entertainment including a belly dancer which costs 25TL which is a good night. Summer gardens also provide entertainment most nights which include a fire show, snake show and a staff show. Even though the resort is quiet I would recommend anyone to go as it is easy to get to the busier resorts of Gumbet and Bodrum by regular buses. The place looked really beautiful when we went as all the flowers were out and everywhere was cleaned regularly. The hotel is in an ideal location as it is only a short walk to the beach and the restaurants, the sea is extremely clean and the sunbeds are free when you purchase a drink from one of the restaurants.

There are plenty of day trips to keep you occupied. The trips I would recommend is the chill out cruise which is only for adults but it’s a really nice day and the price of the trip includes lunch and free drinks, which my boyfriend made sure he got his money worth. The best part about the holiday was the trip to Ephesus, one of the 7 ancient wonders of the world, it is around 3 hours away but is definitely worth it.

If you are planning on eating out I would recommend the restaurant at the hotel, Blue Moon or Blanca, the staff in all places were very friendly. At Blanca and Blue Moon we were offered free cocktails every time we ate there and there are lots of good deals to be had, you can get a good three course meal for less than 30 TL per person.

Overall, I would recommend Summer Gardens to anyone, especially families, the hotel is immaculately kept and staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The resort itself is quiet compared to its loud neighbours but has plenty of excellent restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleykarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My woman friend and I stayed for two weeks. A couple of things needed doing in the room such as a sticky door and replacement light bulb and both were accomplished within hours. The room was cleaned and tidied daily and the public areas meticulous at all times. We had a wonderful holiday especially as it is only 2-3 minutes walk to the sea front. Recommend the meze on the Turkish Night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#15 of 40 in Bitez
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#8 of 40 in Bitez
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Garden Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Garden Apart Hotel

Address: Pomelan Caddesi No 15, Bitez 48400, Turkey (Formerly Makumba Summer Garden)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Price Range: £20 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Garden Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summer Garden Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makumba Summer Garden Bitez
Makumba Summer Garden Hotel Bitez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing