We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Sah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Arrived early hours of the morning at the Sah Hotel with a warm welcome from the night receptionist. Once we awoke in the morning and looked out, we were over the moon at this beautiful Hotel. So very well designed and all the detail so well thought out, stunning pool area with lush gardens. We stayed in one of the small rooms which is more than ample, very clean and comfortable. We later looked at one of the larger boutique rooms which was again very beautifully designed and apparently each large room/suite have their own individual design. Lovely typical Turkish breakfast tended to by Murat who is one of the kindest and most genuine people we have met in Turkey. Hotel has its own bar service, mini bar and can provide snacks if you wish. Lovely owners who were always on hand to chat to and share breakfast. Hotel is designed for adults and it was very quiet around around the pool and the general Hotel area. No loud music from any nearby establishments. Bitez has a proper village feel about it.
Situated on one of the roads through, which isn't busy or noisy where you can pick up one of the regular dolmush. To Bodrum town it is between 15 - 20 mins and costs 3YTL which is about £1.30, so great value. Taxi is 29 YTL which is just under £13 so unless you need one, the dolmush is the preferred mode of transport. A 15 second walk out the back gate of the Hotel will have you standing in the warm shallow sea, brilliant. Great views along the beach which has a lovely mosque almost on the sands and you can also see the Greek island of Kos.The resort in June was very nice, not too many people and the restaurant choice had pretty much for all tastes. All the restaurants have their own beach bed section on the beach which you can use free if you buy a drink or something, so that is good. For an afternoon snack we used Yummies, owned by Umut. It is a small local kebab outlet that does other snacks and is very reasonable. Great little place to sit and unwind and people watch as it is in the heart of the new village, you will find him just across the road outside the front of the Hotel. Opposite him you have a lovely couple, Medine and Serkan who have the Ladies salon and barbers and we made regular use of these and they are such nice people. There is also a nice coffee shop with pastries and ice cream. In fact this resort does pretty much top our list of friendly genuine people compared to our other many visits to other parts of Turkey. So the Hotel gets 5 star thumbs up from us and the resort couldn't be better. If you want nightlife then I think you stay in Gumbet or Bodrum, but for a chilled out break with more than enough going on then you couldn't do better than Bitez.
Tips - if you have had a Turkish Bath (Hamam) experience before then we wouldn't recommend the Rayola which is very large complex about 15 mins drive by a transfer mini bus. It is fine but I gave it a saying "twice the price and half the service". Don't get me wrong it was nice (£11 for basic scrub and soap massage) but when you know old traditional Hamams that we normally visit where the locals go, then like us you will enjoy the one in Bodrum next to the dolmush terminal where you can have the full works for £15 including oil massage. Basic scrub and wash is a mere £5. This place was super and you get a proper session instead of being rushed through as the other place seemed more for show as a tourist pulling type of venue and would cost you over double for less Hamam experience .
Eating out, we tried New Season which was fine in Bitez and a couple of others but thankfully we found Lokantasi 06 in the heart of Bodrum where you can eat traditional dishes as well as kebabs if you want them, and see before you buy and get tempted in by the nice dishes on display and it is also a cheaper way of eating out. With four large plates of mixed dishes and two large beers, bread, you will pay only 45 YTL which is about £20, plenty for two people, great staff and atmosphere. The other places including the ones along the front in Bitez will set you back on average 20 - 25 TYL for one main dish (£8 -£11) . Beers in most restaurants are about 5 or 6 YTL which is about £2.50, shops it is about half the price. House wine starts at 20 YTL with their normal selection at about 50 YTL. So nothing too pricey if you shop around.
Bodrum airport wasn't the best but not the worst, very expensive once inside for a snack, almost three times more than the norm and they will take your water from you at passport control, so be prepared. Flew with Pegasus airlines who are a Turkish company and they were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

Have read comments below may they may have been valid at time of writing but hotel had been leased out unsuccessfully. It is now back in the hands of the owners. We had a lovely time at this gem of a hotel. Literally 1 minute from beach. Murat who seemed to work none stop was always at hand if anything was needed. Always a smile and hello from Hazel.We have a rule that we never return to the same resort twice but this is the exception to the rule. We will be back. The one stop restaurant on the prom is great value as was the Toloman.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Having read all the reviews I could on this place BEFORE booking I thought I had done my homework and knew what to expect WRONG. I knew the rooms would be small and was told to go delux but I ignored this and went standard to find a very small room with 2 single beds pushed together with single sheets that didn't fit either bed and only one small duvet, the room was so small you couldn't use it as a twin unless you were very, very friendly with your room mate there was no room to seperate the beds. The room had one 3ft wardrobe with the safe stuck to the shelf with mastic and a little sort of shaped shelf which housed the clapt out telly and a little drawer, a green plastic padded stool(not sure why but it came in handy)and two tiny bedside tables. The bathroom (ha,ha) consisted of a small basin with light above and a hairdryer to the side (and it worked) a toilet that sat approx 6inches from the wall that rocked as you sat on it with a loo roll holder that was positioned by the shower curtain and got soaked everytime you turned the shower on, so you put the loo roll on the cistern, if you do as you sit it hits the floor behind the cistern, the shower head had one angle- straight out! or in it's favour was hand held which was the much better option as that way you didn't flood to much of the bathroom floor, the tray did that for you as we were contantly having to unblock it ourselves. That was the room, the front door being a sliding patio door had no lock when we moved in and the very nice man who showed us to the room said it would be fixed the following day (sunday) so that plastic stool and a waste paper bin became the only means of securing the door for the night. The following day we got up to no hot water and went off to breakfast only to find that the heavest storm ever had hit the resort during the night and everything was flooded, everyone along the front had been hit so no hot water was nothing really.Had breakfast by the pool. Orange juice was 4 lira extra! you got the dried up spam,hard boiled egg, olives. rubber cheese, feta cheese and wonderful fresh bread free, not sure about butter we never got any! The milk jug (singular) did the rounds of the tables when ever you asked for a hot drink. Saw the First choice rep at 13.30 and told her about the lock and what was said the day before, but the man who said he would fix it was far to busy playing with a bush to worry about our lock, she said she would get it sorted. Off we went to explore, came back at 4pm to find that the room had not been serviced and was told that the maid couldn't get in as we never left a key!!!. The room wasn't dirty so why make waves what does it take to throw a small sheet over yourself when you climb into bed and argue over who gets the only single duvet, if your cold turn the aircon off! Day 2 bought much of the same apart from the fact that they got a man to bend the patio door frame a little so that the door would lock, but alas no hot water or room service. I got the owner to do it and wanted to know why there was no hot water and was told that the night watchman had forgotten to turn the boiler on!! Days 3,4 and 5 plus so many other days there was no hot water either in the morning or before 6pm at night , we complained to the rep so much that in the end they gave us an in resort cash refund of £25. per person, in english £'s on the day we left. Basically the owner does not want to turn the boiler on as it is far to expensive although she denied this vigourously. The servicing of the room was at best disgusting, if you do go move the beds guys and see the s..t underneth it, don't think it's seen a broom or mop since the beginning of the season. The pool side looks wonderful with it's colourful cushions and 6 sunbeds enclosed on all sides, absolutely beautiful until...The cushions are filthy and 2 of the 6 sunbeds are broken with screws trying to hold them together, and on 2 days we fould animal excrement around the tiny pool area . As I said we had a standard room on the ground floor (room number 7) and had a little sheltered seating area outside the patio door, those that had a delux had people walking past their ever so slightly larger roomed patio (front) door. The hotel was full of british people and owned by a Belguim Lady who could no more sell the place to her own country folk than fly to the moon, in her defence she only took over at the beginning of the season, but what do they say about first impressions?

Bitez itself was wall to wall sunbeds on the tiny beach with restaurants selling badly cooked cold full english breakfasts (we had one on our last morning to help us home) bolognaise or pizza, the restaurent staff hassled you all the time when walking down the strip and don't beleive it when you are told the the one's on the road are any different, they are cheaper but you still get the hassle. If you do go to Bitez we found two really good places to eat, the staff and the food were really good, (be it a limited menu) La Vas and the Pedessa both found on the road, almost next door to one another. Be warned they get very busy and if you love lamb try Pedessa's Lamb plate (24hours notice) heaven on a plate
Even though Turkey is not in the EU everything was priced in Euro's and the exchange rate lira to euro's is very poor. If you have to wait or have children at the airport take food and drinks with you, buy them at the supermarket, cos even the coach company's rip you off. At the airport 6 lira for a 500ml bottle of water, 8 lira for a small packet of crisps in the little shop with no prices, and for a dried up hotdog a handful of french fries and a soft drink 28 lira from the airport snack bars. There is nothing else. Oh almost forgot 8 lira for a small EFES. Enjoy folks. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the odd couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I had read mixed reviews about the Sah after booking, so was a little unsure of what to expect.
As soon as we arrived, I knew I was going to have a superb holiday. We had room 1 which was a deluxe room and it was large, beautifully furnished and totally spotless.
I had read about noise issues in some reviews, however our room was totally silent every night we were there and were only ever awoken by the morning call from the local Mosque.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and went out of their way to offer us drinks by the pool etc.
The resort was mainly frequented by Turkish tourists, however the locals spoke perfect English and were most charming without being pushy.
We booked it through First Choice who promoted it as an adult hotel and not for families.
The hotel independantly welcome families, however while we were there they only had families with a grown up child or a small baby - no groups of children.
I'd definately return to the Sah and would recommend it to anyone seeking a relaxing, child free break.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pougie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We arrived at the Say Hotel around midnight, to be taken straight to our room, which was a deluxe, and directly opposite the beauty palour (rm5). Quickly unpacked and then went for a couple of cocktails at the Sultan Bar. Lounging around on the big cushions at one in the morning we felt this was going to be a relaxing holiday!

Hotel was lovely and our room was huge! Bathroom nice too, although hot water was in short supply although due to the heat not too worried about that. It was also very quiet, bars seem to close by around one in the morning, and the room was quite sound proof. Only heard the call to prayer at about 5:30 a couple of mornings. The mosque is a short walk away.

Breakfast was tradditional Turkish style, and much the same each day, althought beautifully presented and served. The staff at the bar are lovely, the two young girls and the young man were very quietly attentive. We did get a little fed up with the same every day, and asked for different things, which we got with no trouble.

We also had a meal there and that was wonderful, the best chicken kebab I had all week.

The pool area was lovely and a couple of days we had it all to our selves. The big cushions under the trees were a welcome restbite from the 40+ temps every day. Not suitable for children of any age - too young it would be dangerous and teenagers would be bored stiff. But adults who want to chill - perfect!

The beach is so so, and the sun beds are so crammed in it is difficult to walk between and not really any chance to move them around, Each restaurant have their own sunbeds free of charge, but you pay for any drinks you have, and you are politely asked not to take your own drinks and food onto the beach, so in that respect you are trapped! Water in the shops is 1YTL and on the beach about 4YTL.

Restaurants
Some very good restaurants along the front but I would steer clear of the larger ones (Golden Spoon being one unless you like this type of place, food was OK), as they are a bit brash and you feel as though you are being hurded in and hurded out!

Try Pedosa and the one next door, alough it does not have an alcohol license the food was brilliant, Amphora (brilliant!), The Sultan, Payruz, and the wonderful Black Cat.

Men you must have a Turkish shave and try out Sun Barber, (Eyup and croud!) This is not just shave but a comedy experience you will never forget. They joke and play with the customers and you get a good shave in the bargain. That is if you have nearly an hour to spare!

Bitez itself, nothing much to write home about, nice little bay, but if you like running / walking then there is a wonderful track beyond the small marina that goes for several miles. But care is needed as it is rocky, a horse trail we thought. The promenade along the beach is also nice for a stroll. There are some back streets but nothing much here. It is not somewhere I would want to take children but there were plenty around. There were also a lot of Turkish people about, which I liked! It seemed mostly Dutch and I was told one hotel, which was all inclusive, had only two British people in for the fornight they stayed.

If you want night life this is not the place, go to Gumbet or Bodrum. We also found a nice little place called Gümüslük Dolmus ride away for an even quieter day. Had it not been so hot, we would have explore the local area and tried Turguties, Ortakent also, and maybe spent a day in Bodrum.

Not sure if I would go back, as we do like to try different places and have been totally spoilt by the beautiful Oludeniz- a hard act to follow.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightskies56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

From reading the other reviews, it seems like one of the keys is to make sure you get a deluxe room. Ours obviously was not as it was on the first floor without a balcony or porch. The hotel seemed to be somewhat rundown. Our room was clean but dark, the mirror in the bathroom was cracked and the towel holder was falling off the wall. Most disappointing was that we only had hot water one of the three days we were there.
The pool area is beautiful but the cushions and sunbeds need a cleaning and some were also broken.
The beach has sunbeds packed so close together it is not easy to walk in between them and many of the guests on the beach were smoking. The bay itself is gorgeous and the water is clear and beautiful.
We took an hour walk to the end of the point to find less populated area. The beaches we found would be gems but unfortunately were trashed with washed up water bottles and garbage.
If you are looking for a secluded spot, this area is not the place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waytogo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Just back from two week break at Sah hotel Bitez Turkey.Was very apprehensive about trip as never been to this part of world before, but we had a really great time. Hotel room very spacious, mainly quiet apart from calls to prayer at 4.45 in morning but soon got used to that, only other noise was when Turkey won football. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool was great and for most of the time we were only ones using it.but would not recommend it for children as no shallow end. Sunbeds free but staff check if you need drinks from time to time. We were warned about restaurant staff pestering you but we found if you spared time to listen to banter you got menu with 15% off and once you ate at that restaurant they treated you as friends and did not pester again. Although we tried a variety of restaurants such as New Season, CJ's Sultans And lovely Chinese and Hares on the sea front we found the restaurants out the back such as La Vas and Pedesas more traditional Turkish and a lot cheaper! We would definately go again but perhaps earlier as we were not expecting temperatures to be so high, one day it reached 50. and was mostly in 40's. We had a day trip to Kos catching ferry from Bodrum,a boat trip is a must if you like swimming in beautiful clear water. We say hello to John at CJ's who kept offering us drinks but we never got round to taking him up on it and the staff at Hares who we did have a few with. Also to antonio at BBC who eventually sold us a boat trip. A big THANKYOU to the staff at the Sah for making it a most enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TMT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.0 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meis Apart
Meis Apart
#5 of 40 in Bitez
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cavus
Hotel Cavus
#22 of 40 in Bitez
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yali Han Hotel
Yali Han Hotel
#9 of 40 in Bitez
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sah Hotel

Address: Sah Caddesi Nr. 19, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bitez
#8 Family Hotel in Bitez
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sah Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sah Hotel Bitez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing