We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel with spectacular views”
Review of Doria Hotel Bodrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel with spectacular views”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Doria Hotel Bodrum and I can honestly say that neither myself or my partner wanted to leave! We had a fantastic stay thanks to the friendliness of all staff members, the food available and the amazing views over the 'Black Island' and neighbouring Kos. I must have taken about 100 photos just of the views alone!

The hotel is located a in the reasonably quiet area of Bitez, at the far end of Gumbet, away from the lively bars and clubs. This adds to the general feel of the hotel being a place where you can relax and enjoy the scenery, the art and clear your mind.

We stayed in a superior room, on the first floor of the main building. The room was specious, and kept pristine clean by the cleaning staff ( who might I add were very efficient - we'd literally nip down to the restaurant for breakfast and by the time we'd get back the room was clean!). The room was equipped with the usual amenities i.e. mini bar, toiletries, hairdryer, phone, TV etc. There was however no tea/coffee making facilities available, but you were able to make a quick call to the restaurant to order what you like off the menu.

At the hotel there is a spa and gym available, unfortunately we didn't use those facilities however we were allowed a look round of the facilities and were impressed.
Staff were very attentive and friendly, nothing was of any trouble.

During our stay the hotel was just entering its low season so the beach facilities which we were looking forward to was closed and they also had closed the larger of the 2 pools at the hotel (next to the wellness centre/ club house) which was a little bit disappointing. The hotel generally seemed very quiet, initially we were a bit unsure and concerned as we'd never before been to a hotel this quiet anywhere in the past - but don't let this put you off.

Breakfast at the hotel was good, nice selection on offer - generally the same everyday though but most people usually have the same things for breakfast most days ( I know I do).
Lunch and tea at the restaurant was nice - food prepared was excellent and the wine was delicious (try the Urla Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 if you like red wine). For 2 main courses and 2 glasses of wine you were looking at around 200TL which we found to be a tad expensive. Generally the hotel was quiet in the evening and seemed to lack atmosphere - we went out most nights into Bodrum as a result of this.

There are however a few negatives about the hotel:
- very steep hill to walk up/down. Id consider myself to be generally healthy and in reasonably good shape and I struggled to walk up this hill some days..definitely not for elderly, unfit or those with a heart/lung condition. We came huffing into the hotel lobby one day and was informed that apparently the hotel have some sort of an agreement with the taxi company down the hill and they can ferry guests up. Whether this incurs a charge or is complimentary I don't know as we felt that after lazing at our loungers all day etc we could probably use the exercise instead. We have dubbed this hill as 'Mt Doria'
- there occasionally would be a smell of sewage omitted from a drain on the hill that, if the wind was blowing the wrong way, would make its way up towards the pool/balconies. We gave the hotel feedback about this and they are looking into doing something about it as best as they can..
- at night time the sound from the neighbouring Club Marmara and the Royal hotel seemed a bit too loud on occasion and sometimes disturbed my sleep.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet and a relaxing holiday ( which we wanted and got). It doesnt seem the type of hotel for people with kids, I'd imagine they'd be bored. Should I ever decide to visit Bodrum in the future i'd certainly considering staying there again.

Bodrum practicalities:

- Taxis from hotel to Bodrum centre are expensive and cost around 25-30TL (£9), great if you need to be somewhere quick but soon eats into your wallet.
- Dolmus bus can stop at the bottom of the hill and run every 20 minutes, costs 3TL per person for any stop (£.80) and takes around 30 minutes to get into Bodrum centre.
- Id recommend hiring a car for the day. We were able to explore the surrounding area and got to see things we would have never seen had we relied on busses/tours.
- A trip to KOS is a must, costs 20euros per person and takes about 30 mins to get their via catamaran.

Room Tip: superior room on the first floor of the hotels main building offers spectacular views as well as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great feedback on trip Advisor. We are more than happy to hear that you had a very nice stay with us.
In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was a true pleasure to have you in our hotel.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warm Regards,
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    90
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
190
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beatiful Hotel! Worth it every dolar! Perfect for a romantic gettaway! My wife loved it. The food was great, the room was excellent and the view was beautiful! The service was better than expected! The front desk clerck, Bahadir Gursel, went always the extra mile to make sure we had a great time.

Room Tip: I think all rooms had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Mr Merino,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your great feedback on trip Advisor .
We are so happy to hear that you had a romantic stay in our Hotel with your spouse . In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was a true pleasure to have you in our Hotel.
We are hoping for the pleasure to welcome you back soonest..
Warmest Regards,
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gippsland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here for one night on a group tour of Turkey and was blown away by this hotel. It is spotlessly clean and the whole place was really beautifully decorated in a very understated way which gave it a very relaxed feel. Our room and bathroom was large and really lovely with a view of the garden. Great toiletries in the bathroom, too! The hotel is on a very steep hill and the views from both pools are amazing. We loved the top pool and had cocktails there. We had dinner outside by the lower pool and they gave us a four course meal (included in our tour cost) that was the best meal I had in Turkey. The breakfast buffet was really good too. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the beach or spa as the were only there for one night. It would be a lovely place for a couple to come for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Debbie W,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments about Doria on trip Advisor. We are more than happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed every part of your stay. It is always so motivating to receive such beatiful comments for my team .
We are hoping for the pleasure to welcome you back soonest ..

Warm Regards,
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. The (superior) room was large and had fantastic views. Breakfast was fine - good service, ok food. Magnicent pool settings. Hotel conveniently on local bus route for easy cheap transport into Bodrum. Small detractors were no kettle in room and ongoing noise from loudspeakers at nearby hotel. Overall a fantastic stay for 4 days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Denzil B.,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your great feedback on trip advisor.
We are more than happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us . In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was a total pleasure to have you in our Hotel.
We are hoping for the pleasure to welcome you back soonest :)
Warm Regards,
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Doria Hotel and had a wonderful time. We were lucky enough to have a room with a beautiful view over Gumbet bay; it was a real pleasure sitting on the balcony at night and looking out over the ocean. The room was very attractively decorated and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, with a huge and generous selection including fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, cheeses, meats, olives, yoghurt, cereals, pancakes, etc. The restaurant was a real pleasure - the tables outside overlooking the bay are perfectly placed, and the cocktails are excellent. Lastly, we loved the private beach and the pool. My only (minor) complaint was that there was music continuously playing at both, which could occasionally be distracting, but it wasn't overly loud.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel and hope go back soon, and would like to thank the staff for their friendliness and professionalism.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metapieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on trip advisor. It is so motivating and inspiring to receive such feedbacks..
In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was total pleasure to have you in our hotel.
We will be looking forward for the pleasure to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly, the room was lovely and the pool was a great way to relax. I had a lovely massage one day too. On our last day we left early so we had a packed breakfast to take away with us. The hotel is out of Bodrum a little but was worth it. Thanks to all the staff for making the stay so pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great feedback on trip Advisor. We are more than happy to hear that you had a very nice stay with us.
In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was a true pleasure to have you in our hotel.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back at your earliest convenience.

Warm Regards,
Senda Barreto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I never normally write reviews but had to share my experience of this gorgeous, contemporary hotel in Bodrum! I got back yesterday after a week with my boyfriend, when we arrived we was shown to our room immediately (which was also upgraded as it was our anniversary) the room was spacious and spotlessly clean!
The pools were amazing, and we always found a sunbed, it was really quiet and relaxing (just what we like) Aswell as two gorgeous pools the private beach was amazing! The service and beds was great and reminded me of a south of France beach club!
The food at the beach and hotel was both lovely too! We didn't have one bad thing to say about this hotel and will certainly be returning in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloesespresso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoriaHotelBodrum, General Manager at Doria Hotel Bodrum, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.We are more than happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.
In the name of Doria team we would like to let you know that it was a true pleasure to have you in our Hotel.
We are looking so much forward to welcome you back soonest.

Sunny Regards :)
Senda Barreto Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitez
2.8 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
6.7 mi away
Janna Bodrum Boutique & Spa
1.0 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Bodrum

Property: Doria Hotel Bodrum
Address: 1410. Sokak Gundonumu Mevkii, Bitez, Bodrum, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bitez
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
#1 Spa Hotel in Bitez
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
#3 Family Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Doria Hotel Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once You have arrived to Bodrum, A sign welcomes you; "Hi, You will see Bodrum when you get to Yokusbası. Do not think that you will go as you have arrived. Those who came before you were all the same. But left their minds back in Bodrum to stay." Besides Homer describes Bodrum as "The land of eternal blue”. The sun rising on Aegean crystal water, has been bidden farewell throughout centuries on Gundonumu where Doria Hotel is located on a top hill: a relaxing corner with it unique Aegean bays view, historical mills and Black Island view, hidden in Bitez which is a small village, famous with its natural beaches and tangerine gardens. Doria Hotel hosts the relaxation like your home in a minimalist modern architecture, White colours of unique Aegean atmosphere and one of the most enjoyable beach in Bitez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doria Hotel Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing