We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be much better for the price!...”
Review of Divan Bodrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divan Bodrum
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golturkbuku
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Should be much better for the price!...”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Divan Palmira is the Bodrum leg of the 5 star Divan chain. The hotel is very well located, the buildings and rooms are nice, but quite old and need serious refurbishment. The service is sporadic: very good in the main restaurant where breakfast is served, but quite bad at the beach restaurant which is actually a rip off with mediocre food for Michelin star prices. Bar staff are inexperienced. The worst part is the beach: they have a sun deck (full of people from the outside for the day) and a few sun loungers at the little sand beach behind the sun deck. The beach boys "hold" the sun loungers for non hotel people. These very noisy people with badly behaving children come from nowhere around noon and ruin the day for hotel guests... Certainly not a 5 star experience overall...

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room with direct garden access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenyaTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Divan Bodrum is a small boutique hotel nestled into a bustling water front on the bay of Golturkbuku often referred to as the St Tropez of Turkey. The hotel is quiet and restful with a beautiful pool and private beach area which although cramped is elegant and well serviced. The area is ideal for couples although I cannot say that I would recommend it for children. For my wife and I it was perfect. Rooms are well appointed with excellent bathrooms, beautiful beds decked in white cottons and spotlessly clean. The team is there to serve you with a smile and are always on hand to assist. English is not spoken by all staff which in some ways was nice as the hotel was mainly frequented by high end Turkish clientele including some celebrities, all however discreet and very pleasant. The hotel breakfast is again excellent and the food from the Divan waterside restaurant is probably the best in the bay and would match haute cuisine anywhere in the world, beautifully presented with the freshest ingredients although to be honest the portions are large so you could share plates. This hotel is very special and excellent for couples, the bay is wonderful with crystal clear waters, wonderfully relaxing and not a British package tour operator in sight! Beautiful.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are less expensive and very quiet while the more expensive suites tend to face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on Turkbuku bay. The bedrooms are large,clean and modern, the staff friendly and professional. A beautiful hotel but can get too too busy in high season, we went again in low season and it was far better, the sea area was not filled with large inflatables and hundreds of bathers, we pretty much had the place to ourselves in a comfortable way, after all we are paying!

The hotel charges around 4 times more for drinks etc so eat out, there are some lovely eateries in the smaller hotel area specialising in delicious fish, meze and cakes. The scenic bay- has restaurants and bars all the way along the shoreline and most have tables on the decks over the sea and watch the lights twinkling across the bay and enjoy spectacular sunsets over the hills.
beautiful location, but avoid the crowds!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interlaken, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Divan Hotel is a like a little piece of paradise on the Aegean Sea. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with flowering shrubs draping over the balconies. The rooms are spacious and meticulous with complimentary fresh fruit every day. But most important is the staff that tends to your every need. From Zeynep who greeted us with her warm smile on arrival, to Coskun who advised us on the sites to see, to the wonderful staff who served our delicious breakfast. They are all there to make your visit unforgetable. If you choose you can walk to a number of local restaurants along the beach which are all really good, and browse in the shops along the walkway. It's location is ideal if you just want to hang and relax or you can hop in car and go site seeing. It's perfect either way!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gdabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanBodrum, Divan Hotel Management at Divan Bodrum, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Gdabah,

Thank you for sparing a time to review our hotel. We really appreciate that you shared your experiences from your stay at Divan Bodrum.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

And once again, as every year we returned to the restaurant of Divan Bodrum Palmira. The location is great, the surroudings and the garden are absolutely well maintained.
Eating with you feet in sand on the beach is quite nice.
Unfortunately, the choice on the menu is quite restrictive and the prices are increasing from year to year.
We were six people, four adults and two kids. When I received the bill, I was seriously surprised! Even the quality of the food was acceptable, we had not aperitifs, no drinks, only two glasss of local wine during the meal, 4 starters, 6 main dishes and no deserts and we finished with nearly 900,00 Turkish Lira.
This is really far too expensive!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GS-LUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanBodrum, Divan Hotel Management at Divan Bodrum, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear GS-LUX,

Thank you for sparing a time to review our hotel. We appreciate that you shared your experiences from your stay that you spent at Divan Bodrum.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have been a regular visitor to Turkbuku for 5 years , the Divan Hotel is a regular Sunday lunch stop for me , it is clean , the food is consistently good as is the attentiveness of the staff.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone it is small, the gardens are well kept the staff are all well turned out and the menu whilst limited is very well executed it is not the cheapest of places, but it is the only restaurant along the Turkbuku boardwalk whereby you know exactly what you are paying for and there is no "bill Query" at the end of the night which is refreshing.

I am now adding Wednesday's to my Sunday's so keep looking at ways of keeping the menu Interesting !

Suzanne

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Otimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanBodrum, Divan Hotel Management at Divan Bodrum, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for sparing a time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you shared your experiences from your stay that you spent at Divan Bodrum.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We did breakfast reservation the same day and could use both pool and beach facilities at Divan Palmira. We felt welcome from the first minute. Beautiful location, clean, peaceful beaches and very clear sea. Breakfast was a very good choice. Staff was very friendly and professional. All in all we had a wonderful day. Highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NLie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivanBodrum, Divan Hotel Management at Divan Bodrum, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear NLie,

Thank you for sparing a time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you shared your experiences from your time that you spent at Divan Bodrum.

We look forward to welcome you again for an accommodation too.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golturkbuku
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#3 of 18 in Golturkbuku
233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuum Hotel & Spa
Kuum Hotel & Spa
#5 of 18 in Golturkbuku
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No 81 Hotel
No 81 Hotel
#11 of 18 in Golturkbuku
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel Bodrum
Panorama Hotel Bodrum
#13 of 18 in Golturkbuku
152 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Bodrum

Property: Divan Bodrum
Address: Kelesharim Caddesi No. 22, Golturkbuku 48483, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Golturkbuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Golturkbuku
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Golturkbuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Bodrum Hotel is an oasis of casual luxury and serious serenity, a boutique hotel in one of the most exclusive corners of paradise that was named "the Most Excellent Charming Hotel of Europe and the Mediterranean" by Conde Nast. This exceptional distinction reflects the hotel's uniquely personal approach to guest comfort and satisfaction and its flawless combination of luxury and simplicity that allows guests to both get away from it all and have it all. Luxuriate on the private boardwalk, lapped by gentle waves or relax by the pool sipping a perfectly mixed cocktail with nothing more on your mind than which of our talented chef's tempting creations to enjoy for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Divan Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Bodrum Palmira Hotel Turkbuku / Golturkbuku
Divan Hotel Bodrum
Divan Bodrum Turkey/Golturkbuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing