We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macakizi Hotel Bodrum
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Golturkbuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just spent 4 days at the Macakizi Hotel (July 2014). Let's start with the plus of the hotel:

- Location: amazing view and beautiful gardens

- Food: breakfast, lunch and diner (the 3 meals are delicious)

Now the minuses:

- There is a nightclub close to the hotel which means that if you happen to have a room exposed to the noise you dont sleep until the music stops at 3AM. I complained about the noise. I was first given earplugs and they had only a pair left because they gave away all the earplugs. The next day I was told that the hotel complained about the noise and it will not happen again...... It happened again and again. As you will notice in the other client posts a few of us had to bear with this annoying music. The client relationship manager promised us a free dinner to compensate but that promised never materialized.
When I asked for a room change I was told that the hotel is full. I found out that it was not the case by calling reception and pretending I am a potential client looking for a room.

- The staff is curtuous and some speak english but they will never step out of their lines. While on the beach, I order still water and ice cubes. It turned out that the ice cube machine had a failure and engine oil leaked into the ice cubes. When I told the bar manager about the incident he refused to offer us a free bottle of water.

Overall: For that kind of pricing you would expect a better service/experience. I would not recommend this hotel. The Macakizi is a tourist factory and lost its authenticity: "if you are not happy another tourist will take your room...."

Room Tip: watch out for the nightclub noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacakiziManagement, General Manager at Macakizi Hotel Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, your review is much appreciated.
We are glad that you visited Maçakizi for the second time, although we are sorry to hear that a few elements of your stay were deceiving.
When you stayed last year in June, it was early in the season, therefore much quieter compared to end of July this year. Bodrum in peak season is known to be amongst the best summer party scene, and Turkbuku, the St-Tropez of Turkey. On windy days, the sound coming from the open air clubs nearby would sometime reach some of our rooms, in which case our reception staff contact the clubs asking to turn the volume down. With regards to room change, we always provide solutions to satisfy our guests and improve their sleeping comfort. On these specific days we had unfortunately no availabilty I’m afraid.
It is regrettable that there was a misunderstanding with our Guest Relations Manager, who did not promise a free dinner since our accommodation rate is already inclusive of dinner. As a gesture of goodwill we agree to give you a complimentary treatment of your choice at our NUXE Spa on your next visit. Please quote this review when you make a reservation.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have faced about the incident at the beach.
Guest satisfaction is important to us, rest assured that your comments have been reported to the related heads of department.
Thank you again for your understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ms.Aysegul Dogan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

There could not have been a more perfect spot for some relaxation after a week of touring around Istanbul and Cappadocia! The property is lovely and lush (the waterfront is gorgeous!) and our room was luxuriously simple (and perfectly set up for a family of five which was not always easy to find)! Very helpful staff and in ample numbers to really be able to be attentive. We loved the restaurant and opted to eat there all of our nights for dinner (although there are pother options around if you want to mix it up). And as a final note, my husband left something of nostalgic value behind when we left and the staff went out of their way to find it and return it to us, so we were impressed with that as well! We felt truly pampered while staying at Macakizi!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Macackizi is one of those very rare places in the world that gets nearly all the pieces – little and big -- just right. Set into a hillside that runs into the Aegean Sea, the property uses all of its natural beauty to its advantage: terraces for lunch surrounded in lush green, bougainvillea and sun, a wood and glass breakfast deck with sweeping views, and down at the sea, flights of beds covered with latticed wood to provide just enough sun and cover. The protected swimming cove, right at the foot of the deck, provides plenty of expanse to jump into the sea, yet isn't too far removed to enjoy the armada of sailing and motor yachts who drop line for the afternoon. It's the type of place that makes an architect nod in knowing approval, and a photographer sigh in frustration -- on one hand it's devilishly difficult to capture the fullness of any given setting with a lens, but as a human, moving through each level or around each corner, it feels like stepping into one beautiful scene after another. The owners made good choices. When it comes to eating and drinking, each meal is a treat. The menu every day is fresh and custom-made. During the day, there is a chillout, but not monotonous, soundtrack at the seaside level. As good seasonal spots do, it slowly, almost imperceptibly climbs toward the late afternoon, until its quite well-known happy hour begins. During the morning and all day, it's each to their own -- private couples, families and friends spread around the cove quietly in their own spaces. And yet when happy hour starts, everyone converges together, including the tenders from the large yachts, into the outdoor, almost sail-like bar on the deck, moving happily because the DJ makes it so. The previous hours of rosé may also play a part. Even so, it's much more intimate than say something like Club 55. Of all though, the most impressive bit is the service. They run the type of operation where they take the time to know who's staying on the property and check in with you often. From the staff deck-side, during meals, in the indoor-outdoor gym, and all the way to Clementine, who handles her role with grace and aplomb, everyone who took care of us made the real difference between just another beautiful place and something where we felt truly looked after. We loved it and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just as special as two years ago. Notably more children and families this time, which is fine by us, and more Americans too - ditto. it is really a slice of paradise and the only quibble we have is that music - which is very popular with Turkish visitors but we fantasised about hijacking the system! Special mention of Luca, the fantastic bartender and his martinis. And of Clementine who rapidly reunited the two idiot teenagers who left their passports at the hotel, announcing this fact as we got to the airport (we made the flight!). THANK YOU. we stayed a week - excursions broke up the week nicely.

Food is fantastic. best in Turkey.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

An excellent beach getaway, a beautiful location. Amazing staff speaking fluent english. We where greeted by omer from guest relations who has helped us plan our stay in bodrum and made sure we got the most from our trip wether it was restaurant reservations or boat trips.
The food is superb. We tried breakfast lunch and dinner, and all where amazing. We also loved the snacks on the beach deck.

The beach club is the best in bodrum, beautiful people and excellent service.

A highly recommended hotel we had an unforgettable stay. The hotel design and features, the spa, the rooms, the service, the food all just perfect!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Macakizi is a perfectly curated experience. The amenities are superior - from the gourmet food and beverages to the Acqui di Parma toiletries and Turkish towels. The modern rooms and immaculate facilities are set into a mature landscape with a beautiful view of the bay. The handsome staff is pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerAZ863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just left MacaKizi and got back to Washington DC.

Everything at MacaKizi is made to perfection. The service is outstanding.Staff goes out of their way to please and make you feel comfortable and important. Food, rooms, beach, music, cocktails, wine selection, diversity of wait and bar staff, all is extraordinary.

It seems like the growing competition among hotels in the Bodrum peninsula made MacaKizi an even better place since the core management understands local as well international tourists better than anyone else. Outside the perimeters of MacaKizi is overrated, crowded and lacks quality.When you go out about town, you always come running back to MacaKizi and tell yourself you should not have left it in the first place.

I suggest early morning swim before breakfast and rest of the day takes care of itself!

Truly amazing!

Room Tip: The rooms with the view are breath taking. Room 502 is very private and middle of everything. No vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AliGunertem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golturkbuku hotels
1.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#2 of 20 in Golturkbuku
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Bodrum
Divan Bodrum
#8 of 20 in Golturkbuku
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuum Hotel & Spa
Kuum Hotel & Spa
#5 of 20 in Golturkbuku
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No 81 Hotel
No 81 Hotel
#10 of 20 in Golturkbuku
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Elista Hotel & SPA
Elista Hotel & SPA
#7 of 20 in Golturkbuku
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macakizi Hotel Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macakizi Hotel Bodrum

Address: Kesire Burnu Mevki Nar Cicegi Sok, Golturkbuku 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Golturkbuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golturkbuku
#3 Family Hotel in Golturkbuku
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Golturkbuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golturkbuku
Price Range: £284 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macakizi Hotel Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macakizi is a beautiful boutique hotel with its private beach and prominent restaurant. It is situated on the north of the Bodrum peninsula in a lovely village called Turkbuku and 40 kms away from Bodrum Airport and 22 kms away from downtown Bodrum. Macakizi is also close to some Greek islands such as Patmos, Cos. A total of 74 rooms, include 53 standard rooms, 21 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macakizi Hotel Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maca Kizi Bodrum
Maca Kizi Hotel Bodrum
Macakizi Hotel Bodrum Turkey/Golturkbuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing