We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews! 2 star & does what it says”
Review of Alta Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alta Park Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Gumbet B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Alta Park is a 2 star hotel. Once you appreciate that fact, then you could easily learn to love it like we did. It's kind of like the smelly but nice kid at school - you love them, despite their downfall. the bad reviews have clearly been written by people with too many preconceptions, who reviewed it against their idea of what it should have been, rather than looking at it with an open mind for what it actually is - a basic hotel.
Ok, so back to basics, basic does not equate to bad. In no particular order here's what you need to know: staff are friendly & helpful (as long as you are nice to them and do not expect them to speak to you in English), for example we went out with them on the second night and they took us for the best kebab of the whole holiday! There are two pools, which are clean with plenty of sun loungers (owing to the fact that this seemed predominantly filled with Turkish guests who don't partake in the 'lie-in-the-sun-cooking-my-white-skin-forgetting-that-there-are-more-fun-things-to-do-than-be-a-human-hot dog' gig. Food is good - variations of salad, Cous cous, potato salad, pasta, kebab, eggs, breads & dips. If you want an English breakfast or roast dinner then you shouldn't be judging this restaurant, you should be judging yourself. The kebab shop/restaurant opposite is absolutely fantastic with nice staff too. All inclusive drinks are vodka, beer, gin, wine, juices, water & sodas...oh and raki, but thats a bit weak, so make sure you have a large one (*irony*). Not everything works in every room, but they will fix it or move you if you ask/ mime. Rooms have balcony, fridge, air con, hair dryer, mirrors, cabinet, drawers, wardrobe, bathroom with shower, toilet & sink. Again, if you want more than this then perhaps you shouldnt venture abroad, as you'll only have the trouble of re-wrapping yourself in cotton wool upon returning home. To clear up any concerns: there are no rats nor are there cats. Perhaps you hallucinate rats after too much raki?! I'm not sure. Also, there is free wi-fi, and all the toilet paper you can wipe your @ss with.
Nightlife advice: Bar street is a bit bass-in-your-face so head there once drunk. Outback bar is more chilled, with super hot bar guys, and if you venture to gumbet beach then go to Alora beach bar in the afternoon/evening (think Ibiza tunes, hammocks, beautiful people, cocktails, outstanding food and even impromptu foam parties!). We befriended millionaires there, who took us on their yacht and plied us with free champagne. That's not guaranteed, as frankly its unlikely that your face is up to the same standard as mine, but its possible, that's what I'm saying.
Go on a boat trip. Just do it. Eat ice cream, it's beautiful. If you're sick/hungover/sun burnt go to the pharmacy opposite the hotel where the pharmacist is helpful (albeit up her own @ss). she speaks English and gave me some medicine which may or may not have saved my life.
Basically if you've got alta park for cheap (£270 all inc 1 wk with flights) you'll be fine. If you've paid more than that then you probably go through life getting done over in this way, and you'll be used to it.

Room Tip: If anything in your room doesn't work then they are happy to move you to a different room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jjeenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

I feel this hotel has been given an unfair deal! Reading the reviews (24 hours to flying) and only because my mate was sending them to me in work, I was devastated! We even tried to change it after laughing about it. Anyway we have it a chance and it was like one big comedy show if your going for a laugh and basic accommodation it really does the trick. Good location, around shops and only 5 mins from centre and a nice cheap food place directly opposite, it's basic, very basic but the staff are friendly, one looked like ronaldo gone wrong, the other looked like a polish house dj and the rest were as funny! The first night we got there we ended up being escorted out by the 'maintenance man' who looked like Salvador Dali and whom we never saw again so the security wasn't up to much but really at alta park there's never a full moment and if your toilet blocks for the ninth time in one morning they'll be glad to help. Nice pool/bar area, recent music always playing and they don't measure spirits! Like I said a good all rounder for a small amount of money so if your travelling on a budget go to alta park but don't expect the Ritz!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

after taking our booking and money, we received a letter 3 weeks before we were to travel to tell us that we are being " upgraded to 4 star " sister hotel " The Sun Club " as our one is being refurbished, we thought up-grade must be ok, how wrong can you be, got there at half past 12 at night signed in and taken to our rooms, before we emptied the cases we had a look around, boy what we saw was not 4 star it was minus 2 stars, there was a big hole in the wall above the bed, in the corner was all damp down the wall, the shower head was so full of green and black gunge, we went and complained and then we were given a family room it looked nice so we had that one, after a long journey we were tired so we went to bed, got into bed and as it was hot i lay on the top and fell asleep for an hour, woke up to what i thought was sweat but instead it was in fact "damp" again we complained and every thing including the bed was changed. then the food it was nice if you liked "cold" i mean everything was cold the only thing that we could eat was cereal toast or cold boiled eggs, or olives,tomatoes, cheese, lettuce leaves, pasta, and what was left over re-appeared in your soup for lunch and tea, nothing was wasted they even cut the hard boiled eggs and put a sauce over them, getting settled down with a cup of coffee (which we took) about 22.00 then the clubs started with "Boom, Boom, Boom" until 04.30, and no one to complain to as night shift could not understand English, now the "entertainment manager" was such a p_ _ _ k that all he was interested in was taking the P _ _ s out of the guests, he targeted the young people to take them off site to the disco's and he got a commission from every bar he took them to. the bar manager was just as bad he was rude to a lot of people as well and he would pester the young ladies and flirt with them, he was also very rude to his staff by shouting at them in front of the hotel guests banging his fists on the counter snapping his fingers to get attention. i will never ever recommend going there the whole holiday was ruined by so called management and non existent entertainment (must say that the ent. man. was playing darts with his little band and they were throwing the darts over the swimming pull with children and adults walking past. HORRIBLE PLACE

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I do not usually read reviews but people take note of all the poor reviews on this site because they are all true.
Trust me this hotel is dirty,disgusting,and dangerous it should be struck off or burnt to the ground.
I booked this hell hole for two weeks from the 21st October till November 4 2012
I arrived at 12 00 midnight and by the following morning myself and my wife had booked out from the hotel fro hell
I really do not want to go in to detail but there was no help from Travelsoon.com who I booked the holiday with.
I had to pay for another hotel myself and spend the next 2 weeks on a budget just longing to get back to the U.K.
I again did not expect 4 star but I am sorry when you and your wife do not feel safe as well as the disgusting filth and standard of accommodation you have to act
Once again please read all the reviews regarding this Hotel that are complaining because they are all true and if you do go you have been warned

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we arrived at this hole late at night, OMG got shown to are room ( well box ) which was dirty and cramped , we never unpacked and asked to get moved asap. We were told tomorrow, went to bed never slept all night as to scared too, went for breakfast well bread as the cats were on the table before us and the staff just took the food away and covered it will film but never changed it .. DISGUSTING. we left are bags in room and went to see manager as room that bad and we got moved to the alta beach hotel which was 5* to this hole... when we went to collect are luggage from the room a RAT had been in the carrier bag that was hanging on the handle of the wardrobe and attack my sandwich and there was rat droppings on my bed .... please do not go here as it was dirty smelly scary and very unsuitable even for 1 night. The manager was ok he moved are luggage and paid travel to new hotel and we had to return to this hotel to get are transfers ( which lovely guy from altabeach took us there ) even just getting changed for trip home was so traumatic COULDNT WAIT TO LEAVE , please take notice of reviews as i usually dont comment but had to warn u all before you booked.... the alta beach was a better hotel the area was clean and plenty of places to eat cheaply and safe to walk around of a night the rooms were small but clean , staff and holiday makers were lovely had a lovely time but if had stayed here would have had to get early flight home . all inclusive and they ran out of pepsi ???? sounds petty but thats what you pay for

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Small rooms with very basic facilities. Damp bathroom, dirty shower and the toilet leaked! Hard bed, disgusting blood (?) stained mattress. So bad that i went and got the cushions from the sun loungers (in the middle of the night) so that i could sleep. The food was awful and there was no meat dish left on the day we were out on a trip. The hygiene was very questionable, containers the food was kept hot(?) in could have done with a good clean. There never semmed to be clean cutlery and there were rarely any spoons! The cats were very cute but they probably did jump up and access the uncovered food, the flies certainly did! We only had one sheet and one bath towel for the two of us. I did acquire more by changing rooms (a frequent occurence.) The white thing did not cover both of us, thank goodness it was warm! It was the end of the season, we were told, so no taxi to the beach, table tennis or darts (was there ever?) or burgers and chips mid afternoon. We did complain and we got more towels and bottled water on the day we were leaving! The bar ran out of diet coke and we had to be quite firm with them to get more (bought from the supermarket!) We booked through Travelsoon (an offshoot of the Co-op i was told) and i do not think i will use them again. I only wish i had not booked in such a rush and read up about the hotels on Trip Advisor BEFORE we had gone.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank lincolnlia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My partner and I went to Gumbet for our first holiday together. When we arrived and were shown to our room, I could have cried. The room was very tiny, had electrical sockets hanging off the wall and the shower did not have a curtain or screen. We were shown to another room which was an improvement although the double bed only had a cover for a single bed, and then we found out that we only had hot water in the evening - other rooms had hot wall all the time. We had booked all inclusive but when we went to the dining area, the food was covered in flies and the cats were eating off the serving trays. The cutlery was filthy and so were the table cloths and runners, so we had to eat out all the time which took most of our spending money and which defeated the object of booking all inclusive. The wine was warm and the bar was not equipped with alcohol or soft drinks so they had to keep going over to the shop to buy stock in. The walls had flaking paint and the plaster was coming off. The outside toilet did not have a light and the handle was hanging off. We saw our rep only once and told him of all the problems but he was not helpful and we did not see him again. We booked with Sunmaster and wonder whether they had even bothered to research this hotel. We will never book with Sunmaster again and will definately not recommend them. The only good thing to say was that it was in easy reach of the Gumbet Strip which has lots of good restaurants (thankfully) and bars, and the beach, although quite crowded with sunbeds, was nice.

Room Tip: Don't Go There!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.9 mi away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
2,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
773 reviews
56.6 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Park Hotel

Address: Nergiz Sokak No: 28, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Gumbet
Hotel Class:2 star — Alta Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alta Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing