We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION BUT DEFINITELY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shark Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shark Club
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION BUT DEFINITELY NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've never felt the need to leave a review before but after being spoiled in the past with fabulous 4* hotels in Turkey, I felt the need to write one for this hotel. Me and my friend have just returned from an 8 night holiday at the Club Shark Hotel.

The hotel itself is fairly new and I was expecting it to look nice and modern on arrival but thought it rather basic-the pool area a bit small and the bar area lacking in something. All inclusive was a real let down as the choice of drinks was so limited- if you didn't like vodka, gin or whiskey you were pretty limited. Any named drinks you had to pay for. The bar opened at 10am and if you asked for a cup for the water machine before then, they refused. The bar staff were nice enough but seemed to struggle with English and always seemed to pour the wrong drinks and if you hadn't drank your drink straightaway, it was whisked away from your sun lounger which was a bit annoying.

The food was really quite poor unfortunately. I must admit I do tend to get quite bored with all inclusive and need one or two meals out throughout the holiday but by day 3 we had to eat out the rest of the week- we couldn't manage another night of rice, pasta and nondescript meat! Breakfast was really poor- I've been to hotels in the past where they have a chef cooking eggs anyway you like them, omelettes etc but unfortunately there was none of this, except one day we had a chef doing a fried egg but it took him an age to do one so I gave up queuing! Lunch was the same as dinner, so you can imagine our boredom with the food.

On to the room!- very modern, nice new rooms. Air con was brilliant! The only flaw with the room was the bedding- a strange 'blanket' type small towel to cover you but really not sufficient and not soft at all. Bathroom was lovely and modern. Our balcony was very strange- we didn't have a balcony as such but two chairs and a table placed at the end of the corridor so as people approached their rooms they could join us- very odd set up. Got chatting with the couple next to us as we shared the space so that was nice!

The town itself is great for nightlife, some fab trips- we went on a lovely boat trip. People very friendly. Some lovely restaurants. Would recommend the area and Bodrum itself!

Overall, Basic hotel, definitely not a 4*!! Would like to say 'cheap and cheerful' but unfortunately I don't think it's very cheap. Great location though for Gumbet and its surrounding areas!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    210
    89
    39
    23
See reviews for
103
242
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the shark hotel for a week with my boyfriend, and we both had an amazing time.
Would recommend a trip to Kos for the day, it was great, though stock up on travel sickness tablets if your sea legs aren't too great!
Would recommend booking at Bodrum harbour though cos it's a lot cheaper than booking through a rep!

Contrary to popular opinion we loved the food! Was really tasty with plenty of healthy salad options and lots of fruit as well to choose from.

My only complaint would be that for our first few days the towels we received with the room were stained. Otherwise a really clean hotel you can see them cleaning constantly.

All staff are amazing, especially the restaurant manager, really talkative and just generally a nice genuine guy.

Would 5* recommend this place - everything about it has made for a perfectly chilled holiday for the both of us, hope your stay is as good as ours!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graceylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Shark Club and what a fab holiday it was. I had read the reviews and wasn't holding out much hope with regards to the food but I must say there really was nothing to worry about. Yes it was mainly chicken most nights but it was very nice there was always something to eat even the children in our group enjoyed the food.
The hotel is spotlessly clean as are your rooms with clean bedding and towels daily if you wanted them changed.
They do limit you to 1 drink per person after 10pm but it wasn't that bad as there was never a queue so you got served very quickly this was helped by having great bar staff Romeo and memit and the gaffer Marshall along with the rest of the staff very polite and always ready to help.
Kelly on the animation team was absolutely great she couldn't do enough and was great at getting people involved she was brill and very hard working, this girl deserves a gold medal haha.

We did eat in the hotel most nights but we did occasionally eat out and the best place to eat out was PETERS PLACE it is amazingly nice words cannot describe how nice the food is at Peters Place and the owner Shangy ans his wife Sarah are extremely nice and welcoming. You will see a board advertising the menu at Peters Place near the shop at the hotel, please do not walk past without looking at it - you will regret it if you don't try it at least once but beware once you have been, once will not be enough.

I would also recommend getting some photos done by the photographers at the hotel they do not walk around taking pictures nor do they bother you at all I only realised who they were when I won a free sunset photo and Kelly from animation told them and they then introduced themselves. They are very professional and the photos are amazing at an amazing price.

I am already looking at prices to book for next year. There was 8 in our group ages from 3yrs to 40 yrs and we all had the best holiday and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 204 has a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandapaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel very clean , 99% of staff were awesome ! The free alcohol sucked ! But I didn't expect much , food was pretty good tho they do tend to put the same things out in different dishes & I did figure some food was just reheated & served up for the next meal , I will be booking shark again for next may mainly due to some of the staff ! Ozzy is a dollface ! &alex the photo guy is adorable ! Kelly really does all she can with what she is given to work with & makes people feel involved !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aadams88674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Before leaving Getting to shark hotel I had researched and read most the reviews on trip advisor.

When we arrived at 4 o'clock in the morning a gent behind the desk said there is a short delay with our room. Which we sat down in the lobby and waited. He offered us drink whilst we waited. He was even so nice. But the 2 hour wait wasn't. When we did get to our room we had to be up in 3 hours for a welcome meeting. Slightly annoyed as we weren't told why we had to wait so long. In the welcome meeting we booked all our day trips and what not, mark the rep was so good! We went on a boat trip on the Wednesday which was a chilled out boat. Well worth going on! On the Thursday we were given free wine and fruit to make up the room being late. We also rang reception if we could have an extra blanket as there were 3 of us and two had to share a double bed and asked for extra pillows, how ever after ring twice and going to reception twice we didn't get them. Wasn't until the next day when a gent was behind reception that why got sent straight down. The lady as reception just rolled her eyes at us when we asked the second time and just carries on talking to some Turkish guys who weren't even staying at the hotel.

Food:
After reading trip advisor I was slightly worried about the food. When we got there, the food was really good, a lot to choose from.

The only down side I found was the animation team. Apart from Kelly (good luck with the new job) the only games they play on darts, water polo but found only gents played . And ping pong. There is so much more you can do to get people involved. Like more water games. I found some of the guessed for more involved in getting people on the pool, but throwing them in. Leon and this friend who had traveled from Belgium. They were great fun trying to get everyone in the pool and having fun! Evening entertainment is really good and worth staying to see.

We also had a Turkish massage which was so good. Ozzy is so funny!

Would like to thank everyone at the shark hotel!

P.s shark hotel is so clean, all they do it clean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple-crumble12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just come back from shark! Brilliant clean hotel, deffo want to go bk! Food was average, but I'm a fussy eater, it was very repetitive, cheap enough to eat out every night, pool snacks- burger and chips!
Pool cleaned.every night.. The right hand side has the sun from 11am until 6pm, dont sit the other side because you will have bout. 3 Hours of sun.
GreAt location! Can here the strip from your hotel!! Kelly Sergio and Victoria take you out each night to the strip and halikarnas!! :) cant wait to go back there., bar staff r stingey will the alcohol.
Also I was.told that.it was adults only, but there was loads of kids! Love Lauren.and.Dan

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hey me & my friend stayed here for 10 days. The location is just were you need it to be the every single one of the staff are friendly happy and will do anything to help you. Wifi all around hotel which is a bonus, & you have to try the turkish bath at the hotel you will love it :) the food was very repetitive with chicken but hey it was nice, lovley tasty soups and fresh bread every day. Entertainment is good to and the pool games was funny. Mimi was the best entertainment houst very happy and great when we went out at night to the strip. Fantastic restaurants all around and very cheap :) so overall very pleased with the holiday and location if you want a very clean friendly hotel shark club is the place to be... cant wait to go back loves tanya & dawn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#9 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Club

Property: Shark Club
Address: Gara Hasan cad. No : 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#12 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shark Club 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Shark Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Club Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing