We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9th June to 19th 2014 - amazing hotel, what more do you want?”
Review of Shark Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shark Club
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just come back from 10 days at this hotel. It was amazing and staff are so so friendly. We were originally meant to be staying at a different hotel but we got relocated due to building works at the other hotel. We are so happy that we got relocated as Shark hotel was brilliant. It is a brilliant location, right outside of the shopping/clubbing strip. Bodrum is only 5 minutes away too....
You dont hear any of the clubbing music at night when you are trying to sleep. Sergio the entertainer is brilliant, we had an amazing time - he had us in stitches. If you have a sense of humour you will love him. Mehmet the manager makes every chance to speak and greet all customers, and if there is anything wrong he sorts it out straight away (there was no toilet roll a couple of times in the pool toilet and within 10 seconds it was sorted). Food is brilliant, they do different food every day. What more do you want for a break away? Rooms are clean and the air con is amazing after a hot day in the sun!!
There are lots of beds around the pool, we always managed to find one in the morning. The bar is open all day till 11am, the staff behind the bar are quick at serving, and have a laugh with you.
Honestly you must stay in this hotel it is brilliant!
We hope to return soon!

Gemma and Stuart. X

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I travelled to Club Shark hotel this June for two weeks with my boyfriend,there are good and bad points about the hotel.
Good points:
Rooms: they are spotless. Very very clean hotel. The maids are in your room everyday, very modern rooms like a nice Premier Inn with a huge walk in shower in the bathroom.

Location: perfect if you want to be right in the heart of the nightlife. Literally two minutes walk to Bar Street.

There's a terrace on the top floor of the hotel which is great for sunbathing on(it gets very hot)with great views of Gumbet so good for photographs too.

Bad points:
Drinks: where can I start. If you like a good drink you won't like it in this hotel. Four choices of alcohol including vodka, whiskey, gin and raki.(all local) if you want anything else you have to pay. Cocktails are not free. The alcohol may aswel be alcohol free. I drank ten vodkas and I was as sober as a judge (and I don't usually drink) we had information that the beer had no or little alcohol in it at all, not good when it's what youv paid for. It felt as though the hotel is trying to trick the guests and its almost an insult. The soft drinks are watered down with loads of ice too. The bar staff can hardly speak English and many times gave us the complete wrong drinks. Also after ten pm you can only have one drink so this meant me and my boyfriend having to leave the table to both get a drink even though the staff could see we were together. Don't understand that at all.

Food: not bad but not a great selection. A lot of chicken, a lot of turkey. Don't even bother with breakfast. Worst breakfast iv ever had in an all inclusive. Tomatoes beans potatoes hard boiled egg and loads of cheeses ham etc. no bacon or sausage at all. Also the staff will take your drinks off the table if you get up to get more food or deserts so this means you either lose your table or you have to go and get more drinks. If you put your knife and fork down for a little break you will have your plate swiped from under your nose.

Balconies: smallest iv ever encountered, two people stood side by side is all they can hold.

Entertainment: well..... What entertainment. Break dancers are on about 3 times a week, no atmosphere whatsoever at night. Your lucky if you even get a table at night if your not out by half seven there's no chance which is not fair. People have to perch on sun loungers because there's no tables which is apalling.

All in all, the hotel is ok but not a 4 star, iv stayed in many hotels and this is a 3 star. Won't stay here again but for the money we paid it was ok, great holiday though Gumbet is fantastic

Room Tip: Top floor best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmanpaul2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel. We stayed all inclusive and found the food extremely good. Also bar snacks, etc.
The room was spacious with a double bed and an extra single bed. Wardrobe was small, as usual, for Turkey.
Bathroom lovely, great walk in shower, plus hair dryer. Usual little bath bits which was nice.
The hotel is on a hill, as is Gumbet. It's ok to go for a walk around the many shops, but remember you have to walk back up!
The dolmas is great into Bodrum, with a lovely harbour with boats.
Great holiday, love Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is my third time I have stayed at the Shark Hotel, had another great week. the staff, food and facilities are all first class. It is also a great central location for all the shops, bars, nightclubs and beach. Well done to all the staff at the shark club.

Room Tip: A room on the walk out terrace has the sun in the day time and the rooms on the bar side of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank portrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

just got back from two weeks here.
this hotel was almost everything it says on the tin.
for me the location is great top of a hill close to most things great for bar street 2 minute walk and far enough to be quiet late at night. lots of restaurants and bars very close by and only 5 minute walk to local beach. the hotel restaurant is a good size and offers a very good selection of hot cold food and vast choice of desserts, also the soup was always fantastic.is always very busy when opens each day so best times to visit are 8.30 breakfast, 1.30 lunch and 8.00 for evening meal, waiters are excellent.
the pool is a single depth of 1.4 meters deep [ 5 feet ] across the whole pool, there is also a small kiddie pool, its shape is good as it allows everyone sunbathing a good proportion of sunshine and shaded areas throughout the day.
the whole hotel is kept spotless at all times, the staff are very attentive at all times.
entertainment is very poor [ my opinion ] during the day you are offered darts knockout water polo [ this was popular ] and table pool knockout, Sergio the main animator is considered to be a little boisterous when getting people to join in and has a bad habit of pushing people in the pool, not very professional, but is certainly not a horrible person. sadly Kelly has left due to differences with Sergio, she was very sweet and extremely well liked.
night time entertainment is not so good but some of it was very good when involving the guests
as is common entertainment is a weekly rotation so if there two weeks you will see everything twice.
Memmet the restaurant / bar manager is very good and strives to say hello to all guests making everyone feel special and welcome.
my room was kept spotless by the maids and i can only compliment there good work. my room was on the top floor facing the bay and had a great view, very happy with it.
there was limited loungers around the pool and reserving with towels was common, but hotel will remove any towels placed before 7am which is a good policy in my view, they were bringing in additional loungers the day i left, so think that has improved.
also in the evening there is limited seating for entertainment, again i were told more are added for the high season.
3 stars is the correct rating for me , if you are considering booking here , i would say it is a very good place for the quality it offers and location.children are welcome but it may not be the best place for little ones, due to the large numbers of couples and small groups.

Room Tip: some first floor rooms have a shared terrace overlooking the pool, where you can sunbath in peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel very modern rooms with a big double shower cubicle. Towels and bedding changed. Air conditioning free, safe cheap. Staff friendly enough even if some not great with English.
There's entertainment day and night if you want it. Me and my husband like to go out day and night so didn't see much of the entertainment but what we saw was ok. Stay away from the lottery/raffle thing they do though, it has scam written all over it. People won and never received their prize. It's an outside bloke that does it so can't blame the hotel for this.
Kelly is nice and came to chat to us even though we don't take part in the daily entertainment.
Food was ok, I have very restrictive specialist food requirement but there was always something I could eat. Some people complaining about the food when we were there but at the end of the day you get what you pay for. If you want 5star food book a 5star hotel! Dinner doesn't start till 7.30pm though which we found quite late and chose to eat out some nights because of this if we wanted to eat earlier, but this was personal choice. dining room a little small and if you don't get to lunch and dinner for the opening time be prepared to wait for a table. Yes alcohol may seem a little weaker than other hotels stayed at in other countries, it's their local alcohol of course vodka won't be as strong as something like Smirnoff! First all inclusive hotel been to though where there is a charge for cocktails. Never a table to sit at when coming back to hotel around 10pm at night so if you want a seat for the entertainment/drinks you're best to stay put after you've eaten. Balconys are small, but big enough for 2people to stand on. We were lucky enough to have our own which I definitely preferred over the rooms that had sharing balconies
All in all a good budget break that I would recommend to others. We wouldn't go back but only because we don't go back to the same place twice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexta333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've just returned from a week in this brilliant hotel.the hotel staff are absolutely brilliant and extremely helpful ,especially the fantastic Mehmet he became a very good friend of mines ,he told me every day if I needed anything to let him know ,true too his word I didn't have to ask him twice he's a proper gentleman.Im not really a fussy eater but I felt the food has improved vastly on last year and the dining room was absolutely immaculate .The bedrooms are a good size and are kept spotlessly clean by a very pleasant housekeeping team .this hotel is in a prime location for nightlife you come out the front door and if you want a noisy holiday you are practically in bar street or if you like the quiet night life that's very close at hand too .Everything considered a fantastic hotel with amazing staff and I would recommend this hotel to anyone .My only complaint is towards a member of the entertainment team Sergio who constantly ridiculed the brilliant Kelly in front of guests this should never be allowed as it sends out the wrong message to guests who are sitting around the pool ,so well done Kelly .i would just like too add that I wouldn't hesitate booking my next holiday at this hotel .Great hotel with a terrific staff team ,One great big thank you from Patrick

Room Tip: I can't find fault in the hotel I've stayed twice and will certainly be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.1 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Club

Address: Gara Hasan cad. No : 4, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#12 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: £28 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shark Club 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shark Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shark Club Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing