We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Holiday .... Little things would make it better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday .... Little things would make it better!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked a holiday at the Royal Asarlik Hotel 18th of June for a week booked at short notice the Friday before. Having been to Turkey 7 times we were quiet choosey what we wanted the reviews looked good on this hotel. It was a choice of one of our favourites World of Wonders Gumbet where we have been 3 times before or somewhere new we opted to try somewhere new. We arrived late on the day due to flight delays etc. The check in was prompt and easy good start .We had read before that most flights arrive late so you miss your 1st evening meal and that sandwiches are provided. It came to pass there were sandwiches!!! Wrapped up in cling film on the side of the bar downstairs, not really nice at all, the kind you might see in a working man’s club. You would be better popping out across the road for a kebab.

Rooms
The room was clean, spacious well laid out with a safe (you have to pay for that ) and nice we were in room 1124 I think 1st floor at the front of the hotel, it was so noisy that we went straight down stairs and asked to move. We were moved so that was nice. The hotel was to a good standard clean modern looking right on the beach, plenty of sun beds etc.

Main Restaurant

The main restaurant was on the top floor with indoor and open terrace area also. The views were really nice from there, what we found was that the evening it was hard to get a table there never seem to be any staff really focusing on that side of the service it was pretty much each man for himself. It felt like hard work at times not what you might expect from a 4* plus hotel. The food was good lots of choice even for the most picky of person.

Main Bar
The main bar area by the reception wasn't cosy, like some places we have stayed at it was very functional with a television on the wall but not inviting where you would want to sit and chat for the night. There were some other couches behind the stairs and lift but it was quiet dark around there and out the way.

Pools
There were two maim pool areas 1 noisy and partyish and the other more sedate and family orientated both were nice. The entertainment staff didn’t have a uniform just their own clothes so looked like random strangers with no name badges etc. inviting you to join into things. (If I had kids I would have worried)

We ate in the Chinese restaurant one night the food was ok not really Chinese the portion was tiny starters two tiny spring rolls we asked for more and was told NO that’s it felt a bit like Oliver Twist ! We laughed it off and then went to main restaurant.

Beach area
The beach area was small and compact there were two areas of beach, great location for water sports and just people watching while catching the rays.

Local area
The hotel was ideal for the town! It meant we could literally cross the road and go to other restaurants and pubs so we did on several occasions. We also went into Bodrum by the marina where there were lots of shops and bars the taxi was about £6.

Summary
Overall we would give the hotel 7/10 the reason for that are some staff never smiled and didn’t seem friendly, there 4 four staff I saw in the hotel who were also happy the others wasn’t.

Service wasn’t quiet on the mark in getting seated in the restaurant and getting drink brought to you! It may seem petty but it’s the little things that can make the difference. Don’t get me wrong I would go back but it wouldn’t be my first choice, if staying in the area again I would go back to the World of Wonder next door

Room Tip: Get a room to the back of the hotel not near the front over the reception. Family pool is quieter i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Patrick,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your riview at Taripadvisor.
We were very glad to be informed about the good opinions in your statement.
Concerning the sitting organisation at Dinner , the couchs in the litte bit dark in our Lobby area, the outfit of our stuff for entertainment, the portions of chinese Restaurant and the stuff which should be more friendlier we will discuss with our department Managers to improve this points.


We wish you comfortable holidays for the future and send you all our greetings from Bodrum.

Best regards,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    379
    236
    97
    78
See reviews for
398
573
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked a deluxe room with sea view, to make sure we would have good room. Reviews were quite good, so we were excited about our holiday. Unfortunately this turned into a nightmare!

We arrived at around 10.30PM, so in between opening hours of the restaurants. As it is an all inclusive hotel we expected that they would be able to arrange some salad or bread or leftovers from the buffet. Well that was clearly not possible. The guy at the front office, he works the evening shift and is the worst front office guy ever, said this was not possible. Not one piece of bread could be arranged. After discussing for 10 minutes we just decided to go outside the hotel to eat something (which is not a problem everything is practically open 24/7). In other words we paid for all inclusive and the first night we had to pay for our own dinner or we had to wait an hour and a half for soup, really? Great customer service...

Off to a rocky start, we thought this was just a one time thing.

Upon arriving in our room the first thing I noticed was a towel with yellow stains and sheets with old blood stains on the edge (see pics) As it was already 11PM and we had already had a discussion with the front office regarding the food we decided to complain the day after.

Which we did. Housekeeping came to change the towels and sheets, and you wouldn't believe it, but they were even dirtier than before, burn marks, ink stains??? Didn't know it was so difficult to give me white clean sheets and towels...

So complained yet again, finally they came to change it properly.

We arrived on Saturday evening. On Monday they cleaned the whole room practically turned it upside down. So I was like ok, it's going to be fine. But on Tuesday the guy who cleaned the rooms, in the morning he asked if he had to clean our room, which is a weird question anyway, you need to clean the room every day that's what I paid for. So we said yes. Returning in the late afternoon our room still wasn't cleaned. The same guy was still there cleaning other rooms, all he did was give us towels, (clean ones this time) and that was it? He didn't understand anything we were saying, it was an absolute drama... again.

In the evening we had reservations to go eat at the Italian restaurant. Actually the hotel had 5 restaurants (including the main) but for some unexplained reason the Chinese one was closed.
So we paid for services which we didn't receive.

In the Italian restaurant we started with some appetizers and this was ok. Next we got the menu, and the girl points at the menu half way the main courses, pointing down ''yes'' above ''no''. So we could choose from 3 main courses all others things were not possible....We came for some pizza, so asked her if we could order pizza. We asked this 3 times, she didn't understand what we were saying. She went to get a colleague but she didn't understand what we wanted either, in the end she said no but I think she only said that because she wanted to get rid of us. We decided to leave the restaurant and go to the main restaurant at least food there was ok and you had choices.

On Monday evening we wanted to go outside and upon opening the door, part of the door frame came of the wall! We immediately went to the reception, but yet again they didn't understand what we were saying. she was calling someone to fix it but nobody came. The next day we complained again and finally they fixed it. The front office manager was going to send us a fruit basket, not that I need that but ok. In the end we never received that fruit basket.

After all these complaints, our tour operator was able to transfer us to the World of Wonders hotel which is just 200m away from this hotel. If you choose to go to Gümbet go to WOW not Royal Asarlik!

When our tour operator arranged everything to transfer us to the WOW, they did send us a fruit basket, and some wine. We don't drink wine thank you very much so another bad move. We didn't touch this fruit basket as it was just a gesture to not getting a really bad review. Well if a hotel is horrible and you pay a lot of money for bad service, bad hygiëne etc it is my duty to inform people so they don't get ripped off!

One of the most annoying things was that the staff doesn't speak English. Not the front office, not housekeeping not in the restaurant, whether it's the evening or day shift English is unknown in this hotel. You're also not able to get a sun bed at the beach or swimming pool after 10AM. While at the WOW this was possible.

In the end I was very happy we got transferred, half of our holiday was very well spend at the WOW! I will not recommend Royal Asarlik and I will never go here again! One word: DRAMA

Room Tip: Even if you choose a deluxe room with sea view, you are stuck with dirty sheets, dirty towels, a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silke03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear valued Guest

sadly we have read your review, itgaves us the important reason to organise a meeting with the whole stuff to clear what has to be cleared. We appologize some details which had to be perfect but could not be.

Hope that you will visit us again to give us the chance to show you the improved comments. and to show you that we took all informations for satisfaction of all our Guests.

With kindest regards and greetings from Bodrum
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one week in royal Asarlik and enjoyed our holiday by helpful staffs and good hospitality and beautiful panaroma view of bodrum.
1- rooms: were clean, but not comfortable bed.
2- foods: delicious with variety to eat and drink
3- service: nice & polite staff in good manner of hospitality
4- beach side were excellent and you can enjoy sun, sea and relax yourself
5- outside pool: i was not happy by the pools because they were so small and very crowded
6- animation team: they were good but not trained as well to do their job perfectly
Overall, very good hotel with delicious food and nice staff, i enjoyed my holiday and of corse good location of royal in gumbet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazanin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear valued Guest,

tha k you very much for spending time and writing you comment on Tripadvisor.
Concerning the weak points we will do our best to improve and offer a better service for the satisfaction of our Guests.

Hope that we can welcome you again in our Resort to show you the changes and our turkish Hospitaliy once again.

With kindest regards,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have lost count on how many five star all-inclusive hotels I have stayed in throughout Turkey over the last 15 years. Lara beach, Kemer, Side, Belek, Colakli, Marmaris-the list is endless .

This is by far the worst of the lot.

Bearing in mind the myriad variables and the added factor of personal taste that would make one five star hotel appealing to one traveller and absolutely hideous to another.

Im confused, bewildered and dumfounded regarding the 5 star reviews. Those folk who rate it as that have simply never experienced a proper 5 star all inclusive hotel in Turkey. That’s a cast iron guarantee.

Where does it go wrong?

I’m not saying every single napkin should be folded the same way, each bed made and turned down the same way but an excellent 5 star all-inclusive hotel should attain and set standards in terms of food offered, quality accommodation, guest entertainment, room variations, and other additional amenities that make guests more comfortable

It does none of that.

Food:
A five star hotel is expected to be consistent in providing exceptional food, superlative service and exquisite presentations.

This hotel fails miserably on all counts.

The buffet restaurant could not be more unattractive and less inspired if it had been designed by a haddock. It’s devoid of hospitality and warmth and everything a restaurant should be.

Some of the food is almost inedible. Surely, one of the hotels owner's best investment should always be a great chef, and if you haven't got that major asset in the kitchen then forget it.

The chefs can’t even boil an egg. The chicken wings looked as though they had been run over by a bus and the salad should have been saved for someone's pet rabbit.

I do not have a single nice word to say about the food. It's hateful and isn't just disappointing, its special kind of awful , bordering on tragic, made by people who neither know nor care what they're doing. Look up the word terrible in the dictionary and, well, you know the rest.

Service
The attitude of some of the restaurant staff sickened me almost as much as the food-but not quite. They were arrogant, rude, unfriendly and badly trained. Absolutely abominable service and horribly disorganised. It’s practically a self- service sanctuary.

Training a staff member costs nothing. Motivating a staff member costs nothing. Ensuring that your guests receive the very best attention and service costs nothing. It’s so simple, not rocket science but you’ll be surprised how many five star hotels cannot get it right

Without excellent, experienced and well trained staff you will never ever, ever, maintain five star standards. With the right staff in the correct roles you WILL achieve excellence.

Rooms:
Are becoming quite shabby, run-down and worn but nothing broken. They are reasonably clean but not inviting. Don’t expect numerous overstuffed pillows and high-quality linens. The views from the balcony are into a jungle and downright decrepit.

Lobby bar:
Its tiny and about the size of a Cockpit. The cocktail tasted like it was made by someone who hates me and had a texture and flavour that brought paint stripper to mind.

I cant lavish any praise. The only commendable thing about the hotel is its viewful setting and is excellently positioned in Gumbet.

I paid over £1100 for myself and daughter to stay here for 7 nights. The all- inclusive price, unhappily, is robbery.

When you take the price they charge and multiply it by the number of victims they mug, they’ve probably got the most criminally disproportionate quality / profit ratio in town.

I wouldn't give it five stars, or even two thumbs up.

I think it would be best if you could forget it.

That’s a truth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garypops2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have read with regret your review ,pity that we could not meet your holiday needs.

Of course each priview is very important for us also we trust and thank our Guests which were satisfied and happy during their stay.
We wish you further pleasent stays in Hotels were you will be more lucky as you have been it since 15 years.

With kind regards,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from the Royal Asarlik on the 21/07/2014. I have read all the poor reviews and i cant agree with them. This is my second visit to this Hotel and to be fair all couples i spoke to had a simliar view point as mine. We arrived late at night and was given a hotel room on the 1st floor close to reception which we did not like, we asked to be moved, which was no problem in fact they sent a manager with us to review the room before we said that it was ok, otherwise they would have given us another room. The hotel is very close to Gumbet shops and bars, but far enough away. The Hotel is 24 hr all inclusive. Food is typical all inclusive repetitive nice with plenty of variety. The staff i found are very polite & friendly. The pool bar staff were 1st class with a little 10 lira tip (£3.50) per day and they were in my pocket. There are two pool areas and the beach front. One pool area is for quiet bathing and the other is for the younger element. Cleanliness is second to none with maid service and clean towels daily. Gumbet has plenty of bars and some nice restaurants, lots of shops with loads of fake gear, you can definately barter with them which is a great crack. There are plenty of boat trips to do, we did the Bodrum to Kos trip on the fast Cat. 6-7 hrs in Greece. (20 euros per person includes transfer)
In summary top notch Hotel and lovely resort. Dont like going back to the same place but will be returning for a third time in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markianstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Markian Stevens,

We understand all guests representing other opinions on leave, for all of them we try to do our best to improve our service to catch their satisfaction.

Each review is very important to us becuase eyes of the guest can see sometimes more than the eyes of a guest.

Hope to see and welcome you again in our Hotel to spoil you once more.

With kind regards,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAIDSTONE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having just returned from a weeks holiday in July 2014 at the Royal Asarlik I have to say that our over all opinion was slightly disappointing.

On arrival we were welcomed at the reception with a cocktail and shown straight to our room. Our first impression was that the room was on the small side and looking a little tired but it was very clean. We had paid for a sea view but unfortunately due to the planting around the balcony we could only see the sea if we were standing up.

The hotel has two pools both with plenty of sun beds available. There was always staff on hand insuring that both areas were kept clean at all times.

We found that the food in both the main restaurant and the Italian al a carte to be very bland. The staff were far from engaging and we constantly had to wait for simple things such as cutlery,drinks or for the tables to be cleared from the previous occupants, except in the al a carte where the waitress was attempting to break a record in how quickly a table of five could be fed and watered to the point that we had to request that she give us a little time to finish each course before the next course was delivered, could this have something to do with the fact we were the last sitting of the evening.

Our biggest gripe by far was the lack of entertainment in the evening. Apart from the animation team who put on shows most evenings which were dire to say the least there was little or no entertainment provided within the hotel. As a result we found that we had to go out of the hotel and find our own entertainment which of course cost us additional money which we hadn't expected to spend when booking an all inclusive package.

This was our fifth visit to Turkey and our previous experiences have been extremely positive, most of which have been recorded on trip advisor.
We have already booked our next trip to Turkey unfortunately it won't be at the Royal Asalik Beach Resort

Room Tip: Request a sea view on a high level. Take additional spending money as you might need it for nights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilm142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued Guest ,

we would like to thank you for your review at Tripadvisor and the time you have spend for.
It made us a littke sad to be informed that you where not really satisfied with the animation entertainment. We still want to inform that our Shows and Entertainment is not just 100 % full animation. It is mixed also with softanimation too. We will dıscuss together with our animation team to change a little the programm.
We hope nevertheless to welcome you again in our Resort. Thanks for beeing here in Royal Asarlık.

With kindest regards,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was there for a Week and there was nothing bad. Good Food , friendly staff . We all had so much fun , because of the Animation Team .. thats why i wanted to say , THANK YOU MURAT,ÖZGEN,ONUR . You guys are awesome !!!

Greets from Germany , Sercan !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sercan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAsarlikBeach, Manager at Royal Asarlik Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Herr Sercan,

herzlichsten Dank für die Bewertung bei Tripadvisor und die Mühe die Sie sich gemacht haben .
Es freute uns sehr erfahren zu dürfen das wir Ihren Urlaubsvortsellungen entsprechen konnten.

Ob positiv oder nicht jede Meinung unserer Gaeste bedeutet uns sehr viel denn diese sind das Licht welche uns auf unserem Weg der Gaestezufriedenheit begleitet
Wir hoffen und wünschen uns ein Wiedersehen und freuen uns schon darauf.

Bleiben Sie gesund und besuchen Sie uns wieder. şimdiden Kurban Bayramınızı kutlar esenlikler dileriz.
En içten saygılarımızl,
Royal Asarlık Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Property: Royal Asarlik Beach
Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#16 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing