We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT HOTEL, FOOD WAS A LET DOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Gumbet
BILSTON UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL, FOOD WAS A LET DOWN”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The hotel site is big and modern.
Right on the beach.

The only reason this hotel has 5 stars is because of the facilities it houses

The food was a let down, same food virtually every day.
Chicken,
Meat balls (Different sizes and shapes)
Chips, chips chips for breakfast dinner and evening meal.


Usual salad options and fish available.

No ice cream available
All in all the food is not the quality I expected other folks may have their own views
The food was not kept warm to an acceptable level it was barely warm (breeding ground for E.coli, salmonella etc
Our room was one of the standard rooms. No major complaints about the standard, the room was comfortable enough for 3 people the only let down but the extra 3rd bed was a fold up bed which in my eyes could have been more comfortable.

Bar service was unpredictable some occasions we were given the wrong drinks e.g. asking for beers we were given Baileys. Whiskey we received White rum. One smart allec bar person (From the pool bar) who will remain nameless decided to take the “p” when I asked for lager he said what’s that? I pointed to the pull he said that’s called beer. Wonder why he was not tipped by me. The quality of the spirits to me is poor they can make you ill (not due to quantity)

There are 2 pools one noisy and one quiet the choice is yours.

The high light of the hotel is the glass floor which greets you on the 6th floor (restaurant floor) as you exit from the lifts. Ladies be careful what you wear all is visible from the floors below.

The actual restaurant seating area is mainly al fresco so if unfortunately if it does rain (it did while we were there) there is very little space for folks to eat. But the restaurant views are spectacular.

If you go on any trips the trip to Kos is a great day out (Take to optional coach trip available to buy on the ferry). Cheap duty free available upon arrival back in arrivals at Bodrum)

99% of the staff was friendly.

All in all a great hotel but the food was a let down.

Short walk to the local bus stop for Bodrum.
The quality of shopping can vary from cheap shoddy goods to cheap well made goods. and knock the price down.

A visit to Turgutreis market is a must this is massive but its a pick pocketers paradise

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILSTON77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    379
    237
    97
    78
See reviews for
402
574
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great hotel in a great location and resort in between Gumbet and Bodrum.Lovely large spacious rooms [standard rooms] could accomadate 3 people very easily. Great ameneties ,absolutely fantastic views from the roof top bar and restaurant. [2 beautiful bays to chose from[ The hotel boasts 7 bars [lobby,palm,green,panaroma,beach,love corner and apparently 24 hour marine bar] The choice of alcholic beverages was impressive and the best choice that i,ve encountered over the last few years with allinclusives. Drinks available was wine white,rose and red which was very good.Also local vodka,gin,whisky,rum,bicardi and brandy plus their version of Bailey,s which was great. The food was very good with lots of choice however they didn,t manage to keep it hot very well as it was luke warm most of the time. [would go back if the mansagement sorted this issue out] The staff especially the bar and waiters were very attentive [well most of them anyway] Nuri was my fave as he was very hard working and went out of his way to accomadate .The guy that ran the panaroma bar was a regular Tom Cruise and expert cocktail maker and was very efficient.The entertainment team did try their best but were a bit unorganised but Roberto listened to our requests for a quiz when it was torrential rain and we all confined to the hotel lobby bar [well there was nowt else to do and it was free] He organised a well executed quiz with only a couple of hours notice but the kareoke he organised was a bit of a shambles. Don,t know wether because it was end of seaon but the a la carte restaurants were crap! Food poor quality not very good choice and yet again it was cold. However overall it was a very good holiday and a good hotel and i would go back again especially as i can,t resist the bargains to be had!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themorleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I actually found myself scared to try the food on the first couple of days after reading reviews on here, however once i started i couldn't stop. O.K were not talking Michelin star however for an all inclusive hotel it was excellent, good choices and cooked properly as a result please don't be put of by other reviews.

The hotel itself was amazing. My daughter, partner and myself were n the newer part and in laws were in the older part. Both parts of the hotel were well equipped, comfortable and very clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us and entertainment excellent too. THIS HOTEL MADE OUR HOLIDAY WHAT IT WAS :-) :-)

Only bad point, not enough sun beds.

I recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l5tuy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My fiancé and I have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Asarlik. I'm sure we must have stayed in a different hotel than all these people who have had only negative things to say! The hotel is spotlessly clean with cleaners working round the clock making sure the grounds and rooms are kept up to standard (which can get noisy at night with the cleaning machines). Our room was very modern with a flat screen TV, balcony, safe, mini bar (which was expensive) and a spacious bathroom. We had clean towels every day, no problem!
It took a while to get to grips with where everything was as it's such a big hotel, but once we found our way we were fine! We preferred to spend our time around the quieter pool and the beach and never had a problem finding sunbeds which may be due to it being end of season.
I've definately learned from this holiday that you just can't please some people! Ok, the food could be slightly repetitive, especially if you're a fussy eater, but on the whole I found there to be quite a lot of selection and it was always cooked well on the grill. Grilled meats, kebabs, salads, fruit, rice, veg, chips, bread, desserts...what more do you want?!
We found the staff very helpful and never had any problems that needed reporting.
Overall, the hotel is definately worth a try if you don't mind the noise from the bars in Bodrum just round the corner which went on til early hours.
Don't be put off by the people who have nothing better to do than have a moan! We stayed in a 5* in the Caribbean which was lovely, and this hotel certainly lived up to our high expectations. It was our first time in Turkey, we weren't a big fan of the Country itself, we were just glad we picked a nice hotel to spend the week!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaShells88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Absolutely awful

Well we went with open minds having seen the early reviews saying this hotel was great but latterly the reports got worse and worse.

Unfortunately we have to agree with most of the comments of late but we would say this is down to poor management running the hotel. Bearing in mind the Turkish advertise this as 5 Star hotel on an “all inclusive deal”:-

Restaurants
Food undercooked
Chef seen putting raw chicken on grill using disposable gloves and then he served us our cooked chicken from adjacent grill using the same gloves.
Food cold
Food repetitive and reserved in a different guise at the next meal – chips, chicken, fish
Waiters very scarce and unhelpful (unless you’re a young female!!)
Only one old toaster for whole restaurant
When weather changed, unable to provide indoor facilities for numbers of guests
Only poor quality wines available from a “barrel”
Good things:- bread and fried or omelettes at breakfast
Food so bad we ate out the last 4 nights in local restaurants who provided very hot food to a good standard.

Bars
Bottled water not available from bars only from chillers (ok if you want to stand and fill one of your own.
Stained plastic glasses used around pool and beaches
Cheap thin plastic cups available for hot teas, coffees around pool bars (so thin they collapse and you could be scalded).
Staff seen sneezing wiping their hands round there clothes and then carry on serving drinks.

Rooms
Perhaps we were lucky (perhaps not when you see variation on what people paid for same type of room £1200 - £2000 for the two weeks holiday) but the room was a superior – dressing gowns (they were very small), slippers and kettle.
Safe minute in size and you have to pay £18 / week!!
Fridge full of drinks, chocolates and Pringles but all at very high cost (thought this was an all inclusive hotel?).
Décor good and clean although some of skirting’s were rotten or missing and painted over.
For 1 week there was a very unpleasant sewage odour lingering in main hotel corridors (some people were moved from their rooms because of this)

Pools & Beach
Clean and fine
Sun beds – no problems finding a bed but they are old and stained and could do with changing.
Towels provided and can be changed daily.

Entertainment
Virtually non existent except for usual around pool, darts, water polo and in the evening a couple of very short karaoke and local folk dance evenings.

Staff
Management unhelpful
Bar staff generally ok particularly the two girls in main reception café.
Reception staff ok but nothing exceptional.
Thomson reps because end of season changed 4 times in two weeks we were there and although we reported some of our concerns on food they advised they were not aware of any problems, however whoever you spoke to had the same views particularly about the food and said they had also reported to their reps. Obviously they felt even though they had reported to hotel they had done all they could.

Area
Due to being late in the season every where was closing down – so believe you need to go earlier. Beware though lots of very noisy music bars in vicinity and some guest said without ear plugs they would not have slept.

Overall
Definitely not 5 star, in our mind the hotel could be 4 star with a bit more care but food and management need to improve significantly otherwise overall I would rate as low as a 2 star

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EborWarwickshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one week with my wife, WE NEEDED a break after my Father recently died, the room was quite good, the food was the same every day, The weather was bad, all around was closing up, not a good time to go.
My main concern was the medical centre, at the Hotel, my wife got a sore throat, the hotel medical centre, said she should go to the medical centre in Gumbet. because buying the drugs at the chemist would be expensive. When we arrived.THEY WERE VERY QUICK TO GET HER ON A DRIP FOR 6HRS, which i thought at the time was a bit over the top, but when your wife`s ill your do anything to get her better. WHEN I GOT BACK TO ENGLAND the ins company said they wanted £750 for the trouble, that HAS NOW COST ME the ins excess of £150.` WHAT A RIP OFF`
SO PLEASE BEWARE, im sure we could have got something from the chemist.
At BODRUM airport on the way home BEWARE they just want to RIP you off again, £4.50 for a bag of chips, a coke was £4.00 and they wanted £5.00 for a bag of crisps and a mars bar. I just don`t know what the world is coming to EVERYONE SEEMS TO WANT TO RIP YOU OFF. I will NEVER GO TO TURKEY AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_richardson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We were really looking forward to our 11days in this hotel, a trip for all the family to get together and have some fun.........11 of us aged 3 to 83,i really dont know where to start. The staff were really friendly especially with our 3 children,our family room was very clean and practical shame about the rest of our group. On the first day one of our rooms had a leek which was mopped up by TOWELS by the staff!!!!!!and left for 24hrs before we complained again and asked to move rooms.The kids club was opened whilst we were there but with no staff to watch the children so i had to supervise them!!The food was ok if you like chicken and meatballs RAW chicken at that,my husband,5yr old son,83yr old aunt and father in law were all ill for 4 days because of the food and then refused to eat in the hotel again after that. so after payin A I we then had to pay for extra food out of the hotel, thankgod for the restaurant acroos the road, bronze excellent food and service.It was my daughters 8th birthday whilst we were there and the hotel wanted a small fortune for a cake,whilst the Bronze were fantastic and couldnt do enough for her.There was zero entertainment we all went to bed at 9pm most nights due to lack of things to do,if you have booked to go to this hotel i suggest you take extra money for trips out entertainment and especially food, to sum up the hotel...... a HUGE dissapointment,good luck

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsB0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#12 of 99 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 99 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 99 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Property: Royal Asarlik Beach
Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#16 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing